Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Hotel Map

21.2747 -157.8213
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
One block from world-famous Waikiki Beach, three blocks from Honolulu Zoo and near Waikiki Aquarium. Also close to shopping and dining.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New bride
Business
Santa Clarita California
Apr 7, 2011

The Disappointment of the Waikiki Banyan

We arrived in the later part of the evening; We misplaced the safe key and paid for the replacement key; found the key on the way home, called the hotel for the return of the key and get refund on 35.00 replacement fee denied. A pack of cigarettes stolen first morning out of the room. Nickle and dime you too death.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Jul 20, 2011

will never stay there anymore!

Do not attempt to open the upper cabinet doors if you are looking for kitchen accessories. They are full of dust and debris. The internet was disconnected almost at all times. Beside that I had to hold the wire with one hand and type with only one hand when it was working. The DVD player takes about 30 to 45 minutes until it starts to work. The water pressure was horrible and disappointing. Room furniture is at least 20-30 years old. When I checked in, I was told that there is no charge for using internet, DVD player and in-room-safe. Even though I asked the staff about it, she told me there are all included in my package and the only thing I have to pay is parking fee and that's because it's operating by another company. When I checked out they charged me $10 plus tax for each night. When I explained to hotel manager, he didn't take the ownership for his mistake, whether it was miscommunication between hotel staff or lack of training, he should have taken the responsibility instead of telling me how sorry he was for his staff's mistake! I paid the money wondering how they can stay in business with such a poor customer service and management skill!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the property loctaed in the heart of wikiki area close to all shopping and restaurants. That's the only good thing to say about this hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Camper2
Business
Redondo Beach
May 16, 2013

Outdated and Smelly

The Banyan seems to be going downhill fast. We stayed there about 6 years ago and it was nice and clean. This time around, the hotel and the rooms are showing wear and tear. Our rooms smelled horrible when we walked in the first day. We had to buy room spray. It smelled like old wet wood and mold. The refrigerator was crooked, like the floors were at an incline. The bed was uncomfortable, the sheets were rough. The bathrooms were so small you could barely walk in there. On our last day, the water was shut off from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Talk about inconvenience. For the price we paid for the rooms, it was not worth it at all and will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Newly wedded 1987
Business
San Diego
Sep 11, 2013

Not so convenient

First time staying in Waikiki and never staying here again. Beds were stiff as boards. Rooms were slightly more than outdated. Half the DVD rentals for the kids didn't work. The tv was small and the color was disfigured. At first our room Wasn't going to have the balcony available then waited 2 hours for the next room to be ready. The room was so small and uncomfortable that I checked into the hotel next door at the marriot for a night. Wish I would've done better research before spending my money here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hank Roach
Business
Kennewick, WA
Sep 27, 2013

Big Disappointment at the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

We were extremely disappointed when we arrived we were placed in a room where the deck outside our room was stacked with construction material and was off limits to us. Also out of all of the rooms in the two towers our room had outside construction going on. Most of time we were there we had to keep our curtains shut since there we're workman right outside our deck all day long banging away and making as much noise as possible. The Bayan is a very large condominium complex. I'm sure it wasn't necessary to place us in this substandard room. I strongly recommend you to look elsewhere if you are going to Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend the International Market Place as a good place to shop for souvenirs and there is a pretty good Chinese buffet there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fix this place
Business
Washington
Oct 16, 2013

Rooms need to be updated

Rooms need to be remodeled. Not satisfied with the hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ka Mee
Business
fond du lac, wi
Jul 13, 2014

worst getaway ever

Customer services were really poor. When we made the reservation, we had no knowledge that we would have to pay for the amenities fees even though we will not be using. There were a misleading information from the hotel. I asked for a supervisor or manager and the reception told me that there was no managers on board at the moment due to the holiday. So basically their hotel was operating by their receptionist only. The receptionist and I argued for 3 hours and we were not going anyways. I flew 10 hours and argued for 3 hours and it was dark and my parties and I were hungry. We have no strengths to fight anymore so we decided to go with the flow and asked for a discount. The receptionist gave us two nights of amenities off. He said we would get fresh hot coffees and teas as an in room service. We do not get anything in room services at all.. they only bring us the stuff to made it ourselves. The receptionist also said that if we do not pay for the amenities now, we can't check in so we gave him our credit card and he did not charge us but only using our credit card as a hold. So when we checked out, a new receptionist said we still need to paid because we haven't paid yet. I got furious because the previous receptionist said we have to pay as we check in but it turned out he lied. This receptionist was deceiving his guests in order to get a hold of our credit card without telling us. Beside this crazy messes, we had a 10 dollar quaters roll along with some other quarters on the table. We forgot to putted the quarters in our purses when we got back to the hotel, all the loose quarters along with the roll of 10 dollar quarters were missing. We couldn't do our laundry so we have to go and get another roll of quarters. I called the front desk and told them about the situation, they just transfered me to housekeeping. The lady who picked up the phone didn't give me the maid name or her name. She just told me that she will have to call the maid but she know that the maid is innocent. We hung up and she called me back, told me that the maid didn't see anything nor took anything. So I hung up without arguing thinking a manager will contact me but nope! Do not ever stay at this hotel people. Theit services are poor, their staffs lies, no managers on board to assist when needed and do not leave any money around because they will steal it and they will not do anything about it! This is my first and laSt time with this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't use this hotel ever again

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
May 5, 2007

unexpected quality rooms

The appearance of the hotel is great, but when you walk into the room is completely different. My wife and I were celebrating our 25th aniversary and we let them know, but they gave us two twin beds, the rooms were not clean nor ready yet to be occupied, the sinc was clogged, the carpet was dirty. I was trying to get another room but they told me that I had to wait untill the next day after some people left. I tried to get another hotel but we didn't have too much time left and were very tired from traveling all day, so we put together the twin beds, kept the room and tried to forget about it and enjoy the rest of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pacific restaurant is great and at short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dmw35
Business
Reno, NV
May 28, 2013

Hidden Charges.

I was suprised to realize I was not told in advance that the hotel charged for auto parking. And that the Hotel was under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BruceMa
Business
Oregon
Jul 27, 2013

Just Okay

My family stayed the week of July 17-24. I had read on previous reviews that the rooms were outdated and worn out. I felt that having the benefit of the kitchen would be worth the outdated room. I will say I was a bit surprised by how worn out the room was. The carpet was disgusting and felt grimy. There were some brown stains in the corner that were just gross. The room was beyond worn out- it just felt plain dirty. The staff was pleasant, the amenities were nice, the kitchen was well supplied, but the elevator often took 15-20mins :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top