$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
98 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Hotel Map

21.2747 -157.8213
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
One block from world-famous Waikiki Beach, three blocks from Honolulu Zoo and near Waikiki Aquarium. Also close to shopping and dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jun 8, 2010

Christopher Herring - LCS Senior Trip

We used five rooms for our annual high school senior trip. We were pleased with our rooms, as we were out touring, shopping, swimming, etc. every day and most nights. We love the big rooms with ample space for four people per room with all of their things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Waikiki Banyan was close to everything we desired to see and do. I recommend this hotel for all ages and families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Families vacation planner
Texas
Jun 20, 2010

Hotel was average

They were very nice about the accommendations that I had requested for the two families that went together. They were not informative about the restaurants. I am not sure about this motto - "kids eat free". I was only aware of a coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you get a chance to see the Polynesian Cultural Center, go for the Ambssador Package. It is a little pricey but it is all for a good cause. It is all tied in with the university there and they give out many scholarships to students based on the proceeds from the center. The Ambassador Package entitles you to a tour guide that are all very polite and thankful. Most of the employees are students from all over the world who are on the scholarships. Ours was [...],from New Zealand and he was gracious and very informative. The shows were amazing also. You were treated first class at the Luau.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaito
Laie, Oahu
Jul 19, 2009

Full Kitchen a Plus!

Hotel was located 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. Location was near zoo and aquarium. Lots of fast food and restaurant choices within walking distance. Had to pay $10 daily for parking. Hotel room was older. The pull out bed was broken. We didn't know until bedtime. Pool and Beach towels had to be signed out at Tower II. We stayed in Tower I and the pool was at Tower I. Towers are not connected. Couldn't leave towels in room, had to return back at Tower I. The full kitchen was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sad to be leave paradise
Chicago, IL
Dec 12, 2011

Winter getaway

There's nothing really special to say about this hotel. It wasn't bad, but nothing spectacular either. The rooms are a nice size especially since we stayed a full week, with a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. Very outdated! Not that it really matters since you're in Hawaii and not much room is spent in the hotel anyways. Location is not bad, a couple blocks from the beach but also down the street from where many homeless people like to camp out. There's a pool, hot tub, eating area with many grills that you can use for $2, a little restaurant type thing on the pool deck, a party room near the elevators on the pool deck. The staff was friendly and there when we needed them. The lobby of the hotel is very nice, kind of tricks you into what the rooms will be like though. The pictures on the website of the rooms are identical to what you get, so at least there's no surprise. There's a cafe near the lobby with computers you can use and a litle convinience shop next to it. The only thing missing was a continental breakfast, really would have liked to have that instead of having to go out for breakfast everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Our biggest issue was trying to find where to eat each night that wasn't going to completely crash the bank since we had 6 nights to think about. Look into the restaurants at the hotels and the little hole in the wall places, they are usually the best and a lot of them are hidden. DON'T GO TO THE RED LION!!! Most disgusting place I've ever seen. Went into the bathroom and almost walked out of the place right then and there, thank God we didn't get food, only drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Truell
Aston Wikiki Banyan
Sep 1, 2012

Wedding

Our experience at the Aston Wikiki Banyan was awesome the hotel was good a little out dated. We got married there and bought both of our kids. The room was good. The only thing we did not like was the master bedroom just had sliding doors not a actual door and the bathroom was in the bedroom awkward. Overrral we had a blast and the wedding was beautiful. The staff was friendly and the room was kept clean. Would stay there again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plate Lunch Lover
Spring Hill, Florida
Jul 13, 2012

Perfect hotel for my family

Hotel one block from Waikiki Beach. We chose the mountain view which was spectacular with a constant mauka breeze. Room was perfect for a family of five which includes a full kitchen. Rooms were dated but very, very clean. Housekeeping staff were fantastic. Parking cost twelve dollars a day and a ten dollar a day amenity fee included internet connection, morning newspaper, coffee, movie rental, pool etc. The only negative my kids would say would be that there was no Wifi in the room. Internet connection is by using ethernet cable which is supplied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

GO EARLY to nature attractions. The day gets started early in Hawaii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCKHD
Florida, USA
Oct 25, 2012

All Good

Nice Location - Nice rooms :):):):):):):):):):):):):)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
Sep 25, 2010

enjoyable

short walk to the beach and food and entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Culver City
Sep 1, 2008

Family friendly hotel

The Waikiki Banyan is in an excellent location; near the zoo, Kapiolani park and steps away from the beach. We love staying here because it is easy to access and somewhat away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. The only drawback is that I haven't found a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The busy Kalakaua Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manila, Philippines
Jul 25, 2010

Simple and Enjoyable

This is my 2nd stay here. I plan on staying there again next year because it fits our needs perfectly. This condo-hotel is great for long stays and the parking is the most affordable in Waikiki. The location is great since you can walk to everything. Don't expect 5 star here though, otherwise you will be disappointed. If it's your first time in Hawaii go with a regular hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Our experience at the waterpark was not worth the time and money. The lines were long for everything and it's so expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top