$565 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Halekulani

5 stars
View map of 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815-1988

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Halekulani

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lydia Chen
New York, NY, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Fantastic ocean view and incredible private beach!

I like the view from balcony, the location: a lot great restaurants are in the walking distanse, the staff are nice and kind, the room especially the bathroom are wonderful and the robe are awesome as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat at Egg's N Thing for breakfast or brunch! Recommend the Hawaii Loco Moco, the best you can get!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins, CO
May 16, 2010

Worth every penny

Very attentive and friendly staff. Service was beyond expectations. The housekeeping staff was very respectful and courteous to cater to specific needs and/or requests. Some people complain about the furniture but it really was not that bothersome and added to the charm to the hotel. The rooms are good sized and the bathrooms are quite spacious compared to other places. Not too many places have a separate tub and shower. Even the most basic room has a wonderful view to enjoy. The lanai was my favorite place to have a drink and watch the ocean change colors. Normally, I never expect to enjoy the hotel food and plan to go to other places. However, every restaurant on site is excellent. The prices may detract visitors but most places nearby (besides the chains) are about the same in price but not quality and service. Unlike most high rated restaurants visited in the past, I did not come back with a funny story about La Mer; the food was spectacular and the staff respected their guests. Amazing. The spa on site is very pleasant. The treatment was so wonderful that I went back a second time and invited a friend who also shared the same opinion. Can't wait for round 2-??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Apr 28, 2010

Halekulani

It doesn't get much better than the Halekulani. The staff is friendly and attentive 24/7. The facilities are great. The restaurants are great. Their location, at one end of Waikiki is great but still quiet; you are less than a block from all the Waikiki shopping and night spots but still in a serene and quiet environment. It seems that they really do make their guests their number one priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are an early riser and breakfast person, be sure to eat at least once at Eggs and Things. Great food and great staff. The reason I say early riser is the lines usually start to form around 9. The concierge will give you directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymoon!
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Mar 13, 2010

Pampered and exquisite!

Just be sure to have a bunch of tip money! When you get there the porters open your door, take your luggage up to your room without you seeing them, and you check in. Than someone shows you all of the amenities at your disposal in your room and shows you the to-die-for view you have! Not only does the hotel have it all, but the dining experience is second to none. We ate at House without a key for breakfast buffet and it was amazing, albeit a tad expensive. A night later we ate at La Mer and that was the most expensive, exquisite meal we have ever eaten. They gave us little extras for the 'honeymoon' experience. I don't think we could do Hawaii again without staying here as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burke, Virginia
Jan 10, 2010

Great place when you can get a good deal

The view from our hotel room was breathtaking. We could see Diamond Head and the ocean. We were able to enjoy the nightly music on our private balcony. The staff was knowledgeable about the local area and were willing to accommodate requests. They offered special activities for children age 5 and older. They were also able to arrange a baby sitter for my son (age 4). I was able to charge the cost for the sitter directly to my hotel bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The zoo and the aquarium are worth seeing. Both are in walking distance for adults and older children. Younger children would have difficulty. The aquarium is small, but the zoo does require a lot of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Sep 19, 2009

Good

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 29, 2009

Halekulani

Let's get this fact out first: It's very pricey! Once you get over the sticker shock, you'll realize that this is the IT place in Waikiki. First class service. The on site restaurants are great. There are many other great options near Waikiki area all within walking distance. The pool are can be better and bigger, limited beach front access, but I love every minute of my time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many noodle shops near Waikiki area. It's worth checking them out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ben438
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 21, 2009

First class service

Nice private beach directly behind pool. Great service from all staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

La Mer #1 restaurant in Hawaii located inside hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peninsula Mom
Business
redwood city, ca
Aug 15, 2009

Excellent Stay and Hotel

Words are not enough. I LOVED this hotel. The service is amazing, for example running up to my room to put away bags I did not want to great tips on where to eat and visit, special touches I dont want to share b/c it will spoil your visit. I love the towel service at the pool b/c they dont let people save chairs forever, the food and drinks are fantastic, everyone works really hard to go out of their way. Treat yourself to a very $$$ meal at La Mer-get really dressed up and be prepared for first class food and elegance. Rent a car and go around the island, this hotel makes it so easy and let us drop off late so that we could use the car to get to dinner. PS If you love sushi go to Sansube, trust me sushi. You dont get to pick your items and the chef decides what you will eat. AMAZING. I love the House w/o akey for breakfast buffet and lunch. The rooms have incredible ocean views (we had a oceanfront, not diamonhead), the location is really amazing in the heart of waikiki walking distance to all, yet incredible quiet and serene. You want crazy-go one half block out the door and you will be in themiddle of shops, nightclubs shopping a a fun scene. Want serenity and peace in a lush location with your every need cared for impeccably? Step back into the Halekulani. We love this place and see why visitors come year after year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sushi Sasabune. The slogan is "trust me" dont go here if you like to direct your own choices. Otherwise this is the MOST incredible sushi rest i have ever been to. The freshest, yummiest, most delectable . It is not cheap. It was approx $100 pp and we could not finish the whole repetoire. I think we stopped before the last course of uni and eggs-i really wanted it but was too stuffed to continue. A short cab ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor
Jul 5, 2008

Amazing Service!

Halekulani was an amazing experience! We arrived very early in the morning, before we could get our room and they put us up in this amazing Hospitality room, complete with beverages, lockers, TVs, computers, a concierge, and separate, gorgeous showers for us to use. We went to one of the three restaurants on the premises called House Without a Key, which was also amazing! They have a fantastic breakfast buffet and great coffee, well worth the money. Every morning we had a newspaper in a cloth bag hanging on our doorknob, every evening they come in to turn down the bed and put on relaxing music from the TV and would leave some small gift/token either on the bed or on our desk-such a nice personal touch! We ordered room service one night and we expected just a tray with food, but the staff brought up an entire table on wheels complete with all the linens and tableware and wonderful food. They went WAY above and beyond our expectations, anyone would be impressed by their impeccable service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Halekulani was in the best area for any kind of shopping you could ask for, besides a big-box store. There were very many designer store a short walk from the hotel, and a bunch of other restaurants close by. The area it is in is definitely the nicest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ernest Business Traveler
Business
Norfolk, VA
Jun 12, 2007

My Hawaiian vacation

This is a top of the line hotel with all the trimmings. First class service, beautiful with beautiful surroundings. We look forward to our next visit as we plan to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This area is located in the heart of a shpping mecca.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top