$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

3 stars
400 Royal Hawaiian Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
74 reviews
grandma & grandpa's weekend getaway

Again, we had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly. We are locals here in Hawaii and... See full review

  • Michele Proud Grandma
  • Dec 2, 2013
Relaxing weekend

The staff is very friendly. From the front desk to housekeeping. We had a upgraded deluxe room... See full review

  • Michele Proud Grandma
  • Nov 18, 2013
A trendy Waikiki hotel the family will love

Set few steps from pristine white sand beaches and world-class shopping, Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach is trendy yet perfect for the family. Patrons at this cozy retreat can hike up to Diamond Head Crater, take surfing lessons from the Waikiki Beach Boys or learn the history of the island of Oahu at Pearl Harbor. Guests can have pampering treatments at Spa Pure on site. Unwind at the lobby bar and enjoy the company of friends, family or colleagues in comfortable surroundings. Savor mouth-watering Italian specialties at Spada Bar & Restaurant on site. 

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • No resort fees
  • Close to world-class shopping areas
  • Heated saltwater pool and freshwater garden pool and Jacuzzi 
  • Spa Pure offers massage, facials and body wraps
  • Refurbished fitness centre
Location

Courtyard by Marriott is located two blocks from Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Superior shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center can be found nearby or take a stroll along the new Waikiki Beach Walk. The Hawaii Convention Center is within walking distance.

Rooms

Nearly 401 cozy, island-chic guest rooms feature lofty dreamer bed with pillowtop mattress, flat-screen HDTV, free high-speed Internet access, air-conditioning, refrigerator and in-room safe. Most rooms have a wet bar, microwave and private balcony.

Dining

Spada Bar & Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner, with sophisticated Italian dishes in a relaxed island setting. Walk a few blocks from the hotel to discover Waikiki's most popular dining, including Roy's Waikiki, Cheesecake Factory and Hula Grill.


Recreation
  • Renovated freshwater swimming pool with waterfall and Jacuzzi
  • Heated saltwater swimming pool
  • Spacious fitness center
Attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
Policies and fees

Starting 01 January, valet parking is $33 USD. Guests who arrived before 01 January and staying through the new year will be charged $32 USD per day.


This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2809 -157.8277
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu, (HNL), 10.00, W, Mile
Area description
n the heart of Waikiki, guests will discover an environment offer smart, energizing choices that will make the most of their time in Hawaii. A casual, warm, safe environment, where guests create their own unique experience. Suites and guestrooms offer a comfortable night's sleep in lofty dreamer beds with pillow-top mattresses. Signature libations in the friendly atmosphere of the lobby bar, relaxing poolside massages surrounded by palm trees, and the soothing rhythms of a tropical waterfall complete your stay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach Rooms

Standard
Our Standard Guestrooms are perfect for visitors on-the-go as they feature a signature "Dreamer" pillow-top bedding, a 26" flat-screen high-definition TV, Pay-per-view movies, In-room gaming, Complimentary wired high-speed internet access, Mini-refrigerator, Hair dryer, Iron with ironing board, Coffeemaker with complimentary coffee and tea, Individually controlled air-conditioning, and a private lanai. Room dimensions - 199 sq. ft.
Deluxe
Deluxe Guestrooms boast spacious accommodations starting at 320 square feet that feature Complimentary wired high-speed internet access, 26" flat-screen high-definition TV, Pay-per-view movies, In-room gaming, Microwave, a wet bar with granite counter-top, Mini-refrigerator, Flatware and utensils provided (upon request), and a private lanai. The Deluxe room with double beds will occupy a maximum of 3 guests with an extra person charge which is included in the pricing shown.
1 Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suites feature a spacious bathroom with a tub/shower combination, Complimentary wired high-speed internet access, Microwave, a wet bar with granite counter-top, Mini-refrigerator, flatware and utensils provided (upon request), and a private lanai. Room dimensions - 390 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.5 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.5 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.7 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.9 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.9 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1 meeting room - 500 sq. ft.

Dining

Spada Lobby Bar
A cool, casual spot for cocktails and conversation, located just off our stylish lobby
KiMOBEAN
Just off the hotel lobby, this gourmet coffee shop offers early morning Waikiki beach dining, lunch and world-class coffee drinks.
Spada Bar & Restaurant
This Waikiki Beach restaurant's menu features sophisticated Italian creations in a relaxed, casual setting. Open for Breakfast and Dinner only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family fun 2010
San Antonio, TX
Jul 31, 2010

Family Vacation in Oahu, HI!!!

I have stayed at this hotel now a second time. It use to be the Wyland Waikiki and now is a Courtyard by Marriott. The room my familty and I stayed in was a 1+. The bedroom had a sliding door and shutter to seperate it from the living room. The air conditioner was located in the bedroom and if you closed the doors the other room would get warm. Besides this the room was nicee a couple of scuff marks on the walls. The TVs do not have HDMI capability. The pools were really nice. There is a regular pool with a jacuzzi attached and then there is a bean shaped salt water pool. The concierge desk was really busy and we were not able to talk to them unless you could time it right or have 30-45 mins to spare. The staff was very nice and accomodating. The only negatives are the parking($22 a night) [...] A caveat is there is free parking just a half a block behind the hotel but it is a scavenger hunt to get a spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Zoo, Aquarium, and the beach and not a far walk.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alaska
Jul 23, 2010

Not what was expected

This particular Marriott can not be compared to the other Marriott's we have stayed in. The furniture for the room was too big and we could not pull out the drawers in front of the king size bed. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was so small that if we were heavy set we would have not been able to turn around. The curtains had brown dirty marks on them and were a horrid color and the walls were scuffed up. The size of the room was smaller than what was expected. We asked for a view and were give a room that looked at high rises. We will not reside in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Only rent a car for the days needed. You can basically walk and take the bus to 90% of the attractions.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 20, 2010

Over priced Hotel

I went there to surprise my fiancee who was there with his ship in the Navy. The room was extremely small and would have been too small if I had a full size suitcase. The room was hot even with the air conditioning on. And we didn't even get to stay in the main hotel. We were forced to stay in the ghetto building behind the main hotel. There wasn't enough parking and we were forced to park at the hotel across the street. The building and room we stayed in was about the same quality as a Motel 6. We would have liked to have stayed somewhere else, but all the other hotels were booked due to the big Navy expo that was going on. At least the room was clean and the bed was comfortable otherwise we probably would have tried harder to go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Paradise Cove Luau is the best on the island

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milton, WA
Jul 5, 2010

Great hotel, but not family friendly.

The hotel was outstanding. Great location, away from Waikiki Beach but yet still close to our location. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The only thing I would say is that the rooms weren't that great of a size and valet parking was the only option there and it was an arm and a leg. The bathroom had a stand up shower and when you have a 19th month child with you, those showers were not that accommodating. Other than that, we loved our stay and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was dining all around us, but when you're staying in Hawaii for one week, eating out gets a little spending on Waikiki.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 5, 2010

First Time Disappointment

With the exception of a few, most of the staff made me feel like I was a burden rather than a guest. I stay at Marriotts three times a month throughout the United States. This one by far was the worst for customer hospitality. It was the first time a Marriott has not lived up to its standards. I am hoping it was just an off week for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodland Wa
May 3, 2010

Marriott Courtyard Waikiki

My husband and I had been on a 12 day cruise prior to our arrival in Waikiki. We found the bathroom on the ship had more shower,counter and shelf space than the hotel. Large main room..Small balcony but was ok if you ignored the roof top you stared at. The maid service didn't do a very good job in cleaning each day.The posted pool rules didn't stop diaper age children from being in the pool which we found a turn off to our using the pool. A nice touch was the cooler full of assorted frozen cool pops free for the taking.The pool is in shade for the most part of the day. It was the worse Courtyard we have stayed in. Friendly staff tho and great location. Disappointed that I did'nt know I wouldn't recieve my Marriott Rewards points by booking through [...]. We didn't use the Rental Car but 1 day as we walked everywhere and took a tour which picked us up at the hotel. But we managed to have a good trip in spite of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yard House...a great restauraunt with Happy Hour from 2:30-5:30 pm M-F . It had full size appetizers from the menu at 1/2 price. Food was wonderful !

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Apr 10, 2010

First time in Honolulu

The hotel has a good location, very clean, safe, quiet and very friendly staff. The room and bathroom was small compare another Courtyard hotel in different cities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is only one block from Kalakaua Av. were shopping malls, designer stores, good restaurants and entertainment are. Also, one block from the beach

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Panama City, FL
Apr 9, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott

Not well marked location on current travel maps, but really pretty easy to get to once you find it the first time. Great location to get to shopping, too far for beach to walk to (my opinion). Valet parking a little pricey, but worth avoiding the parking hassle. Room was comfortable, good king bed; refrig & microwave in room. Bathroom was disappointingly small, especially the shower! Very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping within one to three blocks

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville NC
Apr 5, 2010

family and friends getaway

surf, sun, sight see, historical and fun sights,photography paradise,family celebrations, work related bridal research, compare hotels , pricing ,as wedding planner etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

driving was fun but much work , use historical trollys or buses, would have been cheaper . spent alot of money on tips and parking, great service and friendly hotel and staff all around but tips were expensive as was the parking.Day Shuttles were fun,safe and less hassle.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
middletown nj
Mar 31, 2010

hotel wakiki

always liked this hotel;especially new ownership as marriott. good upgrades new pub and computer center;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

don,t need to rent a car transportation just outside of hotel door.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search