$525 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Halekulani

5 stars
2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815-1988
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
30 reviews
Great experience!

The staff was amazing. The amenities were great. No complaints!! They made our honeymoon experience... See full review

  • Mindy N.
  • Oct 20, 2014
Amazing!

Phenomenal hotel and service. A great escape from Waikiki! See full review

  • Jagg
  • Jul 7, 2014
Century-old opulence and five-star service on the beach in Waikiki

Opened as a compound of beachfront-bungalow guesthouses more than 100 years ago, Halekulani ("house befitting heaven") now comprises five luxury buildings and more than 450 rooms with fine dining and services to match. The hotel's early-20th-Century beginnings infuse its island spirit. However, modern touches include a fleet of luxury rental cars and a host of opulent suites -- including one designed by Vera Wang -- offering 24-hour butler service and more. The majority of the rooms serve up ocean views, and the hotel is but a few steps from Waikiki's best shops and restaurants.

Enjoy complimentary appetizers, exclusive Halekulani private label wines and classic cocktails with Halekulani's General Manager and hotel staff every Wednesdays, 5:30 to 6:30 p.m. Evening resort attire requested.

Highlights
  • Travel in style in one of the hotel's Bentley, Lotus or Maserati rental cars
  • Take in artist and author seminars and performances via the resort's "Halekulani Living" program
  • La Mer, Halekulani's French fine-dining restaurant, has long enjoyed a AAA 5-diamond rating
Location
Just steps from shopping and dining attraction, Waikiki Beach Walk, and around the corner from the luxury boutiques of Royal Hawaiian Center and happenings of Kalakaua Ave., Halekulani is ideally located in Waikiki. Half a block away, a large park features the free U.S. Army Museum. The beach fronting the hotel is petite, but a long, wide beach picks up just next door.
Rooms

Guest rooms start at 519 square feet and offer flat-screen TVs, Sony MP3 docking stations, entertainment centers, Wi-Fi, deep soaking tubs, pure-cotton robes, and twice-daily housekeeping. Nearly all have ocean views. At the top end, the Royal Suite boasts more than 4,000 square feet of luxury.

Dining
Each Halekulani's restaurants offers stunning views of the sea. At House Without a Key, enjoy glamorous ocean and Diamond Head vistas and casual patio dining (with live Hawaiian music every evening). Orchids emphasizes contemporary seafood cuisine, and Sunday brunch is a must. La Mer has been ranked numerous times as a five-diamond AAA restaurant. The Neoclassic French cuisine is complemented by exquisite teak decor and impeccable service. Complete your evening at the Lewers Lounge, a Manhattan-swank nook featuring live jazz.
Recreation
  • Free fitness classes, including yoga, cardio and aquatic
  • Heated oceanfront swimming pool with personal attendants on call
  • Catamaran rides from the adjacent beachfront
  • SpaHalekulani, a full-service spa and salon offering an exclusive line of products inspired by Polynesia
Transportation
  • Honolulu International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (fronting hotel)
  • U.S. Army Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Halekulani also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Halekulani Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Room with one king or twin beds, down duvet and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, balcony with ocean front view, soaking tub and seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.
Diamond Head Ocean Front Room
Diamond Head Ocean Front Room with one king or two twin beds, balcony with ocean front view, down duvet and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, soaking tub and seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.
Partial Ocean View Room
Partial Ocean View Room with one king or two twin beds, balcony with partial ocean view, down duvet cover and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, soaking tub and seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.
Garden/Courtyard View Room
Garden/Courtyard View Room with one king or two twin beds, down duvet cover and pillows with Egyptian cotton bed linen, balcony with garden or courtyard view, soaking tub, seperate glassed-in shower, marble vanity, 100% cotton bathrobes, complimentary private label toiletries, seperate sitting area, mini refrigerator, 27 inch flat screen cable T.V., DVD/CD entertainment center, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, three telephones, turndown service, complimentary newspaper, complimentary Halekulani chocolates and fruit basket.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.5 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.5 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.7 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.9 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.7 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.2 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

La Mer
Perhaps nowhere is the Halekulani spirit captured more than at La Mer. That's because La Mer is more than just a restaurant. It is Halekulani's finest and Hawaii's only Five Diamond Restaurant. The internationally acclaimed menu features Neoclassic French cuisine expertly crafted and served amid majestic oceanfront views. Fresh island ingredients are uniquely blended in dishes inspired by flavors from the south of France to produce a dining experience unsurpassed anywhere in the world. Menus are pre-selected, with a choice of entrees offered to satisfy individual preference. An award-winning wine list is also available to complement these fine foods. Open from 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
House Without A Key
Immortalized in a 1925 Charlie Chan novel, House Without A Key is Halekulani's popular indoor/outdoor gathering spot for informal breakfast, lunch, cocktails, appetizers and entertainment. One of the favored traditions of the original Halekulani - cocktails and Hawaiian music under the century old Kiawe tree has been faithfully preserved here. Open 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Lewers Lounge
The newly redesigned Lewers Lounge is the rebirth of a great lounge with fabulous cocktails, tempting appetizers and desserts, and live entertainment. The perfect spot for early evening cocktails or after-dinner drinks. Lewers is open nightly from 7:30 p.m. to 1:00 a.m.
Orchids
Orchids is Halekulani's casually elegant oceanfront restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner amidst a profusion of brightly-colored tropical orchids. Creative seafood specialties are presented throughout the day in a relaxed setting. Specialties include ahi-seared sashimi with cajun spices, island-raised moi with hearts of palm, and oriental style steamed onaga.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Halekulani

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 31, 2011

Excellent from the word go!

Atmosphere was exquisite. They have thought of every detail! We attended Germaine's luau while in Honolulu and loved it. Also, went on the Atlantis submarine to see the coral and fish native to the area. Absolutely mesmerizing. This was the vacation of a lifetime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Diamond Head was a Long Walk of the first order!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
"Nikki Very Satisfied"
Business
Miami, Fl.
May 18, 2011

"Memorable"

Beautiful atmosphere overlooking the beach, Outstanding staff, Overall you leave with a Memorable experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel Location was in the heart of everything from Shopping, Dining and Entertainment! Spent no money on transportation Everything was in walking distance (less than a block)!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
May 16, 2011

excellent service

While I was staying there, unfortunately everyday did rainy. but I could stay the hotel more happier. because there are good food and kindly service and comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dodger18
Business
Camas, WA
Jan 3, 2011

5 Star Service, 3 1/2 Star Hotel

First, the service at this hotel is top notch, except at the pool. The pool attendants were just okay but not as friendly and assertive as the rest of the hotel/restaurant staff we came across. However, one particular pool attendant flat out lied to me and I called him on this later in the day. It was in regards to a table that had been "reserved." For 4 hours, no one had showed up to enjoy the location. I was told the table belonged to the group of six people next to it (their kids). Well, the table of 6 were Australians (white) and the people who finally showed up for the empty table were Japanese. And no, they didn't know each other. Shame on the pool attendant for lying. Completely unacceptable in my book especially considering the hotel has a no reservation policy (no holding spots) at the pool. Our hotel room had a fantastic view of the ocean but was closest to the street. Yes, it was the least expensive room but still at a 5 Star price. The room was VERY dated. I suppose much of what is in Waikiki is dated though I'm sure some places have been recently renovated. Not the Halekulani however. I felt like I stepped back into the late 70s or early 80s. The bathroom was all white square tile. And there were NO outlets. Let me say that again. Not a single electrical outlet was located in the bathroom. And this is supposed to be a 5 Star hotel. Hardly. I've stayed at many 5 Star hotels around the world and even in Hawaii. This hotel is certainly not up there with the rest. Don't get me wrong. This is a decent place but not 5 Star. I would hate to see what a 3 Star is like in Honolulu. Yikes. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. I would recommend you spend a little more and visit the Four Seasons in Maui for a true 5 Star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying at this hotel and you enjoy Sushi, you must walk across the street and eat at Nobu. The Black Cod Mis, Rock Shrimp Tempura and fish are phenomenal. It is expensive but worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I heart Honolulu
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2010

Awesome Hotel

This hotel is clean and well maintained. Very friendly staff and great breakfast. Just be ready to spend $$, but totally worth it if you are into upscale resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are great places to eat very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama City Beach, Florida
Nov 10, 2010

BEAUTIFUL EXPERIENCE

The Halekulani is a very special place. The attention to details with a different "special" suprise waiting in your room each day. Our only complaint was the cost of the breakfast. Although it had so much to offer for all you can eat, $30 per person for breakfast is a bit high. Looking great in a bathing suit would be a challenge after a couple of days! Although our room and bath was rather small, the bathroom was better equipped than two others we visited on 2 other islands. The view was breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We highly recommed dining at Duke's on the beach. It's a short walk; their breakfast is half the price of the hotel's for all you can eat buffet and their dinner menu offered many fresh seafood dishes. The staff was excellent and it has so much "local island flair". We loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 23, 2010

Halekulani was great!!

Hotel was in a great location near many restaurants and shops. The beach was basically 50 ft. from our room. Staff was very friendly and attentive, room was very clean and so was the hotel property. Very luxurious hotel, best I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Driving in Honolulu is a nightmare! One way streets, heavy traffic congestion. GPS is a necessity if a car is rented.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert Music Lover
Business
Emerson, NJ
Aug 10, 2010

Halekulani lives up to its name!

We were taking a second honeymoon to celebraste 25 years of marriage, so I wanted to pamper my wife. Was this a great choice! Halekulani means "House Befitting Heaven" and it certainly lived up to its name! The grounds and architecture are gorgeous - open and airy. The manager personally checked us in at our room, which had all the modern amenities, including a lanai (balcony) with a view of the ocean. There were little gifts on our pillow every night. If you are looking for elegance, this is the place. The hotel is located right on the beach, in the center of Waikiki, so it was a great base of operations for exploring the beach, Honolulu, Pearl Harbor, shopping and restaurants. It also has a beautiful pool. Their casual, open-air restaurant, "House Without a Key," has excellent offerings, including a fabulous buffet breakfast (omelets made to order), hula entertainment in the evening, and a great view of Diamond Head. We had one dinner at La Mer, perhaps Hawaii's finest restaurant, also on the premises. It features top French cuisine and exceptional service. A small thing - The valet parking was very fast and friendly. Never waited long for our car. The in-room dining and porter service were also great. The reason I only gave "Amenities" a "4" is that we like to do our own ironing. There was no iron in the room, but they have same day laundry, dry cleaning, pressing and shoe shine service. Why do it yourself? Unfortunately, we did not get to try their award-winning spa or their other restaurant, "Orchids." This was, by far, the best hotel experience we have ever had. Granted, we paid to be pampered, but not as much as one might expect. An Orbitz upgrade helped. Also, somehow it's quieter and less crowded than many Waikiki hotels, even though it houses lots of guests. The biggest standout was the exceptionally helpful and friendly service. We will definitely have to return some day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're staying in Waikiki and renting a car, get a GPS! Getting in and out of Waikiki is a traffic puzzle. Of course, the Concierge here is also happy to help!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 21, 2010

Great trip

By far the best hotel I have ever stayed in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Halekulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seannie Depp
Business
Long Beach, CA
May 31, 2010

Impeccable Service on Waikiki

The location and service were first rate. We had a room overlooking Waikiki beach; it was beautiful. The service was the best I have ever experienced. In-room registration, maid service twice a day, fantastic concierge, and great pool service. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nico's restaurant at Pier 38 is great food in a very casual atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top