$520 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Halekulani

5 stars
2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815-1988
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
30 reviews
Great experience!

The staff was amazing. The amenities were great. No complaints!! They made our honeymoon experience... See full review

  • Mindy N.
  • Oct 20, 2014
Amazing!

Phenomenal hotel and service. A great escape from Waikiki! See full review

  • Jagg
  • Jul 7, 2014
One of Hawaii's most luxurious hotels, Halekulani exhibits grand elegance situated on Waikiki Beach, within walking distance of shops, recreation, restaurants, and Honolulu nightlife one mile from the Hawaii Convention Center. Each superbly appointed room has a spacious balcony with panoramic views.

Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned throughout the world.

The story of Halekulani begins just after the turn of the 20th century, with the construction of a small hotel consisting of a simple beachfront home and five tiny bungalows. In 1917, Juliet and Clifford Kimball purchased the hotel and gradually expanded the operation, establishing it as a stylish resort for wealthy vacationers. They named it Halekulani, or "House Befitting Heaven."

Halekulani remains faithful to the spirit and tradition of the past while constantly rising to astounding levels of service and comfort. The refurbished Main Building, tastefully preserved and upgraded, still serves as the hotel's primary dining and gathering spot. Today, nearly 100 years after its birth, the living room's skylight still provides a golden glow on the original eucalyptus floors, accentuating the warm feeling and sense of island splendor guests continue to enjoy when staying at the "House Befitting Heaven."

Award-winning chefs create one-of-a-kind dishes from Hawaii's freshest, most delectable ingredients. Each of Halekulani's three restaurants offers its own distinct style amid stunning views of the sea.

With an uncompromising commitment to your health, Halekulani offers an extensive co-ed fitness room complete with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Hotel fitness consultants offer regularly-scheduled power stretch/cardio pump workouts, and professional in-room massages can also be arranged through the concierge.

Gray's Beach, which fronts Halekulani, was known to early Hawaiians for its healing waters or Kawehewehe. The healing tradition of this beach continues today with SpaHalekulani, the first spa to fully explore the cultures of the Pacific Islands, including Samoa, Tonga and Tahiti, providing total rejuvenation of the spirit.

In keeping with Halekulani's tradition of serene accommodations and trademark hospitality, SpaHalekulani provides guests with a unique, all-enveloping spa experience. Their goal is to create a new, positive sense of well-being on the outside that also permeates within. The end result is a respite that is cultural, emotional and spiritual, and it is accomplished only through the entire staff's commitment to the tradition of hospitality and timeless grace that is Halekulani.

A full menu of massages, body and facial therapies, and hair and nail care services is available to you. The spa features seven relaxation suites, including two tandem suites for couples, one of which can be transformed into a bridal room. Plus, there are steam showers, therapy beds, personal lockers, private restroom facilities and an outdoor relaxation area.

Whether you are in search of a vacation escape, meeting, wedding or other special event, Halekulani is an oasis famous for gracious hospitality, with service prompt and polished.

The Halekulani will be embarking on a refreshment project of it's guestrooms, roofs and some back of the house infrastructure area from September 2, 2011 through July 6, 2012 (Monday through Friday from 9:00am-4:30pm). In order to minimize the impact on our valued guests, certain floors will be closed off with a buffer between guest occupied rooms and rooms being refurbished.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Halekulani also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Halekulani Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Room with one king or twin beds, down duvet and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, balcony with ocean front view, soaking tub and seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.
Diamond Head Ocean Front Room
Diamond Head Ocean Front Room with one king or two twin beds, balcony with ocean front view, down duvet and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, soaking tub and seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.
Partial Ocean View Room
Partial Ocean View Room with one king or two twin beds, balcony with partial ocean view, down duvet cover and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, soaking tub and seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.
Garden/Courtyard View Room
Garden/Courtyard View Room with one king or two twin beds, down duvet cover and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, balcony with garden or courtyard view, soaking tub, seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.5 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.5 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.7 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.9 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.7 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.2 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

La Mer
Perhaps nowhere is the Halekulani spirit captured more than at La Mer. That's because La Mer is more than just a restaurant. It is Halekulani's finest and Hawaii's only Five Diamond Restaurant. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic oceanfront views. Fresh island ingredients are uniquely blended in dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce a dining experience unsurpassed anywhere in the world. Menus are pre-selected, with a choice of entrees offered to satisfy individual preference. An award-winning wine list is also available to complement these fine foods. Open from 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
House Without A Key
Immortalized in a 1925 Charlie Chan novel, House Without A Key is Halekulani's popular indoor/outdoor gathering spot for informal breakfast, lunch, cocktails, appetizers and entertainment. One of the favored traditions of the original Halekulani - cocktails and Hawaiian music under the century old Kiawe tree has been faithfully preserved here. Open 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Lewers Lounge
The newly redesigned Lewers Lounge is the rebirth of a great lounge with fabulous cocktails, tempting appetizers and desserts, and live entertainment. The perfect spot for early evening cocktails or after-dinner drinks. Lewers is open nightly from 7:30 p.m. to 1:00 a.m.
Orchids
Orchids is Halekulani's casually elegant oceanfront restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner amidst a profusion of brightly-colored tropical orchids. Creative seafood specialties are presented throughout the day in a relaxed setting. Specialties include ahi-seared sashimi with cajun spices, island-raised moi with hearts of palm, and oriental style steamed onaga.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Halekulani

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins, CO
May 16, 2010

Worth every penny

Very attentive and friendly staff. Service was beyond expectations. The housekeeping staff was very respectful and courteous to cater to specific needs and/or requests. Some people complain about the furniture but it really was not that bothersome and added to the charm to the hotel. The rooms are good sized and the bathrooms are quite spacious compared to other places. Not too many places have a separate tub and shower. Even the most basic room has a wonderful view to enjoy. The lanai was my favorite place to have a drink and watch the ocean change colors. Normally, I never expect to enjoy the hotel food and plan to go to other places. However, every restaurant on site is excellent. The prices may detract visitors but most places nearby (besides the chains) are about the same in price but not quality and service. Unlike most high rated restaurants visited in the past, I did not come back with a funny story about La Mer; the food was spectacular and the staff respected their guests. Amazing. The spa on site is very pleasant. The treatment was so wonderful that I went back a second time and invited a friend who also shared the same opinion. Can't wait for round 2-??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Apr 28, 2010

Halekulani

It doesn't get much better than the Halekulani. The staff is friendly and attentive 24/7. The facilities are great. The restaurants are great. Their location, at one end of Waikiki is great but still quiet; you are less than a block from all the Waikiki shopping and night spots but still in a serene and quiet environment. It seems that they really do make their guests their number one priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are an early riser and breakfast person, be sure to eat at least once at Eggs and Things. Great food and great staff. The reason I say early riser is the lines usually start to form around 9. The concierge will give you directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymoon!
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Mar 13, 2010

Pampered and exquisite!

Just be sure to have a bunch of tip money! When you get there the porters open your door, take your luggage up to your room without you seeing them, and you check in. Than someone shows you all of the amenities at your disposal in your room and shows you the to-die-for view you have! Not only does the hotel have it all, but the dining experience is second to none. We ate at House without a key for breakfast buffet and it was amazing, albeit a tad expensive. A night later we ate at La Mer and that was the most expensive, exquisite meal we have ever eaten. They gave us little extras for the 'honeymoon' experience. I don't think we could do Hawaii again without staying here as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burke, Virginia
Jan 10, 2010

Great place when you can get a good deal

The view from our hotel room was breathtaking. We could see Diamond Head and the ocean. We were able to enjoy the nightly music on our private balcony. The staff was knowledgeable about the local area and were willing to accommodate requests. They offered special activities for children age 5 and older. They were also able to arrange a baby sitter for my son (age 4). I was able to charge the cost for the sitter directly to my hotel bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The zoo and the aquarium are worth seeing. Both are in walking distance for adults and older children. Younger children would have difficulty. The aquarium is small, but the zoo does require a lot of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Sep 19, 2009

Good

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 29, 2009

Halekulani

Let's get this fact out first: It's very pricey! Once you get over the sticker shock, you'll realize that this is the IT place in Waikiki. First class service. The on site restaurants are great. There are many other great options near Waikiki area all within walking distance. The pool are can be better and bigger, limited beach front access, but I love every minute of my time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many noodle shops near Waikiki area. It's worth checking them out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ben438
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 21, 2009

First class service

Nice private beach directly behind pool. Great service from all staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

La Mer #1 restaurant in Hawaii located inside hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peninsula Mom
Business
redwood city, ca
Aug 15, 2009

Excellent Stay and Hotel

Words are not enough. I LOVED this hotel. The service is amazing, for example running up to my room to put away bags I did not want to great tips on where to eat and visit, special touches I dont want to share b/c it will spoil your visit. I love the towel service at the pool b/c they dont let people save chairs forever, the food and drinks are fantastic, everyone works really hard to go out of their way. Treat yourself to a very $$$ meal at La Mer-get really dressed up and be prepared for first class food and elegance. Rent a car and go around the island, this hotel makes it so easy and let us drop off late so that we could use the car to get to dinner. PS If you love sushi go to Sansube, trust me sushi. You dont get to pick your items and the chef decides what you will eat. AMAZING. I love the House w/o akey for breakfast buffet and lunch. The rooms have incredible ocean views (we had a oceanfront, not diamonhead), the location is really amazing in the heart of waikiki walking distance to all, yet incredible quiet and serene. You want crazy-go one half block out the door and you will be in themiddle of shops, nightclubs shopping a a fun scene. Want serenity and peace in a lush location with your every need cared for impeccably? Step back into the Halekulani. We love this place and see why visitors come year after year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sushi Sasabune. The slogan is "trust me" dont go here if you like to direct your own choices. Otherwise this is the MOST incredible sushi rest i have ever been to. The freshest, yummiest, most delectable . It is not cheap. It was approx $100 pp and we could not finish the whole repetoire. I think we stopped before the last course of uni and eggs-i really wanted it but was too stuffed to continue. A short cab ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor
Jul 5, 2008

Amazing Service!

Halekulani was an amazing experience! We arrived very early in the morning, before we could get our room and they put us up in this amazing Hospitality room, complete with beverages, lockers, TVs, computers, a concierge, and separate, gorgeous showers for us to use. We went to one of the three restaurants on the premises called House Without a Key, which was also amazing! They have a fantastic breakfast buffet and great coffee, well worth the money. Every morning we had a newspaper in a cloth bag hanging on our doorknob, every evening they come in to turn down the bed and put on relaxing music from the TV and would leave some small gift/token either on the bed or on our desk-such a nice personal touch! We ordered room service one night and we expected just a tray with food, but the staff brought up an entire table on wheels complete with all the linens and tableware and wonderful food. They went WAY above and beyond our expectations, anyone would be impressed by their impeccable service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Halekulani was in the best area for any kind of shopping you could ask for, besides a big-box store. There were very many designer store a short walk from the hotel, and a bunch of other restaurants close by. The area it is in is definitely the nicest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ernest Business Traveler
Business
Norfolk, VA
Jun 12, 2007

My Hawaiian vacation

This is a top of the line hotel with all the trimmings. First class service, beautiful with beautiful surroundings. We look forward to our next visit as we plan to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This area is located in the heart of a shpping mecca.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top