$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
100 reviews
family trip

good location.good bbq area.good location.good bbq area.good location.good bbq area.good... See full review

  • SEOUNG YONG K.
  • Feb 9, 2015
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Top hotels

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 100
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boise racer
Business
boise idaho
Oct 17, 2014

bang for the buck

My wife and I recently stayed at the banyon. The room was decent basically a big hotel room. Nice big kitchen and dining breakfast bar. Staff was nice but not overly friendly. Not too much to the grounds the hotel was on. However the bed was comfortable and if you are looking for a cheap stay close to the beach this would be a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The waikiki trolley system saves to.e when you want to go.....ABC stores are everywhere and have supply and small souvenirs for cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElmerW
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Feb 16, 2014

February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small dishwasher. Pleasant surprise as some rooms are showing their age. Outside repairs being performed on external patios were very noisy and made pool area less than comfortable. Should be done by May 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaply
Business
santa monica
Oct 4, 2013

near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese restaurant in mariot Sunday and Monday at 5:30 pm half price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hank Roach
Business
Kennewick, WA
Sep 27, 2013

Big Disappointment at the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

We were extremely disappointed when we arrived we were placed in a room where the deck outside our room was stacked with construction material and was off limits to us. Also out of all of the rooms in the two towers our room had outside construction going on. Most of time we were there we had to keep our curtains shut since there we're workman right outside our deck all day long banging away and making as much noise as possible. The Bayan is a very large condominium complex. I'm sure it wasn't necessary to place us in this substandard room. I strongly recommend you to look elsewhere if you are going to Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend the International Market Place as a good place to shop for souvenirs and there is a pretty good Chinese buffet there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Newly wedded 1987
Business
San Diego
Sep 11, 2013

Not so convenient

First time staying in Waikiki and never staying here again. Beds were stiff as boards. Rooms were slightly more than outdated. Half the DVD rentals for the kids didn't work. The tv was small and the color was disfigured. At first our room Wasn't going to have the balcony available then waited 2 hours for the next room to be ready. The room was so small and uncomfortable that I checked into the hotel next door at the marriot for a night. Wish I would've done better research before spending my money here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie Super Granpa
Business
Omaha
Jan 26, 2013

Great place to stay

We had a great time during our 9 day stay. Service was great,on bus line ,also rented a car -great parking and only $12 per night. We really had a great stay. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks to beach,on bus line walking not far to shopping,zoo,aquarium,small farmer market tues, and thurs.behind hotel. This is great for fruit and veg. also some baked goods. Prices reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCKHD
Business
Florida, USA
Oct 25, 2012

All Good

Nice Location - Nice rooms :):):):):):):):):):):):):)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angeldog
Business
Southern USA
Dec 29, 2011

almost a BIG problem

Hotel did not have my reservation, made as a package deal through the internet travel provider. Luckily they still had space available. According to their records they got it straightened out through the provider and got their payment from that transaction. Had they not had any space the vacation could have been ruined before it ever started. Makes me a little wary of booking total hotel/car/airfare packages in the future with that provider (meaning you). Thank you, Bryan Stevens

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sad to be leave paradise
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 12, 2011

Winter getaway

There's nothing really special to say about this hotel. It wasn't bad, but nothing spectacular either. The rooms are a nice size especially since we stayed a full week, with a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. Very outdated! Not that it really matters since you're in Hawaii and not much room is spent in the hotel anyways. Location is not bad, a couple blocks from the beach but also down the street from where many homeless people like to camp out. There's a pool, hot tub, eating area with many grills that you can use for $2, a little restaurant type thing on the pool deck, a party room near the elevators on the pool deck. The staff was friendly and there when we needed them. The lobby of the hotel is very nice, kind of tricks you into what the rooms will be like though. The pictures on the website of the rooms are identical to what you get, so at least there's no surprise. There's a cafe near the lobby with computers you can use and a litle convinience shop next to it. The only thing missing was a continental breakfast, really would have liked to have that instead of having to go out for breakfast everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Our biggest issue was trying to find where to eat each night that wasn't going to completely crash the bank since we had 6 nights to think about. Look into the restaurants at the hotels and the little hole in the wall places, they are usually the best and a lot of them are hidden. DON'T GO TO THE RED LION!!! Most disgusting place I've ever seen. Went into the bathroom and almost walked out of the place right then and there, thank God we didn't get food, only drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LYZZ
Business
Palm Springs, CA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

LOVELY HAWAIIAN HOTEL-GREAT BED. POOL, CLEAN

FROM THE BEAUTIFUL ENTRY, THROUGH THE OLD HAWAII PICTURES, THROUGH ANY ONE OF THE FOUR EXCELLENT ELEVATORS, TO THE UNIT'S GREAT VIEW AND COMFORT, THE VISITOR WILL EXPERIENCE TRUE HAWAIIAN HOSPITALITY. THE BANYAN FEELS LIKE YOUR HOME IN HONOLULU. THIS WAS OUR SIXTH STAY HERE. LOCATION IS PERFECT, STAFF IS HELPFUL. TWO SPAS, HUGE SALTWATER POOL, GOOD SANDWICHES AT THE COFFEE SHOP ON THE GROUND FLOOR, ALL PLEASANT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

GO TO BUS TERMINAL (VIA BUS) AND BUY A BUS PASS IF YOU ARE STAYING THREE OR MORE DAYS HERE BUS SERVICE IS TOPS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top