$555 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Halekulani

5 stars
2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815-1988
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
49 reviews
Amazing!

Phenomenal hotel and service. A great escape from Waikiki! See full review

  • Jagg
  • Jul 7, 2014
great for first anniversary

great time here for our first wedding anniversary; excellent service all around; the only criticism... See full review

  • CTHoya
  • Jun 15, 2014
Century-old opulence and five-star service on the beach in Waikiki

Opened as a compound of beachfront-bungalow guesthouses more than 100 years ago, Halekulani ("house befitting heaven") now comprises five luxury buildings and more than 450 rooms with fine dining and services to match. The hotel's early-20th-Century beginnings infuse its island spirit. However, modern touches include a fleet of luxury rental cars and a host of opulent suites -- including one designed by Vera Wang -- offering 24-hour butler service and more. The majority of the rooms serve up ocean views, and the hotel is but a few steps from Waikiki's best shops and restaurants.

Enjoy complimentary appetizers, exclusive Halekulani private label wines and classic cocktails with Halekulani's General Manager and hotel staff every Wednesdays, 5:30 to 6:30 p.m. Evening resort attire requested.

Highlights
  • Travel in style in one of the hotel's Bentley, Lotus or Maserati rental cars
  • Take in artist and author seminars and performances via the resort's "Halekulani Living" program
  • La Mer, Halekulani's French fine-dining restaurant, has long enjoyed a AAA 5-diamond rating
Location
Just steps from shopping and dining attraction, Waikiki Beach Walk, and around the corner from the luxury boutiques of Royal Hawaiian Center and happenings of Kalakaua Ave., Halekulani is ideally located in Waikiki. Half a block away, a large park features the free U.S. Army Museum. The beach fronting the hotel is petite, but a long, wide beach picks up just next door.
Rooms

Guest rooms start at 519 square feet and offer flat-screen TVs, Sony MP3 docking stations, entertainment centers, Wi-Fi, deep soaking tubs, pure-cotton robes, and twice-daily housekeeping. Nearly all have ocean views. At the top end, the Royal Suite boasts more than 4,000 square feet of luxury.

Dining
Each Halekulani's restaurants offers stunning views of the sea. At House Without a Key, enjoy glamorous ocean and Diamond Head vistas and casual patio dining (with live Hawaiian music every evening). Orchids emphasizes contemporary seafood cuisine, and Sunday brunch is a must. La Mer has been ranked numerous times as a five-diamond AAA restaurant. The Neoclassic French cuisine is complemented by exquisite teak decor and impeccable service. Complete your evening at the Lewers Lounge, a Manhattan-swank nook featuring live jazz.
Recreation
  • Free fitness classes, including yoga, cardio and aquatic
  • Heated oceanfront swimming pool with personal attendants on call
  • Catamaran rides from the adjacent beachfront
  • SpaHalekulani, a full-service spa and salon offering an exclusive line of products inspired by Polynesia
Transportation
  • Honolulu International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (fronting hotel)
  • U.S. Army Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)

Hotel Map

21.2779 -157.8322
Area served
Honolulu, Oahu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL)
Area description
Located on the beach at Waikiki, Halekulani which means, "House Befitting Heaven" is Honlulu's luxurious resort hotel. An "oaisis of traquility and refinement" in the heart of Waikiki, Halekulani is gracious personalized service, spectacular ocean and Diamond Head views, lush courtyards, award winning restaurants, intimate cocktail lounges, shops, and more. For those looking for the excitement, Halekulani is just steps from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki - Kalakaua Avenue. For those wishing relaxation, Halekulani's tranquil ambiance provides just that.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Halekulani also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Halekulani Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Room with one king or twin beds, down duvet and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, balcony with ocean front view, soaking tub and seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.
Diamond Head Ocean Front Room
Diamond Head Ocean Front Room with one king or two twin beds, balcony with ocean front view, down duvet and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, soaking tub and seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.
Partial Ocean View Room
Partial Ocean View Room with one king or two twin beds, balcony with partial ocean view, down duvet cover and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, soaking tub and seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.
Garden/Courtyard View Room
Garden/Courtyard View Room with one king or two twin beds, down duvet cover and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, balcony with garden or courtyard view, soaking tub, seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.5 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.5 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.7 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.9 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.7 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.2 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

La Mer
Perhaps nowhere is the Halekulani spirit captured more than at La Mer. That's because La Mer is more than just a restaurant. It is Halekulani's finest and Hawaii's only Five Diamond Restaurant. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic oceanfront views. Fresh island ingredients are uniquely blended in dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce a dining experience unsurpassed anywhere in the world. Menus are pre-selected, with a choice of entrees offered to satisfy individual preference. An award-winning wine list is also available to complement these fine foods. Open from 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
House Without A Key
Immortalized in a 1925 Charlie Chan novel, House Without A Key is Halekulani's popular indoor/outdoor gathering spot for informal breakfast, lunch, cocktails, appetizers and entertainment. One of the favored traditions of the original Halekulani - cocktails and Hawaiian music under the century old Kiawe tree has been faithfully preserved here. Open 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Lewers Lounge
The newly redesigned Lewers Lounge is the rebirth of a great lounge with fabulous cocktails, tempting appetizers and desserts, and live entertainment. The perfect spot for early evening cocktails or after-dinner drinks. Lewers is open nightly from 7:30 p.m. to 1:00 a.m.
Orchids
Orchids is Halekulani's casually elegant oceanfront restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner amidst a profusion of brightly-colored tropical orchids. Creative seafood specialties are presented throughout the day in a relaxed setting. Specialties include ahi-seared sashimi with cajun spices, island-raised moi with hearts of palm, and oriental style steamed onaga.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Halekulani

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama City Beach, Florida
Nov 10, 2010

BEAUTIFUL EXPERIENCE

The Halekulani is a very special place. The attention to details with a different "special" suprise waiting in your room each day. Our only complaint was the cost of the breakfast. Although it had so much to offer for all you can eat, $30 per person for breakfast is a bit high. Looking great in a bathing suit would be a challenge after a couple of days! Although our room and bath was rather small, the bathroom was better equipped than two others we visited on 2 other islands. The view was breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We highly recommed dining at Duke's on the beach. It's a short walk; their breakfast is half the price of the hotel's for all you can eat buffet and their dinner menu offered many fresh seafood dishes. The staff was excellent and it has so much "local island flair". We loved it!

Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Oct 23, 2010

Halekulani was great!!

Hotel was in a great location near many restaurants and shops. The beach was basically 50 ft. from our room. Staff was very friendly and attentive, room was very clean and so was the hotel property. Very luxurious hotel, best I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Driving in Honolulu is a nightmare! One way streets, heavy traffic congestion. GPS is a necessity if a car is rented.

Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Oct 23, 2010

Halekulani was great!!

Hotel was in a great location near many restaurants and shops. The beach was basically 50 ft. from our room. Staff was very friendly and attentive, room was very clean and so was the hotel property. Very luxurious hotel, best I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Driving in Honolulu is a nightmare! One way streets, heavy traffic congestion. GPS is a necessity if a car is rented.

Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert Music Lover
Emerson, NJ
Aug 10, 2010

Halekulani lives up to its name!

We were taking a second honeymoon to celebraste 25 years of marriage, so I wanted to pamper my wife. Was this a great choice! Halekulani means "House Befitting Heaven" and it certainly lived up to its name! The grounds and architecture are gorgeous - open and airy. The manager personally checked us in at our room, which had all the modern amenities, including a lanai (balcony) with a view of the ocean. There were little gifts on our pillow every night. If you are looking for elegance, this is the place. The hotel is located right on the beach, in the center of Waikiki, so it was a great base of operations for exploring the beach, Honolulu, Pearl Harbor, shopping and restaurants. It also has a beautiful pool. Their casual, open-air restaurant, "House Without a Key," has excellent offerings, including a fabulous buffet breakfast (omelets made to order), hula entertainment in the evening, and a great view of Diamond Head. We had one dinner at La Mer, perhaps Hawaii's finest restaurant, also on the premises. It features top French cuisine and exceptional service. A small thing - The valet parking was very fast and friendly. Never waited long for our car. The in-room dining and porter service were also great. The reason I only gave "Amenities" a "4" is that we like to do our own ironing. There was no iron in the room, but they have same day laundry, dry cleaning, pressing and shoe shine service. Why do it yourself? Unfortunately, we did not get to try their award-winning spa or their other restaurant, "Orchids." This was, by far, the best hotel experience we have ever had. Granted, we paid to be pampered, but not as much as one might expect. An Orbitz upgrade helped. Also, somehow it's quieter and less crowded than many Waikiki hotels, even though it houses lots of guests. The biggest standout was the exceptionally helpful and friendly service. We will definitely have to return some day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're staying in Waikiki and renting a car, get a GPS! Getting in and out of Waikiki is a traffic puzzle. Of course, the Concierge here is also happy to help!

Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert Music Lover
Emerson, NJ
Aug 10, 2010

Halekulani lives up to its name!

We were taking a second honeymoon to celebraste 25 years of marriage, so I wanted to pamper my wife. Was this a great choice! Halekulani means "House Befitting Heaven" and it certainly lived up to its name! The grounds and architecture are gorgeous - open and airy. The manager personally checked us in at our room, which had all the modern amenities, including a lanai (balcony) with a view of the ocean. There were little gifts on our pillow every night. If you are looking for elegance, this is the place. The hotel is located right on the beach, in the center of Waikiki, so it was a great base of operations for exploring the beach, Honolulu, Pearl Harbor, shopping and restaurants. It also has a beautiful pool. Their casual, open-air restaurant, "House Without a Key," has excellent offerings, including a fabulous buffet breakfast (omelets made to order), hula entertainment in the evening, and a great view of Diamond Head. We had one dinner at La Mer, perhaps Hawaii's finest restaurant, also on the premises. It features top French cuisine and exceptional service. A small thing - The valet parking was very fast and friendly. Never waited long for our car. The in-room dining and porter service were also great. The reason I only gave "Amenities" a "4" is that we like to do our own ironing. There was no iron in the room, but they have same day laundry, dry cleaning, pressing and shoe shine service. Why do it yourself? Unfortunately, we did not get to try their award-winning spa or their other restaurant, "Orchids." This was, by far, the best hotel experience we have ever had. Granted, we paid to be pampered, but not as much as one might expect. An Orbitz upgrade helped. Also, somehow it's quieter and less crowded than many Waikiki hotels, even though it houses lots of guests. The biggest standout was the exceptionally helpful and friendly service. We will definitely have to return some day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're staying in Waikiki and renting a car, get a GPS! Getting in and out of Waikiki is a traffic puzzle. Of course, the Concierge here is also happy to help!

Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jun 21, 2010

Great trip

By far the best hotel I have ever stayed in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jun 21, 2010

Great trip

By far the best hotel I have ever stayed in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seannie Depp
Long Beach, CA
May 31, 2010

Impeccable Service on Waikiki

The location and service were first rate. We had a room overlooking Waikiki beach; it was beautiful. The service was the best I have ever experienced. In-room registration, maid service twice a day, fantastic concierge, and great pool service. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nico's restaurant at Pier 38 is great food in a very casual atmosphere.

Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seannie Depp
Long Beach, CA
May 31, 2010

Impeccable Service on Waikiki

The location and service were first rate. We had a room overlooking Waikiki beach; it was beautiful. The service was the best I have ever experienced. In-room registration, maid service twice a day, fantastic concierge, and great pool service. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nico's restaurant at Pier 38 is great food in a very casual atmosphere.

Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Collins, CO
May 16, 2010

Worth every penny

Very attentive and friendly staff. Service was beyond expectations. The housekeeping staff was very respectful and courteous to cater to specific needs and/or requests. Some people complain about the furniture but it really was not that bothersome and added to the charm to the hotel. The rooms are good sized and the bathrooms are quite spacious compared to other places. Not too many places have a separate tub and shower. Even the most basic room has a wonderful view to enjoy. The lanai was my favorite place to have a drink and watch the ocean change colors. Normally, I never expect to enjoy the hotel food and plan to go to other places. However, every restaurant on site is excellent. The prices may detract visitors but most places nearby (besides the chains) are about the same in price but not quality and service. Unlike most high rated restaurants visited in the past, I did not come back with a funny story about La Mer; the food was spectacular and the staff respected their guests. Amazing. The spa on site is very pleasant. The treatment was so wonderful that I went back a second time and invited a friend who also shared the same opinion. Can't wait for round 2-??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top