$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Ewa Hotel Waikiki

2 stars
2555 Cartwright Road, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
116 reviews
Good hotel

This hotel has a perfect location because near to the beach, tour trolley station, bus stop, and... See full review

  • MYJJ
  • May 11, 2013
Great budget hotel

Staff were kind and helpful. Location for a quieter stay in Waikiki was ideal. Rooms were on the... See full review

  • Hawaii 7
  • Feb 23, 2013
Enjoy tropical island hospitality in an ideal Waikiki location.

Ewa Hotel features affordable, island-style accommodations at the Diamond Head end of Waikiki, just steps to world-famous Waikiki Beach, Kapiolani Park and Honolulu Zoo. This eight-story hotel offers a variety of comfortable guest rooms, studios, and one and two bedroom suites to fit a range of traveling needs. Soothing pastels and rattan decor add tropical flair and island charm to all guest rooms, and in-room amenities include wireless internet access, air conditioning, mini refrigerators, telephones with voicemail, cable TV, bathtubs with hand showers, and hairdryers. All studios and suites feature dining tables and kitchenettes equipped with refrigerators, 2 burner stovetops, dishware and utensils; most feature a private lanai balcony. Hotel amenities include on-site parking (fee), coin operated laundry facilities, ice machine, and complimentary use of surfboard and bicycle racks. The expansive rooftop sundeck is a popular outdoor oasis where guests can soak up the warm Hawaiian sunshine or enjoy an ideal vantage point for viewing spectacular Waikiki sunsets.

Ewa Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Two Bedroom Suites
Furnished with one queen bed, two twin beds and one sofa bed. Features include a private lanai balcony, dining table and kitchenette equipped with refrigerator, 2 burner stovetop, dishware and utensils.
Moderate Rooms
Furnished with either one queen bed or two twin beds.
Studios
Furnished with two twin beds and one day bed. Features include a dining table and kitchenette equipped with refrigerator, 2 burner stovetop, dishware and utensils. Most feature a private lanai balcony.
One Bedroom Suites
Furnished with two twin beds and one sofa bed. Features include a private lanai balcony, dining table and kitchenette equipped with refrigerator, 2 burner stovetop, dishware and utensils.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ewa Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2726 -157.8214
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Located one block away from Waikiki beach & Honolulu Zoo

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.3 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.3 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.4 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.6 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Ewa Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 116
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ewa Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juha
Honolulu
May 26, 2012

Good stuff!

Very basic hotel with a good location. Free parking space nearby. Everything worked out well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ewa Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donman
Anchorage, AK, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Pro Bowl weekend

The hotel was nice enough and the front desk staff courteous and friendly. A little tricky to drive to but easy enough once you figure out the one ways. Located right at the end of the main drag in Waikiki was probably it's best feature. And although there are no good view units, we weren't in our unit much anyways. A lot disappointed that while the hotel offered no airport shuttle it was never mentioned at any point before we got there that parking our rental car in the small garage they have was 15 dollars a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

less than 2 blocks from Kalakaua Ave. and Kapalulu. Right at the end of the strip. Beach one way, shopping and restaurants the other.

Review of Ewa Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fozzybear
Seattle, WA
Sep 19, 2011

Lovely Hawaiian Holiday

The Ewa Hotel is a great place for those on a budget. Our room had 2 double beds and a stove with 2 burners and a small fridge. The staff is polite and friendly. I was surprised at how comfortable the beds were and how clean the rooms were. The beach is 2 blocks away. I was not seeking a luxury hotel. The time we spent in the room was minimal. We prefer to do things outside of the hotel. If luxury is what you seek, be prepared to pay MUCH more than this. The Ewa Hotel reminds me of old Hawaii- when I was a resident in the 1980's. I would definitely choose this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The swap meet in Pearl City is the best place to shop for gifts and souvenirs. The drive from Waikiki is about 15 minutes. Also, if you like Korean food, try Choi's Family Restaurant on King Street. It is minutes from Waikiki.

Review of Ewa Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fozzybear
Seattle, WA
Sep 19, 2011

Lovely Hawaiian Holiday

The Ewa Hotel is a great place for those on a budget. Our room had 2 double beds and a stove with 2 burners and a small fridge. The staff is polite and friendly. I was surprised at how comfortable the beds were and how clean the rooms were. The beach is 2 blocks away. I was not seeking a luxury hotel. The time we spent in the room was minimal. We prefer to do things outside of the hotel. If luxury is what you seek, be prepared to pay MUCH more than this. The Ewa Hotel reminds me of old Hawaii- when I was a resident in the 1980's. I would definitely choose this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The swap meet in Pearl City is the best place to shop for gifts and souvenirs. The drive from Waikiki is about 15 minutes. Also, if you like Korean food, try Choi's Family Restaurant on King Street. It is minutes from Waikiki.

Review of Ewa Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ali valley
central valley, ca
Jan 30, 2011

mixed feeings

the front desk was amazing! very friendly . the room was clean ( beds made, clean towels etc) , however it had a weird smell to it.. like mold ..the shower had no presser and the walls are paper thin. it was good for the price because all we did was sleep there. no room service either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

lulus is only about a block away great food and drinks ...live music friday night!!!!

Review of Ewa Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ali valley
central valley, ca
Jan 30, 2011

mixed feeings

the front desk was amazing! very friendly . the room was clean ( beds made, clean towels etc) , however it had a weird smell to it.. like mold ..the shower had no presser and the walls are paper thin. it was good for the price because all we did was sleep there. no room service either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

lulus is only about a block away great food and drinks ...live music friday night!!!!

Review of Ewa Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ms Cellophane
Maui
Apr 20, 2009

Location, location, location

You can have a fine stay here if you don't bother the staff with humble, ordinary questions and clearly understand your lot in life as an insolent, ignorant tourist. Also, it is the only hotel in the world that won't hold your luggage in a secure place while you wait for check-in time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ewa Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Mar 28, 2008

lousy place to stay

The Ewa hotel, Waikiki, was not a pleasant experience. The carpet was stained and coming apart, the draperies torn, the walls dirty. The drain backed up while you took a shower. There were no dining facilities and their continental breakfast consisted of donut holes and coffee. There was no pool. We were given 1 bar of soap for the shower and 1 for the sink - which didn't offer a soap holder. No suitcase stands were provided. There were 2 elevators; 1 didn't work. We asked directions to the beach and were told it wasn't close - that we might want to find shopping. In reality, the beach was about a block away, which was the only good thing about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the beach was close

Review of Ewa Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Mar 28, 2008

lousy place to stay

The Ewa hotel, Waikiki, was not a pleasant experience. The carpet was stained and coming apart, the draperies torn, the walls dirty. The drain backed up while you took a shower. There were no dining facilities and their continental breakfast consisted of donut holes and coffee. There was no pool. We were given 1 bar of soap for the shower and 1 for the sink - which didn't offer a soap holder. No suitcase stands were provided. There were 2 elevators; 1 didn't work. We asked directions to the beach and were told it wasn't close - that we might want to find shopping. In reality, the beach was about a block away, which was the only good thing about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the beach was close

Back to menu Return to top