$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Hotel Map

21.2747 -157.8213
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
One block from world-famous Waikiki Beach, three blocks from Honolulu Zoo and near Waikiki Aquarium. Also close to shopping and dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saulnier Family
Business
Cambridge ,IL
Nov 30, 2009

Great location , reasonable price

The Aston Banyan was a great place to stay, and if I ever make it back to Hawaii, I would stay there again in a heartbeat. The rooms were nothing fancy , but they were clean and roomy. I enjoyed having our own Kitchen, so we didn't have to eat every meal in a resturant. We asked for a ocean view room and not only could we see the ocean , but we could see the mountains and the city . The location of the Banyan was the best. We rented a car one day to do things away from the city, but everything else we could walk to. The staff was very friendly and always willing to answer any questions. I would recommend the Banyan to anyone that wants a clean reasonable place to stay at Waikiki. Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach is only a 2 block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 17, 2011

3rd Time to the Waikiki Banyan

Recomend paddle boarding with Uncle Bryon on the North Shore - Loved the Moana Falls hike!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuRoo
Business
Mill Valley, CA
May 30, 2009

Great location for the price

Our experience at the Banyan was excellent. We arrived 4 hours before check in and our room wasnt ready but the wonderful staff upgraded our room at no additional expense so we could check in immediately! Our room was clean and comfortable with a full kitchen which really cuts down on eating costs. The hotel is about a block from the beach and many shops and restaurants. We would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradenton, FL
Nov 19, 2010

Great location and priced right

Clerks and maintenance people were most helpful. Location perfect, only 1 block from Waikiki Beach and convenient to shopping. Would stay there again. Unit could use updating but was sufficient for a short stay. Very clean and compact.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

4 blocks to International Marketplace. 1 Block to Kalakaua Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OneFunDrunk
Business
Los Angeles Ca
Jul 23, 2010

Overall great stay, was pleased

Hawaii is obviously a beautiful place to visit. We did alot of site seeing and visited all the so called "must see" locations like the Polynesian cultural center, dole plantation, north shore,diamond head and so forth. I recommend this place for the people who are not picky first of all. This place had all you basically need to have a descent stay. The furniture and look is somewhat outdated but that doesnt really matter. The kitchen was sufficient. What we did was our first day there we went to costco and loaded up on bare necessities and just cook it up in ur room thus saving alot of money. Buy water, beer, bread, eggs,meat and what not and live off that for your stay. Bring your own coffee and some coffee filters though. Creamer and other Lil amenities can be bought at the store downstairs. Other than that advice its up to you on how you enjoy your time, one last heads up don't count on the mattress being even remotely comfy. It was like sleeping on coral, so uncomfortable. Have fun Mahalo!! P.S parking was ok cheapest we could find at 10 bucks for every 24 hrs, just make sure you pay up on time or when you pull out they will tag you with a 10 dollar over charge fee. P.S.S Great location, about 2 blocks south of Waikiki beach everything within walking distance. Plenty of ABC stores everywhere, check out the stadium swap meet as well on weekends and wensdays cheap prices if planning on buying gifts don't buy them at Waikiki marked up prices. Same B.S stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your A game when driving down here, watch out..drivers are scary in Hawaii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manila, Philippines
Jul 25, 2010

Simple and Enjoyable

This is my 2nd stay here. I plan on staying there again next year because it fits our needs perfectly. This condo-hotel is great for long stays and the parking is the most affordable in Waikiki. The location is great since you can walk to everything. Don't expect 5 star here though, otherwise you will be disappointed. If it's your first time in Hawaii go with a regular hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Our experience at the waterpark was not worth the time and money. The lines were long for everything and it's so expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culver City
Sep 1, 2008

Family friendly hotel

The Waikiki Banyan is in an excellent location; near the zoo, Kapiolani park and steps away from the beach. We love staying here because it is easy to access and somewhat away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. The only drawback is that I haven't found a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The busy Kalakaua Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Texas
Sep 2, 2009

Nice for the price

Central location, parking garage attached with reasonable rates. Easy to access and egress, parking entrance on the only 2-way street in Waikiki. Room on 34th floor with view of Diamond Head and the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get the "Go Oahu" card, you will easily recoup the price. We used if for the Polynesian Cultural Center (although we upgraded the Luau and Show), Grand Island Tour, Pearl Harbor, Makana lunch cruise, and Haunama Bay snorkeling trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laramie, WY
Mar 20, 2011

Nice except for one thing

This hotel was nice. It was not as large as the pictures portrayed. The only bad thing was the sofa bed. There was no padding over the mattress springs, making it worthless as a bed. So beware! Convenient parking. Quiet. Nice outdoor rec area. Convenience store will not take credit cards, which was a pain. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Driving around Honolulu is awful. I am good with directions and maps, so I was surprised what a nightmare it was. Either walk, or take a bus or shuttle. Outside of Honolulu is better, but places are not well marked. Buy a Oahu map.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Bruno, CA
Jun 12, 2010

Good location, good price!!

it is a very good hotel considering that it is an older built. it was clean and in a great location. stores and restaurants are close by. the tv set could have been placed at a better locaton in the room. for a condo-tel, you can't beat the price!! Aston you beter not raise the price or else i will find another one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

night life, dining, entertainment and shopping are all walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top