$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 9, 2010

1st Hawaii Trip

Pros: - Very nice view - quiet and private - courteous staff - convient store and activity desk in hotel was nice and helpful Cons: - Bed too small for delux room - Old-worn furniture, etc - maids kept turning off room AC untill we requested they stop - sauna-pool area needs to open earlier or close later to be able to enjoy them after or before activities - hotel should provide wheel chairs for handicapped travelers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure and take GPS and handicap tag if you rent a car - streets rather confusing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Dec 14, 2009

Good for the price

Everything is every old in this condo. However the location is great and we got a free upgrade to a montain view room which is good. Considering its price, it is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaito
Business
Laie, Oahu
Jul 19, 2009

Full Kitchen a Plus!

Hotel was located 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. Location was near zoo and aquarium. Lots of fast food and restaurant choices within walking distance. Had to pay $10 daily for parking. Hotel room was older. The pull out bed was broken. We didn't know until bedtime. Pool and Beach towels had to be signed out at Tower II. We stayed in Tower I and the pool was at Tower I. Towers are not connected. Couldn't leave towels in room, had to return back at Tower I. The full kitchen was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tucson, az
Nov 27, 2009

very reasonable

lucky with ocean view. great location for the price. all staff ready with ideas and helpful suggestions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to Waikiki, parks, shopping, dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
B.C. CANADA
Jan 19, 2010

good BUT not bad

ROOMS NEED TO BE UPDATED

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

DUKES CHEESECAKE FACTORY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KVTP
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 26, 2009

Waikiki Banyan

Great location and deal. Staff was super friendly. Room was very spacious and provided everything we needed for a long stay. Not a Vegas quality pool but sufficient to workout in. They will actually not enter your room if you put up the do not disturb sign. The best is the free internet service. Freeeeeeeeeee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not go to Shorebird, don't bother with Chinatown, it was a bust. Go to Kailua Beach, Diamond Head, North Shore, Macky's Shrimp Truck, Sansei Sushi, Tenkaippin, Smorgy's. Bring insect repellent to go to Hanauma Bay and Waimea Falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Families vacation planner
Business
Texas
Jun 20, 2010

Hotel was average

They were very nice about the accommendations that I had requested for the two families that went together. They were not informative about the restaurants. I am not sure about this motto - "kids eat free". I was only aware of a coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you get a chance to see the Polynesian Cultural Center, go for the Ambssador Package. It is a little pricey but it is all for a good cause. It is all tied in with the university there and they give out many scholarships to students based on the proceeds from the center. The Ambassador Package entitles you to a tour guide that are all very polite and thankful. Most of the employees are students from all over the world who are on the scholarships. Ours was [...],from New Zealand and he was gracious and very informative. The shows were amazing also. You were treated first class at the Luau.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheap Solo Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 27, 2010

More than you expect from a three star

I usaully travel alone, because i get more things done i want to do. You can and will have a good time by yourself, but i recommened taking a significant other to share the experience with, everone else in waikiki is. This hotel was by far the most comfortable i've been at. tennis court and basketball court; but it also had everything a premium one bedroom apartment would have, large living room, flat screen tv, dishwasher, stove/oven, microwave, large refrigerator, etc. I would rather live there than my own apartment. As for the location, talk about "in the middle of it all", the beach is a three minute walk, with so many store on the main street the only difficult task is to decide where to waste your money. I paid $75 for a 2 hour surf lesson with HN surf, recommended by the hotel; it was great(free t-shirt with coupon), the better you get the more your hooked. Entertainment was abundant, concerts festivals, parties, and music seem to go on every fri, sat, and sun. The prices were more than reasonable for what you get. Great service, Great room, Great location. If you check out early and flight doesnt leave til late, the hotel can put your luggage in storage til you are ready. Bring lot of money, so you can do lots of stuff, and Have FUN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a Food Pantry Grocery store, they have way more food than the common ABC convenient store. Making your own prepared snacks and meals will save you from dining out all the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OldGrayMare
Business
Danville, VA (formerly Waikiki)
Dec 27, 2010

Shabby but good location

The Banyan is in a great location, esp if you're a first timer. We used to live across the street, so know the area. Garage parking is convenient and at $10/day or $60/wk is a bargain for the area. Hint: Parking takes cash only, no credit cards. Our first room was really shabby, sofa ripped, stained, and VERY uncomfortable to sit or lay on. We complained and they moved us right away, but the furniture there was just as hard and uncomfortable. Beds were fine. There is only one AC in living room, so we bought a fan at WalMart to circulate air in the sleeping area. The housekeeping staff was very nice and responsible (hint: tip at the beginning of your stay, always). Nothing very fancy here....but as I said, the location is tops. Smack in the middle of Waikiki - block to beach and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

As you are coming from the airport, take the King Street exit off the H-1 and stop at either the Safeway or the Foodland on Kapahulu on your way to the hotel. That way, you will have fresh coffee, milk, whatever first thing the next morning. The units at Banyan have basic kitchen setup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Unc
Business
Fernie
May 5, 2011

Decent Hotel

The room was very spacious, but could use a little updating such as new carpets and a flat screen tv, a mirror (in addition to the one in the bathroom) would be nice as well along with some wall paintings; it gets a little dull staring at white walls although the view of Diamond Head from the balcony helps make up for this. Having a full kitchen was definitely a plus as eating meals at the restaurants in Waikiki, although enjoyable, will put a dent in the pocketbook on an extended stay. The coin operated barbecues on the 6th floor court is a great way to enjoy burgers while enjoying the breezy Hawaiian evening. The two towers face opposite directions so if a view is important you need decide which tower to stay in. I stayed in tower 1 and had a lovely view to the east of Diamond Head. There are 4 spacious elevators per tower that arrive quickly and get you to your floor very efficiently. The lobby is very charming with places to sit both inside and just outside. As you await the arrival of your taxi or shuttle be sure to check out the fish pond and waterfall or some of the many great historical photos that adorn the walls. A minor but somewhat important complaint was the speed of the internet. I found it to be a bit slow although I can't rule out that my computer may have been acting up as well. Apparently in June 2011 the internet will no longer be free with the room. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Waikiki Banyan and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top