$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

4 stars
100 Holomoana St, Island Of Oahu, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
214 reviews
amazing location with ocean views

The Hawaii Prince has incredible views of the water and is located next to Ala Moana Park and... See full review

  • Puffer
  • Nov 15, 2014
mini vacation

We had an awesome room looking at magic island and the boat harbor. We also enjoyed dining at the... See full review

  • Susan preschool teacher
  • Sep 30, 2014
Adorned with Asian artwork, the Hawaii Prince in Waikiki is a large high-rise hotel that looks out over the tranquil ocean. Guests are welcomed, island-style, inside the spacious lobby, and accommodations in the Diamond Head tower offer the best scenic outlook across Waikiki. Watch the sunset over the Promenade Deck, or play a round on the 27-hole Hawaii Prince Golf Club, set against a backdrop of the Waianae Mountains and 10 sparkling lakes. Sip cocktails in the modern lounge or dine at Hakone, for delectable sushi bites like assorted tempura.
Key facts
  • 28 floors
  • Swimming pool and whirlpool
  • Day spa
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Conference and event space: 7,300-square-feet of banquet-style seating for 560
  • Golf course
  • Restaurants and lounges: Prince Court, Hakone, Reef Lounge, Marina Front Cafe, Bird of Paradise
  • Parking (charges apply)
  • Complimentary shuttle to surrounding beaches and world-class shopping
Neighborhood
At the northwest corner of Waikiki, you'll find the Hawaii Prince Hotel in an area that joins the Ala Wai Canal and Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Accommodations are perfect for business guests, thanks to a close proximity with convention facilities. Meanwhile, the closest beach is a 10-minute walk for leisure guests who simply want to chill on soft sands. For off-site dining, try the Chart House restaurant right next to the hotel, where specialty seafood dishes such as oysters with Hollandaise sauce and Kahuku prawns come fresh from the ocean.
Hints and tips
Golfers can climb aboard the free shuttle and enjoy discounted rates at the Arnold Palmer/Ed Seay golf course.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Standard Room
Location of this room will vary depending on hotel occupancy, it is run of the house best available room at the time of your arrival. This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water upon arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP on request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
Oceanfront Marina
Located on Floors 5-9 This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
OceanFront Prime
Located on Floors 20-28.This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
Oceanfront Vista
Located on Floors 10-19.This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
OceanFront Top
Located on Floors 29-33.This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
Ala Moana Ste
Located on floors 6 - 29. Floor to ceiling glass windows in the living room and bedroom area 838 sq feet total. Mini refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on day of arrival, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bathrobes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, High speed internet with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board and nightly turndown service available upon request. Also equipped with two bathrooms. Suite has views of the Ocean and Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, and Downtown Honolulu.
Prince Suite
2 Bedroom suite located on floors 5 - 29 with two full bathrooms, Floor to ceiling glass windows in the living room and both bedroom areas, 1866 sq ft total. Mii refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on day of arrival, coffee maker with Kona Blend coffee replenished daily, two bathrobes in each closet, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror in both bathrooms. Television total of three one in each bedroom and one in the living room area, High speed internet with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board and nightly turndown service available upon request. Panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Downtown Honolulu and the Ko'olau Mountains. Lots of space and great for families or friends travelling together.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.6 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.3 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Prince Court
Famed for Contemporary Island Cuisine, the Prince Court is a subtle blend of the classic culinary techniques of East and West, prepared with fresh Island produce from land and sea. Spectacular views of Ala Wai Yacht Harbor and the island's beautiful sunset are a focal point from the restaurant's glass walls.
Hakone
Enjoy authentic Japanese cuisine at Hakone Restaurant featuring traditional complete dinner selections and a wide variety of sushi specialties.
Bird of Paradise
Located at the Hawaii Prince Golf Club, The Bird of Paradise Restaurant offers casual resort dining daily with lunch and pupu (appetizer) service. Golfers, as well as the general public, will be pleased with the menu variety and generous portions.
Marina Front Cafe
Throughout the day, guests are treated to croissants, muffins, bagels, sandwiches, coffee and salads. Made-in-Hawaii gift baskets, gourmet chocolates or specialty cakes are available for guests looking for that special omiyage or gift.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Located at the gateway to Waikiki overlooking the picturesque Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, the Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki is dedicated to providing exceptional service and its own special brand of hospitality for every meetings group. Overview: Eight function areas including outdoor Promenade Terrace Mauna Kea Ballroom offers 7,300 sq. ft. of space, banquet-style seating for 560 Outdoor function space accommodates up to 500 Latest audio and visual equipment available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ms. Deceived
Business
New Orleans, Louisiana
Sep 13, 2010

Hawaii hotel nihtmare

The hotel stay ruined my vacation. I thought I was visiting paradise. The linens in the spa area was dirty and used. Needs to be updated immediately The room smelled and the carpet was disgusting. The bed linens are ugly and needs to be replaced immediately. The room service breakfast was horrible. How could anyone mess up scrambled eggs. The pool area was very small and the hot tub/whirlpool was dirty. The pictures on line must have been taken some where else, the hotel looks nothing like the advertisement. The guest needs to be advised that the golf club is located off the premises and should not be advertised like its in the same location as the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not stay at the Hawaii Prince hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ocean view hawaii
Sep 12, 2010

hawaii prince hotel waikiki

Ihad a short stay but overall the hotel was great,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CT
Business
Fairfax, Virginia
Sep 11, 2010

Clean room and friendly staff

Hawaii Prince is within a walking distance to the Ala Mona mall which has over 290 stores. Clean room and friendly staff. The view are acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restautants and cheap good fast food in the Ala Mona mall which is only a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu Lover
Business
New York
Sep 6, 2010

Excellent Hotel, Excellent Price

This last year we previously stayed at another 4+* resort located at the other end of Waikiki which we loved or at least thought we did until we stayed at the Prince.There are a couple of things that make the Prince special compared to other resorts in Waikiki:It is located at the very end of Waikiki heading towards Honolulu; therefore, it is very quiet and peaceful. You can open the windows and not have to deal with all of the noise and believe me when you stay at the other end of Waikiki, there is a LOT of noise.Every room has a beautiful view of the marina and the ocean. Most of the other resorts charge a premium for an ocean view.The decor of the hotel is very elegant with granite and marble throughout. Sunsets from your room are spectacular, and they are even better at the pool.All of the employees at the hotel are EXTREMELY nice and the front desk is very accomodating. If you are not happy with something just let them know. The bed was a little too hard for me so I called and they placed a mattress topper on the bed. I also wanted different pillows and they sent them up. We also requested a late check out and they extended it to 1:00 pm.The hotel is EXTREMELY clean.The room is laid out perfectly. There were three of us and we were never bumping into each other. There is an area to sit, an area to put on make-up or use as a desk, and your sleeping area. Also, there is a ton of space in the bathroom. Since there is a separate shower and bathtub, we were able to dry our beach clothing daily using the clothing line above the bathtub.They have a shuttle bus that takes you into the hub of Waikiki. We used the shuttle a few times to go out to dinner in Waikiki and twice to go to the beach. The shuttle makes three stops: two shopping areas and Waikiki Beach.If you didn't want to pay for hotel parking, there was parking nearby which was less expensive.This end of Waikiki beach is a lot less congested then the other end. Also, the Ala Moana beach on the opposite side of the hotel is beautiful, relaxing, and you practically have the entire beach to yourself.The Prince hotel far exceeded our expectations and [...] had the best pricing for this hotel. We look forward to having another wonderful stay at the Prince in the future.The only negative I can think of although it did not bother us, was the furniture is somewhat old. In our room, all of the furniture was fine except for the large dresser which had some dings in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you rent a car. [...] has great prices on hotel/car combinations. This is our third time to Oahu this year and would never go there without a car. The island is very beautiful along the east and northern coasts with numerous beaches that are much better than Waikiki beach. We would not be happy campers if we confined ourselves to just Waikiki. Its sad that some people never really experience the beauty of Oahu and only experience the congested area of Waikiki. A car also provides you with a lot more dining opportunties. There are a lot of great restaurants in Honolulu that you can get to easily with a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Aug 21, 2010

good

relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRETD
Business
North Carolina
Aug 18, 2010

True Aloha Spirit

I travel a large amount and knew nothing of this hotel when I arrived. To be very honest I have not been treated any better in any other hotel I have stayed in. from the moment the bellman opened the door of our shuttle untill it was closed on our departure I felt welcome and special. ALL of the staff were great. I want to specialy point out the concierge and activities staff. Nothing seemed to be hard of any request we made, from arranging rental cars to setting up outings, It was all handled professionaly and quickly. Hats of to [...] who were great. I cannot wait to go back for some more of the hotels TLC and more R&R. Two Thumbs Up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wow Hawaii outlet in The Dicovery Center one block up on next street in. The wares were excellant Quality and the prices were very fair. owners are on site and were great to work with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rye Pie
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Aug 18, 2010

quality lodging with aloha spirit

Waikiki shuttle was a real plus. Staff was helpful and friendly. Fireworks on Friday night meant self-parking was not an option, so we had to pay for valet, not a bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gyo Kaku restaurant where you cook fresh japanese food at your table. Excellent quality, great value during Happy Hour (before 6:00pm after 10pm)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2010

Central location--good price.

You can tell this used to be a nice hotel, but it's showing signs of wear and tear. It seems the hotel just doesn't have the money to upkeep it. The beds definitely need to be switched out. The bed linens are very worn, as are the carpets too. Staff is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very, very close to Ala Moana Mall. A little bit of a distance into Waikiki proper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
highway66
Business
Arizona
Aug 16, 2010

Magnificent view, great location

Waking up to the view was a great way to start each day...mulitple blues of ocean, pastel clouds, yacht harbor, Magic Island. Windows open so you can capture the trades in your room. Location at the west end of Waikiki kept me out of the congestion in Waikiki, yet close enough to easily get to all the highlights. Great location and hotel plan for friends to pick me up and drop me off. The rate was very good given its superior location. I was back in Hawaii, having lived there for 24 years, after a four year absence. I really enjoyed my time at The Prince and would recommend it for several reasons identied above. Parking is tight and limited, although when no spaces were left one evening, they had me park valet without charging valet prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ala Moana Shopping Center is nearby with great shopping and restaurants (Longhis for breakfast!). Short drives for great Waikiki restaurants including Orchids at Halekulani and Roys Beachwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wetts
Business
Toronto
Aug 16, 2010

Just nasty

Luckily we only had to stay here one night. Again we had problems getting a good room, they put us in a "wheel chair" acccessible room and the bathroom was just terrible. The thermostat didn't work correctly and the air conditioning would never shut off....it got down to 58F in the middle of the night and we had to get up to turn it off, only to wake up sweltering. Dirty dirty beds, terrible pillows, IT WAS NOT RENOVATED [...] Anyway, we decided to try breakfast there, and it was absolutely disgusting. Scrambled eggs were like rubber, and pancakes were hard as rocks. How do you mess up these simple food items??? Well thankfully it was only one night...we enjoyed the rest of our time at the Royal Hawaiian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top