$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
163 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2747 -157.8213
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
One block from world-famous Waikiki Beach, three blocks from Honolulu Zoo and near Waikiki Aquarium. Also close to shopping and dining.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buckhannon,WV
Aug 5, 2009

Stayed at the Sunset

When we arrived at the Banyan we were told they over booked so, they had gave our room away and had put us up at their sister hotel the sunset. So, I can't tell you anything about the Banyan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They have all kinds of shops in walking distance. They also have many types of dining in walking distance of both hotels.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jun 8, 2010

Christopher Herring - LCS Senior Trip

We used five rooms for our annual high school senior trip. We were pleased with our rooms, as we were out touring, shopping, swimming, etc. every day and most nights. We love the big rooms with ample space for four people per room with all of their things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Waikiki Banyan was close to everything we desired to see and do. I recommend this hotel for all ages and families.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheap Solo Traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 27, 2010

More than you expect from a three star

I usaully travel alone, because i get more things done i want to do. You can and will have a good time by yourself, but i recommened taking a significant other to share the experience with, everone else in waikiki is. This hotel was by far the most comfortable i've been at. tennis court and basketball court; but it also had everything a premium one bedroom apartment would have, large living room, flat screen tv, dishwasher, stove/oven, microwave, large refrigerator, etc. I would rather live there than my own apartment. As for the location, talk about "in the middle of it all", the beach is a three minute walk, with so many store on the main street the only difficult task is to decide where to waste your money. I paid $75 for a 2 hour surf lesson with HN surf, recommended by the hotel; it was great(free t-shirt with coupon), the better you get the more your hooked. Entertainment was abundant, concerts festivals, parties, and music seem to go on every fri, sat, and sun. The prices were more than reasonable for what you get. Great service, Great room, Great location. If you check out early and flight doesnt leave til late, the hotel can put your luggage in storage til you are ready. Bring lot of money, so you can do lots of stuff, and Have FUN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a Food Pantry Grocery store, they have way more food than the common ABC convenient store. Making your own prepared snacks and meals will save you from dining out all the time.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Families vacation planner
Texas
Jun 20, 2010

Hotel was average

They were very nice about the accommendations that I had requested for the two families that went together. They were not informative about the restaurants. I am not sure about this motto - "kids eat free". I was only aware of a coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you get a chance to see the Polynesian Cultural Center, go for the Ambssador Package. It is a little pricey but it is all for a good cause. It is all tied in with the university there and they give out many scholarships to students based on the proceeds from the center. The Ambassador Package entitles you to a tour guide that are all very polite and thankful. Most of the employees are students from all over the world who are on the scholarships. Ours was [...],from New Zealand and he was gracious and very informative. The shows were amazing also. You were treated first class at the Luau.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Unc
Fernie
May 5, 2011

Decent Hotel

The room was very spacious, but could use a little updating such as new carpets and a flat screen tv, a mirror (in addition to the one in the bathroom) would be nice as well along with some wall paintings; it gets a little dull staring at white walls although the view of Diamond Head from the balcony helps make up for this. Having a full kitchen was definitely a plus as eating meals at the restaurants in Waikiki, although enjoyable, will put a dent in the pocketbook on an extended stay. The coin operated barbecues on the 6th floor court is a great way to enjoy burgers while enjoying the breezy Hawaiian evening. The two towers face opposite directions so if a view is important you need decide which tower to stay in. I stayed in tower 1 and had a lovely view to the east of Diamond Head. There are 4 spacious elevators per tower that arrive quickly and get you to your floor very efficiently. The lobby is very charming with places to sit both inside and just outside. As you await the arrival of your taxi or shuttle be sure to check out the fish pond and waterfall or some of the many great historical photos that adorn the walls. A minor but somewhat important complaint was the speed of the internet. I found it to be a bit slow although I can't rule out that my computer may have been acting up as well. Apparently in June 2011 the internet will no longer be free with the room. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Waikiki Banyan and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Families vacation planner
Texas
Jun 20, 2010

Hotel was average

They were very nice about the accommendations that I had requested for the two families that went together. They were not informative about the restaurants. I am not sure about this motto - "kids eat free". I was only aware of a coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you get a chance to see the Polynesian Cultural Center, go for the Ambssador Package. It is a little pricey but it is all for a good cause. It is all tied in with the university there and they give out many scholarships to students based on the proceeds from the center. The Ambassador Package entitles you to a tour guide that are all very polite and thankful. Most of the employees are students from all over the world who are on the scholarships. Ours was [...],from New Zealand and he was gracious and very informative. The shows were amazing also. You were treated first class at the Luau.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaito
Laie, Oahu
Jul 19, 2009

Full Kitchen a Plus!

Hotel was located 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. Location was near zoo and aquarium. Lots of fast food and restaurant choices within walking distance. Had to pay $10 daily for parking. Hotel room was older. The pull out bed was broken. We didn't know until bedtime. Pool and Beach towels had to be signed out at Tower II. We stayed in Tower I and the pool was at Tower I. Towers are not connected. Couldn't leave towels in room, had to return back at Tower I. The full kitchen was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaito
Laie, Oahu
Jul 19, 2009

Full Kitchen a Plus!

Hotel was located 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. Location was near zoo and aquarium. Lots of fast food and restaurant choices within walking distance. Had to pay $10 daily for parking. Hotel room was older. The pull out bed was broken. We didn't know until bedtime. Pool and Beach towels had to be signed out at Tower II. We stayed in Tower I and the pool was at Tower I. Towers are not connected. Couldn't leave towels in room, had to return back at Tower I. The full kitchen was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Apr 9, 2010

1st Hawaii Trip

Pros: - Very nice view - quiet and private - courteous staff - convient store and activity desk in hotel was nice and helpful Cons: - Bed too small for delux room - Old-worn furniture, etc - maids kept turning off room AC untill we requested they stop - sauna-pool area needs to open earlier or close later to be able to enjoy them after or before activities - hotel should provide wheel chairs for handicapped travelers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure and take GPS and handicap tag if you rent a car - streets rather confusing

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom from Seattle
Seatt;e
Apr 7, 2011

Aston at Waikiki Banyan

The sofabed was not comfortable and the housekeeping staff fixed it by putting a mattress pad on it. It helped. The twin beds were not soft enough. The staff was very helpful. The bathroom was very tiny and only had one sink. There were rust in the bathtub. This hotel definitely needs some update. The location is excellent, very close to the beach. The hotel is very quiet. If you are looking for value, you got it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top