$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dmw35
Business
Reno, NV
May 28, 2013

Hidden Charges.

I was suprised to realize I was not told in advance that the hotel charged for auto parking. And that the Hotel was under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BruceMa
Business
Oregon
Jul 27, 2013

Just Okay

My family stayed the week of July 17-24. I had read on previous reviews that the rooms were outdated and worn out. I felt that having the benefit of the kitchen would be worth the outdated room. I will say I was a bit surprised by how worn out the room was. The carpet was disgusting and felt grimy. There were some brown stains in the corner that were just gross. The room was beyond worn out- it just felt plain dirty. The staff was pleasant, the amenities were nice, the kitchen was well supplied, but the elevator often took 15-20mins :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chandler, AZ
Oct 9, 2009

Aston Waikiki Banyan Review

It was nice having a tennis court. The location was close to a lot of things. The room needed an update. The carpet was very old and uninviting. Having the kitchen was a nice advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great surfing for all skill levels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brychael
Business
Lahaina, Maui
Oct 14, 2009

ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan

I explored places near the hotel. I couldn't go far because it was raining. Everything at this hotel was great! EXCEPT for 1 thing...the whole 3 days I'll been there, I've been getting bitten by something on the bed, so Im thinking it's bed bugs! My skin is extremely sensitive and I had an allergic reaction to the bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oceanarium Restaurant inside the Pacific Beach Hotel was a beautiful experience! A little crowded and pricey but it's worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Disappointed.

Having stayed at places that had been given Orbitz three star ratings and higher, combined with the high customer ratings this hotel received, my family and I had fairly high expectations for the Waikiki Banyan. Sadly, we were disappointed. The website virtual tours suggested new, clean and contemporary decor, which is one of the reasons why we selected the Waikiki Banyan. Unfortunately, the room we got was worn, musty, and outdated (circa 1980's). The sofabed my daughter was supposed to use was so old and worn out that you sank and literally felt every spring in the mattress pad. Even as a sofa, the seat cushions were so flat and compressed, that the back of your legs rested against the frame. I actually used the back cushions as secondary seat cushions to make the sofa more comfortable to sit on. The carpet was worn worn out and stained. The room was musty and had the faint smell of stale cigarette smoke in various locations, including the bathroom sink (there were old cigarette burns on the edge of the sink) and slide door area to the balcony (no surprise there as most smokers would probably smoke out in the balcony). The beds had no headboards and were so close to the dresser on one side and to the closet on the other, that you had to stand to the side of the dresser to open the drawers and had to climb over the bed to use the closet. The curtains/drapes didn't completely close and even had some little holes in them. Consequently, in the mornings as the sun rose, you had the sun creeping through the sections that didn't close all of the way and little pin holes of light shining like stars throughout the room. Having a kitchen was nice but we didn't always have what was supposed to be standard in the room. It took them a few days (even after a couple of calls to guest services) for housekeeping to give us a spatula, dish soap, and a cleaning/scrubbing pad. They also had a habit of collecting the used kitchen dish drying towels but not replacing them. The hotel did give us a cot to take the place of the sofabed and even tried to switch rooms for us. But the only other room they said was available was a downgrade from what we had. We took a look at it anyway but it was in the same worn and musty condition as our room, so we declined it. The hotel location and the size of the rooms are actually quite nice. The staff did what it could for us but admitted that only a few of their rooms had been renovated. Apparently, as condos, these rooms are actually independently owned and the hotel simply rents the rooms out for them. So the hotel staff seemed to suggest that the owners of the rooms, not the hotel, were responsible for the renovating and updating of the rooms. Interesting situation if true. Overall, the Waikiki Banyan is not a bad place to stay, but we believe that this facility is more deserving of a two star Orbitz rating. If all of the rooms were renovated and updated, and the furniture replaced, the Waikiki Banyan would be more deserving of the current three star rating. Had the rating been two stars, our expectations would have been different and we would have looked at other locations that were more in line with what we preferred in a hotel. Despite the lengthy criticisms, as long as the actual condition of the rooms is disclosed and appropriate expectations are made, we would still tell others to consider staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
May 5, 2007

unexpected quality rooms

The appearance of the hotel is great, but when you walk into the room is completely different. My wife and I were celebrating our 25th aniversary and we let them know, but they gave us two twin beds, the rooms were not clean nor ready yet to be occupied, the sinc was clogged, the carpet was dirty. I was trying to get another room but they told me that I had to wait untill the next day after some people left. I tried to get another hotel but we didn't have too much time left and were very tired from traveling all day, so we put together the twin beds, kept the room and tried to forget about it and enjoy the rest of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pacific restaurant is great and at short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the Family
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 4, 2009

Good family place

We had no complaints. Good place for families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sad to be leave paradise
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 12, 2011

Winter getaway

There's nothing really special to say about this hotel. It wasn't bad, but nothing spectacular either. The rooms are a nice size especially since we stayed a full week, with a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. Very outdated! Not that it really matters since you're in Hawaii and not much room is spent in the hotel anyways. Location is not bad, a couple blocks from the beach but also down the street from where many homeless people like to camp out. There's a pool, hot tub, eating area with many grills that you can use for $2, a little restaurant type thing on the pool deck, a party room near the elevators on the pool deck. The staff was friendly and there when we needed them. The lobby of the hotel is very nice, kind of tricks you into what the rooms will be like though. The pictures on the website of the rooms are identical to what you get, so at least there's no surprise. There's a cafe near the lobby with computers you can use and a litle convinience shop next to it. The only thing missing was a continental breakfast, really would have liked to have that instead of having to go out for breakfast everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Our biggest issue was trying to find where to eat each night that wasn't going to completely crash the bank since we had 6 nights to think about. Look into the restaurants at the hotels and the little hole in the wall places, they are usually the best and a lot of them are hidden. DON'T GO TO THE RED LION!!! Most disgusting place I've ever seen. Went into the bathroom and almost walked out of the place right then and there, thank God we didn't get food, only drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
numbr1 grandma
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jun 25, 2012

Nice family vacation

Close to wakiki beach which is a nice spot for small kids. Close to all restaurants and shopping. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperDad 8
Business
Turlock,Ca
Jun 8, 2013

Family Vacation for 4

Great,place to save a few bucks and still be right in the heart of the action.They are updating these condos;if you get an updated one like we did you are a winner!Can't speak negatively about the un updated because we did not stay in one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top