$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

3 stars
View map of 400 Royal Hawaiian Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coffee lover
Couples
phoenix
Feb 16, 2012

couple get away

convenient. staff helpful. rooms very clean & cleaned promptly every day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FromCAL
Couples
Berkeley, CA
Feb 10, 2012

Not The Top, But Still Great

Like Vegas, there are the main hotels along Kalakaua Ave. in Waikiki that have history and ambience. One block away from the beach is the second tier of hotels, where Courtyard is located. It's a nicely designed, breezy place that offers excellent rooms, snappy staff and a great location from which to base your visit. It's a relatively small building, so it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of the biggies. But what it does offer is top notch. Oh, and use the Macs in the lobby to print out your boarding pass before you leave for the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sure, it's nice to eat at a mainstream restaurant along Kalakaua Ave. But troll Kuhio Ave. for more local places that have great food: Hula Dog at 2301 Kuhio, Food Pantry at 2370 Kuhio (vendor inside the door selling steak and eggs, and other combinations).

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cami68
Couples
DE
Feb 5, 2012

I enjoyed the Courtyard Marriott

This was my first time at the Crtyrd Marriott and I must say "it was really worth the stay". My initial room confirmed for reservation was alilttle too small for my taste but very accommodating with all bare essentials; refrigerator, microwave, balcony. Nevertheless I requested an upgrade with no hassle from the front desk rep. I was immediately upgraded and offered a discount for inconvenience. Toiletries requested during check-in, were delivered and placed in my room before I actually got up to the room. All the staff were very attentative, accommodating and pleasant. The hotel is well kept and my room was nicely cleaned daily. I really enjoyed my stay here. Im happy I hadn't rented a car because it's not needed. The hotel is in walking distance to everything; shopping, Beach, restaurants, bars, museum, zoo, convenient stores. I would definanetly stay here again. The area appears very safe @ night and merchants cater to the tourist. People are out all day and night. The shopping strip has every store you could possibly think of from ( low to high end retail) Great vacation!!! : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

About a ten minute walk to the beach. With such great senory it seems shorter.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the Lora Family
Family
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jul 17, 2011

kid friendly!!

This hotel was accommodating in every aspect, I booked [...] for a Sun night, at last minute changed my mind & wanted to come in on Sat night LATE[...], they said "come on down!!" This hotel was great, from the pool, to the dining, to the rooms, I booked 2 rooms, they put us side by side, didnt have to ask, the staff was amazing (all smiles the whole time), not irritated by the kid noise, they gave the kids free otto pops at the pool, they gave us extra keys. Very friendly, definately coming back to this hotel. A hotel Manager who goes out of his way to accommadate you goes a long way!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent location. great pool [...]

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
virginia beach, virginia
Mar 24, 2011

paradse wedding

I went to my nephew's wedding. The hotel took care of giving a map directions of interest. Pleasant room and all commendatons. The weather was windy but warm and it did not stop anything. I went to alot of shopping plazas swap met little boutiques marvelous. Then of course there was the lusu. It was hard to leave the people are outstanding and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find the locals have great merchandise and they also bargain. Anything and anytime it is fun.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family in Need of Oceanside R & R
Family
Sacramento, CA
Mar 20, 2011

Courtyard by Marriot Waikiki

The Courtyard Marriott in Waikiki is in a great location just a few blocks from the beach and is close to many restaurants and shops. The one bedroom suite was wonderful as it provided a little privacy and the fold-out sleeper sofa worked great for our twelve year old daughter. The hotel provided dishes and silverware. So, with the use of the kitchenette, we were able to prepare and eat most of our breakfasts "in" which saved us some money. A few of the activities that were highlights of our trip were: snorkeling at Hanauma Bay (we purchased our snorkel gear at Sam's Club which saves money over rental prices if you intend to snorkel more than once during your visit), hiking to Manoa Falls, riding polo ponies on the beach on the North Shore, and taking a whale watching cruise (if you don't take a cruise, you may see many whales near Diamond Head just viewing from the roadside...in any case, bring binoculars). I didn't anticipate enjoying Oahu as much as the other Hawaiian islands I've visited since I prefer nature over skyscrapers, but I loved Oahu for all of it's natural beauty. There was so much more to do and see than we were able to in our one week visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you know well in advance that you will be making a trip to Oahu, you may want to sign up for Groupon and/or Living Social for Honolulu and watch for special offers for restaurants and activities. Also, Waikiki has many restaurants offering great happy hours!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Holland
Mar 18, 2011

Courtyard by Marriot Waikiki Hawaii

Great location, just blocks away from the beach. No frills hotel but clean and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk to Waikiki beach. Great restaurants and shopping nearby.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Massachusetts honeymooner
Couples
cape cod, massachusetts
Feb 20, 2011

Modern and comfortable

The hotel was clean and very modern. Great location, easy access to stores, restaurants and beach. The room was comfortable and the lobby was nice. Had a nice pool and nice Mac computers in lobby to print our boarding passes. Would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gillot
Family
Quebec city, Canada
Feb 5, 2011

Fair place in the middle of the action

Good service, friendly and outgoing staff willing to assist in order to make our trip a success

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Well located, the Courtyard is a few blocks -short walking distance from the action: beach, shopping, night life

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
Jan 31, 2011

Great place to stay with the right room!

The hotel staff was outstanding! We had requested a room with either a king or double and received a queen. Although, the room had been updated, it had only one nightstand and one lamp, no table, and one chair. Since there were two of us, it was not very comfortable and rather depressing. Since we were staying for 10 days and already stayed for 4, I asked the front desk if they could find us a room with a bigger bed. They were very accommodating and not only did we get a room with a king size bed, 2 nightstands, a table with 2 chairs, the room faced the pool instead of the street. This made all the difference in the world and loved the rest of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took the bus to Chinatown and bought fresh fruit, ate pho and visited the Foster Gardens.

Back to menu Return to top