$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
98 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Hotel Map

21.2747 -157.8213
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
One block from world-famous Waikiki Beach, three blocks from Honolulu Zoo and near Waikiki Aquarium. Also close to shopping and dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, NC
Jul 24, 2007

convenient locale

The ResortQuest at Waikiki Banyon had very reasonable rates. Conveniently located; within walking distance to Zoo, Shopping, park, and beach! High cost of living in area makes it difficult for average income family to spend on expensive hotels...we found that the kitchenette was very accomodating for our family of 4. We were able to have more spending monies to enjoy many numerous events while in Waikiki. Hotel staff were very helpfull and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay there again! Only one adverse thing to say about our stay was that the electric grills available for use (coin operated), well, many were out of order, and it seemed that they didn't give you the alloted time that was listed per charge. It was only a short drive to Diamond Head, Haunauma Bay, and Koko Head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Diamond Head (inactive crater to climb), Koko Head (hike up steep mountain), Manoa Falls (hike beautiful scenery), Wahiawa Botanical garden and Haunauma Bay (snorkling and swimming). All of which only costed for parking or small entry fee. All very very beautiful, scenic and well worth the visit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ein
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 20, 2007

Great stay for the price

The hotel was located close to the beach as well as all the shopping area. I love the fact that there was a kitchen that was fully equipped wtih pans, utensils, wine glasses and etc. It was definitely a bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodland Washington
Mar 1, 2011

The perfect location in Paradise

We travel the world often. The Wikkiki Banyan was outstanding. We requested a ocean view and got a view of the ocean and Diamond Head at the same time. It was fantastic, I would recommend it to everyone for a wonderful vacation and resort in paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calgary, AB
May 4, 2007

Spring Getaway Hotspot

The Waikiki Banyon was perfect for families. There was a full kitchen and lots of sleeping area. The bedroom could be closed off at night when the kids need to go to bed early. Close to everything Waikiki had to offer; beach, zoo, shopping, eating were all within a block or two. And whatever wasn't close they had a travel advisor onsite at reception to help arrange day trips and transportation. I'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The international market was fun to shop at (and close by), but I was disappointed that we missed the flea market/swap meet that is only on Wed,Sat,Sun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Arrowhead, CA
May 10, 2010

Waikiki Banyan-Highlight of my trip

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I had booked a room with an ocean view but the room we were given had a spectacular ocean view. The concierge had useful information and we took advantage of some of her advice. Sam's restaurant at the pool had great food. The green curry chicken was one of the best I ever had. Although we just had a one night stay at the hotel, it definitely made our trip worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Magic of Polynesia show at the Ohana Beachcomber is spectacular magic, hula, and fire dancing show and at $52 is a better deal than the luaus. The concierge did not recommend the meal so we had seating in the back. We gave a tip to the waiter for seating up front but you have a pretty good view from the back tables also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Nov 26, 2007

Condo Units

This is a nice condo type facility, however the charge for the use of the BBQ areas that were listed as a extra item and the pool side restaurant that touted food at 7 A.M.was totally unreliable. I lived two blocks up from this facility 25 years ago and the unit has maintained appearances and the interior is great; most of the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perry's Smorgay, it is a great buffett and priced reasonable 3 blocks to the west of this site, there are also 2 othe local type eateries nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elk Grove, CA
May 26, 2009

Trip to Hawaii

The hotel was wonderful and we were very pleased! Having a kitchen available to us was great especially having two babies during our trip. The location was great and the room was clean!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
May 20, 2007

Friendly, comfortable, lots of supervised kids at pool, great place!

We walked everywhere! Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charmaygne
Salt Lake City, UT
May 18, 2007

Very Family Oriented

This hotel was AWESOME for our family! They had a full kitchen, large bed as well as a huge sofa that pulled out into a sofa bed. The elevator wasn't near as slow as I had expected and the staff was always very kind and helpful. There was a playground for children and a nice pool with two hot tubs. I can't think of one negative aspect! We were close to the beach and close to shopping. There were two dressers, a large closets and they actually had more hangers than the typical hotel! It was quiet and had a gorgeous view! They also had a kids ID card that allowed us discounts on all kinds of attractions. Oh! And I can't forget the laundry facilities! They had a laundry room on every floor, which is also a VERY family friendly amenity! All in all, the value was well above our expectations. I will definately stay there next time I go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Market Place was pretty close by. It has inexpensive souveniers and other items that came in handy while we were there (such as beach towels and cute bathing suit cover-ups, etc).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tustin
Oct 16, 2008

Great for the money

This is a great place to stay and it's close to dining, shopping, beach and golf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are in the heart of Waikiki and short walk everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search