$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

4 stars
View map of 100 Holomoana St, Island Of Oahu, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2010

Central location--good price.

You can tell this used to be a nice hotel, but it's showing signs of wear and tear. It seems the hotel just doesn't have the money to upkeep it. The beds definitely need to be switched out. The bed linens are very worn, as are the carpets too. Staff is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very, very close to Ala Moana Mall. A little bit of a distance into Waikiki proper.

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
highway66
Business
Arizona
Aug 16, 2010

Magnificent view, great location

Waking up to the view was a great way to start each day...mulitple blues of ocean, pastel clouds, yacht harbor, Magic Island. Windows open so you can capture the trades in your room. Location at the west end of Waikiki kept me out of the congestion in Waikiki, yet close enough to easily get to all the highlights. Great location and hotel plan for friends to pick me up and drop me off. The rate was very good given its superior location. I was back in Hawaii, having lived there for 24 years, after a four year absence. I really enjoyed my time at The Prince and would recommend it for several reasons identied above. Parking is tight and limited, although when no spaces were left one evening, they had me park valet without charging valet prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ala Moana Shopping Center is nearby with great shopping and restaurants (Longhis for breakfast!). Short drives for great Waikiki restaurants including Orchids at Halekulani and Roys Beachwalk.

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wetts
Business
Toronto
Aug 16, 2010

Just nasty

Luckily we only had to stay here one night. Again we had problems getting a good room, they put us in a "wheel chair" acccessible room and the bathroom was just terrible. The thermostat didn't work correctly and the air conditioning would never shut off....it got down to 58F in the middle of the night and we had to get up to turn it off, only to wake up sweltering. Dirty dirty beds, terrible pillows, IT WAS NOT RENOVATED [...] Anyway, we decided to try breakfast there, and it was absolutely disgusting. Scrambled eggs were like rubber, and pancakes were hard as rocks. How do you mess up these simple food items??? Well thankfully it was only one night...we enjoyed the rest of our time at the Royal Hawaiian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniversary Guy
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 15, 2010

Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki - Honolulu

Clean, well-organized, quiet hotel is a super location. Only negatives were lack of people-friendly services such as the mandatory pool closing of 8:00 PM and a boring lobby-activity life. Even the bar in an off-lobby area closed at 10:00 PM. We had to go to a neighboring hotel to have entertainment and have a late-night drink. It almost seemed as if all went to bed at sundown!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil the Wonder Traveller
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 11, 2010

Comfortable, Big Rooms

Great location, right next to Ala Moana and Magic Island Parks, and right across from the Ala Moana Shopping Center at the East end of Waikiki. Helpful and friendly staff. Easy check-in, though when they got busy, not all of the members of my party got the same information as far as locations of various amenities in the hotel. The rooms are huge, as are the bathrooms (which feature separate bathtubs and showers). There is a fridge in each room, though no microwaves. There are three ice machines on different floors (I think 28, 9, and 3 or something like that). They provide complimentary coffee/tea, and one complimentary bottled water when you arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is diagonal to the Ala Moana Shopping Center - there's also a Wal-Mart behind the Ala Moana Center if you have a car (the shopping center is pretty huge).

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson Valley, NY
Aug 5, 2010

Honeymoon Getaway

Hotel was right on the harbor and had an amazing sunset view. Only a short walk to nice beach area and into town with plenty of restaurants and shopping. You definitely need a car (and GPS is helpful) to drive around (check out Diamond Head, Manoa Falls, Pali Lookout, Byodo-In Temple, Polynesian Cultural Center, Pearl Harbor). Try to find authentic Hawaiian regional cuisine - yum! Buy gifts at the "Swap meet" by the stadium. ALOHA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy gifts at the "swap meet" near the stadium - be careful of "made in anywhere but hawaii" stuff. We went after Pearl Harbor which was only a short drive away.

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JZe
Business
Emerald Beach, Australia
Jul 29, 2010

Prince of Waikiki

Had upgraded to ocean view room, when we got to room we were dissapointed with view, spoke with reception and problem was fixed right away. View from new room was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 26, 2010

Very nice hotel

It was a very quiet hotel and not in the heart of waikiki. It was at the beginning of the beach so you could get away a little. The staff was very nice and always very friendly. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is very close to the Ala Moana Mall. It is one of the nicest malls I have been too!!

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, Chicago, Huntington Beach
Jul 25, 2010

Location without the noise

Although our trip was delayed by two days the staff not only accommodated but upgraded us when a small inconvenience arose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ala Moana Beach Park is a great option for close waterside and picnicing relaxation. Also the food court at the shopping mall across the street has a multitude of takeout options for a day at the park.

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ
Jul 12, 2010

a very nice hotel

The location is very convenient. The on site Japanese restaurant is first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top