$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
163 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2747 -157.8213
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
One block from world-famous Waikiki Beach, three blocks from Honolulu Zoo and near Waikiki Aquarium. Also close to shopping and dining.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, NC
Jul 24, 2007

convenient locale

The ResortQuest at Waikiki Banyon had very reasonable rates. Conveniently located; within walking distance to Zoo, Shopping, park, and beach! High cost of living in area makes it difficult for average income family to spend on expensive hotels...we found that the kitchenette was very accomodating for our family of 4. We were able to have more spending monies to enjoy many numerous events while in Waikiki. Hotel staff were very helpfull and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay there again! Only one adverse thing to say about our stay was that the electric grills available for use (coin operated), well, many were out of order, and it seemed that they didn't give you the alloted time that was listed per charge. It was only a short drive to Diamond Head, Haunauma Bay, and Koko Head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Diamond Head (inactive crater to climb), Koko Head (hike up steep mountain), Manoa Falls (hike beautiful scenery), Wahiawa Botanical garden and Haunauma Bay (snorkling and swimming). All of which only costed for parking or small entry fee. All very very beautiful, scenic and well worth the visit!

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ein
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 20, 2007

Great stay for the price

The hotel was located close to the beach as well as all the shopping area. I love the fact that there was a kitchen that was fully equipped wtih pans, utensils, wine glasses and etc. It was definitely a bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodland Washington
Mar 1, 2011

The perfect location in Paradise

We travel the world often. The Wikkiki Banyan was outstanding. We requested a ocean view and got a view of the ocean and Diamond Head at the same time. It was fantastic, I would recommend it to everyone for a wonderful vacation and resort in paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim Former Hawaii Resident
Plano, TX
Jun 20, 2009

First-class service for a bargain price

We transferred to the Banyan for the remaining 4 days of our 10-day Waikiki stay and wished we had stayed here first instead of the Aston Resortquest Waikiki Beach. The $95/day we paid was an incredible bargain for what we got. I even had relatives who told me they paid more when they stayed there previously or at another hotel. The room was spacious with a fully stocked kitchen, living room and bedroom. Travelling with three teenagers, my husband and I were thankful for the 2 full beds and sofa bed that accommodated everyone, even local friends who stayed overnight. The staff was incredibly warm and friendly, from the desk clerks to the maids, maintenant guys, and parking attendants -- everyone made us feel welcomed. The only downside was the small pool that only gets sun during the morning because one of the 2 towers blocks the afternoon so you can only sunbathe during the a.m. Then again, you can walk to the nearby Waikiki Beach to tan. The convenient Sam's Snack Bar near the pool was a great bargain that offered large portions. The guy who ran the snack bar was also incredibly nice & funny. The pool was open until 9 pm; however, guests can stay around the pool area for quiet time after hours (much better than Resortquest which closes the pool sharply at 7 pm and won't allow guests to sit around afterwards). The pool area had an amazing recreation area with BBQs and tennis and basketball courts for rent. I also love the fact there were coin-operated washers and dryers on every floor after the 7th floor so we didn't have to find off-site laundromats. Parking was a reasonable $10/day, so much cheaper than everywhere else in Waikiki! The location was in a quiet area and within walking distance of Waikiki Beach, the zoo, aquarium, Kapiolani Park, and other great attractions. We also liked the location since it was near Kapahulu Ave., which allowed us to slip in and out of Waikiki and avoid the super busy side near Ala Moana and the marina areas. Kapahulu Ave. was also the area with great local restaurants with delicious food at affordable prices (Ono's Hawaiian Food, Zippy's, Rainbow Drive-In, Hee-Hing Chinese Restaurant, and Leonard's Malasadas.) There's also a 7-11 on Kapahulu with cheaper prices than the Waikiki ABC stores. The hotel convenient store and coffee shop downstairs were a plus too. In the past we've stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, The Prince Hotel, the Moana Hotel, and Resortquest Waikiki Beach, and so far this was the best Waikiki hotel for the bargain, service, and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money and avoid dining in Waikiki and visit the restaurants and shops on Kapahulu Ave.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calgary, AB
May 4, 2007

Spring Getaway Hotspot

The Waikiki Banyon was perfect for families. There was a full kitchen and lots of sleeping area. The bedroom could be closed off at night when the kids need to go to bed early. Close to everything Waikiki had to offer; beach, zoo, shopping, eating were all within a block or two. And whatever wasn't close they had a travel advisor onsite at reception to help arrange day trips and transportation. I'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The international market was fun to shop at (and close by), but I was disappointed that we missed the flea market/swap meet that is only on Wed,Sat,Sun.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dadydoughboy
Quad Cities, Illinois/Iowa border
Dec 21, 2009

One of my best surprises on this trip!

This was a one day add-on for us. Could not believe what we were getting for our money! Beautiful! Lovely lobby! Attentive, informative reservationist! Weren't fumbling for a reserved room! Already assigned. great very usable rooms. Though just the wife and I, would be great for kids with nearly full kitchen amenities! Thank you! When we return to this island, This will be my call!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory! Incredible!

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Arrowhead, CA
May 10, 2010

Waikiki Banyan-Highlight of my trip

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I had booked a room with an ocean view but the room we were given had a spectacular ocean view. The concierge had useful information and we took advantage of some of her advice. Sam's restaurant at the pool had great food. The green curry chicken was one of the best I ever had. Although we just had a one night stay at the hotel, it definitely made our trip worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Magic of Polynesia show at the Ohana Beachcomber is spectacular magic, hula, and fire dancing show and at $52 is a better deal than the luaus. The concierge did not recommend the meal so we had seating in the back. We gave a tip to the waiter for seating up front but you have a pretty good view from the back tables also.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shamala-busy mon
Derwood, MD
Apr 23, 2009

Trip to Oahu

The hotel was really located 2 minutes from the beach and very close to the excellent local bus stops. The rooms were clean and all the kitchen was well equipped with appliances, dishes, and silver ware. This was a vacation to relax and tour as well. The hotel concierge was very helpful. The tour guide bok in the room with coupons was very useful too. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The aquarium and zoo are at walking distance. In addition, USS Arizona Memorial and Diamond Head Crater are two sites that can be visited by riding local bus and walking short distance.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Nov 26, 2007

Condo Units

This is a nice condo type facility, however the charge for the use of the BBQ areas that were listed as a extra item and the pool side restaurant that touted food at 7 A.M.was totally unreliable. I lived two blocks up from this facility 25 years ago and the unit has maintained appearances and the interior is great; most of the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perry's Smorgay, it is a great buffett and priced reasonable 3 blocks to the west of this site, there are also 2 othe local type eateries nearby.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Jan 22, 2011

fantastic family getaway

Nice location. Full kitchen and separate bedroom and living room make the vacation comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top