$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
86 reviews
family trip

good location.good bbq area.good location.good bbq area.good location.good bbq area.good... See full review

  • SEOUNG YONG K.
  • Feb 9, 2015
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Nearby attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doretta
Business
Spanaway,wa
Sep 20, 2012

family vacation

Had a wonderful time in Hawaii. Hotel was close to everthing within walking distance. I f we had a issue they resolved it right away. Our airline tickets and hotel reservations were all correct and no problems. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was short walk

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dadydoughboy
Business
Quad Cities, Illinois/Iowa border
Dec 21, 2009

One of my best surprises on this trip!

This was a one day add-on for us. Could not believe what we were getting for our money! Beautiful! Lovely lobby! Attentive, informative reservationist! Weren't fumbling for a reserved room! Already assigned. great very usable rooms. Though just the wife and I, would be great for kids with nearly full kitchen amenities! Thank you! When we return to this island, This will be my call!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory! Incredible!

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 25, 2010

Great experience!

Aston is a great place for family trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2007

great trip to the banyan

The Waikiki banyan was a pleasant suprise. After reading a few negative comments about the proprty and location, we were pleasently suprised. The location isnt that far from the beach like some people complained about, the room was always clean and was suprisingly large (Superior city view). Overall, we were very happy witht he hotel and will definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
May 4, 2007

Spring Getaway Hotspot

The Waikiki Banyon was perfect for families. There was a full kitchen and lots of sleeping area. The bedroom could be closed off at night when the kids need to go to bed early. Close to everything Waikiki had to offer; beach, zoo, shopping, eating were all within a block or two. And whatever wasn't close they had a travel advisor onsite at reception to help arrange day trips and transportation. I'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The international market was fun to shop at (and close by), but I was disappointed that we missed the flea market/swap meet that is only on Wed,Sat,Sun.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland Washington
Mar 1, 2011

The perfect location in Paradise

We travel the world often. The Wikkiki Banyan was outstanding. We requested a ocean view and got a view of the ocean and Diamond Head at the same time. It was fantastic, I would recommend it to everyone for a wonderful vacation and resort in paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 20, 2007

Friendly, comfortable, lots of supervised kids at pool, great place!

We walked everywhere! Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happy 23yr old bride ^__^
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jun 11, 2009

honest review!! best wedding/honeymoon!

came here to get married!! most friendly staff ever! After traveling for over 12 hours, it was nice to be greeted by an amazing staff... they put smiles on our faces and showed amazing aloha ^___^. the rooms were fantastic, clean, and meet everyone of our needs! the location was the best aswell! just a block from Waikiki and a couple from international market. we have been to waikiki many times before, but this was our first time at this hotel. all I can say is that I read reviews about this hotel before coming and I was a little afraid because of some negative reviews. all that went out the window! this place was amazing and I didn't experence anything negative. the staff made this hotel the best! thank you cliff and clarance!! and thank you Aston Waikiki banyan for beautiful memories and unbelivable service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

galaxy,! very inexpencive breakfast, but great quality!! ALSO, must try Puka dog next door and fumi's shrimp truck on north shore!! best shrimp on the island!

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alaska
May 8, 2009

Great Price, Great Stay!

Great hotel, pictures do not do it justice. Very spacious. Very clean; Hawaii is notorious for cockroaches, and this hotel had none! Friendly staff, very helpful. Two cons: Depth of pool was 6 ft. Not very large, but it was very clean. Most of the pool was only 4 ft. deep, which is good for kids. The wireless internet is not free(I think they mentioned that in the details) you buy anything from a coffee shop in the hotel, and you get it free all day(as long as you have a laptop), but to have it at night, you have to pay 10 dollars a day, not too bad, but when you are staying long term, it is a bit of an inconvenience. Also, they have few routers, and work on a first come, first serve basis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The "Snack Shack" is not so much of a snack shack. They have full dinners, for example: Kahlua pig, rice, and a salad. hot dogs, chili dogs, rice and chili, rice, egg and spam/sausage. And lots of other dishes that I cannot remember off the top of my head. *Walk around also, it is beautiful, and there are plenty of dining options if you don't want the snack shack, or coffee place(I think it was called Banyan Breeze Coffee, or Cafe, i can't remember)

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Arrowhead, CA
May 10, 2010

Waikiki Banyan-Highlight of my trip

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I had booked a room with an ocean view but the room we were given had a spectacular ocean view. The concierge had useful information and we took advantage of some of her advice. Sam's restaurant at the pool had great food. The green curry chicken was one of the best I ever had. Although we just had a one night stay at the hotel, it definitely made our trip worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Magic of Polynesia show at the Ohana Beachcomber is spectacular magic, hula, and fire dancing show and at $52 is a better deal than the luaus. The concierge did not recommend the meal so we had seating in the back. We gave a tip to the waiter for seating up front but you have a pretty good view from the back tables also.

Back to menu Return to top