$234 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culver City
Sep 1, 2008

Family friendly hotel

The Waikiki Banyan is in an excellent location; near the zoo, Kapiolani park and steps away from the beach. We love staying here because it is easy to access and somewhat away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. The only drawback is that I haven't found a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The busy Kalakaua Blvd.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Texas
Sep 2, 2009

Nice for the price

Central location, parking garage attached with reasonable rates. Easy to access and egress, parking entrance on the only 2-way street in Waikiki. Room on 34th floor with view of Diamond Head and the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get the "Go Oahu" card, you will easily recoup the price. We used if for the Polynesian Cultural Center (although we upgraded the Luau and Show), Grand Island Tour, Pearl Harbor, Makana lunch cruise, and Haunama Bay snorkeling trip.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laramie, WY
Mar 20, 2011

Nice except for one thing

This hotel was nice. It was not as large as the pictures portrayed. The only bad thing was the sofa bed. There was no padding over the mattress springs, making it worthless as a bed. So beware! Convenient parking. Quiet. Nice outdoor rec area. Convenience store will not take credit cards, which was a pain. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Driving around Honolulu is awful. I am good with directions and maps, so I was surprised what a nightmare it was. Either walk, or take a bus or shuttle. Outside of Honolulu is better, but places are not well marked. Buy a Oahu map.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Bruno, CA
Jun 12, 2010

Good location, good price!!

it is a very good hotel considering that it is an older built. it was clean and in a great location. stores and restaurants are close by. the tv set could have been placed at a better locaton in the room. for a condo-tel, you can't beat the price!! Aston you beter not raise the price or else i will find another one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

night life, dining, entertainment and shopping are all walking distance.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The "Three Sisters"
Business
central Wisconsin
May 8, 2009

Satisfying experience

We (three sisters) checked lots of hotel reviews in this price range and decided on the Wiakiki Banyan and were very pleased with our decision. We had a ocean view room on the 33rd floor. Very quiet, great views and very clean. The kitchen living room area was a good size with very clean appliances. The bathroom area was also a good size and it had a tub too! The staff was VERY helpful and always made us feel like a guest. They also have a great "coffee shop" that had wonderful breakfast sandwiches and a lunch menu. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Ride the "Ducks". They have two trips. We took the one to Pearl Harbor and Honolulu. Ask for Bruce for your driver. He was a hoot! Riding around Waikiki and Honolulu in these huge yellow ducks is something you will remember, plus he takes you out into the ocean too!

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
May 25, 2009

Great Hotel

It was only a short walk to downtown Waikiki. The hotel room was very roomy and it had everything that we needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turnip
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Apr 27, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

This hotel/condo is within walking distance to the zoo and the beach. You can't ask for anything more when you've a 2yr old kid. Hotel staff is very helpful for letting us check-out at 3pm. Talking about late check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Sep 25, 2010

enjoyable

short walk to the beach and food and entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Great Hotel

It was wonderful! Only problem we encountered was a dirty toilet when we first arrived (not a very good first impression), but housekeeping came immediately and cleaned it very well. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Location was one of the best things, not even a 5-minute walk to the beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KaliCo
Business
Vancouver BC
Mar 31, 2011

Great Place For A Family With Young KIds

This is the second time we have stayed at the Banyan in the last two years, and will definitely come back again. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is great! Although the rooms are a bit dated, we really enjoy the fact that there is a full sized kitchen in each room and there is a separate living area from the bedroom which makes putting the young kids to bed a whole lot easier! The recreation deck is great as well with a full sized playground, a snack shop, and a pool (although we skipped the pool and hit the beach every day). Bring your own portable DVD player if you have young kids, and hook it up to the TV in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store only a few blocks away, although the prices are a bit expensive (sure beats eating out every night though). We stocked up on our first day and made our own meals in the room to save money. They even have 1$ DVD rentals.

Back to menu Return to top