$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocala, Florida
Oct 1, 2009

Fantastic Getaway

We had a wonderful time. Plenty of Sand, Surf and Sun. View of Diamond Head and the sun rise each morning wasd Great. Spent one whole day at hotel to enjoy the pool, spa and sun. It was great. walking distance to everything we could want. Nice Zoo near by too. Enjoyed to Aloah Parade. Wonderful time. the only thing that would have been better if I could have stayed two weeks instead of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lagahoo
Business
Houston
Sep 14, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was very clean, friendly staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the Family
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 4, 2009

Good family place

We had no complaints. Good place for families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the Family
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 4, 2009

Good family place

We had no complaints. Good place for families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Texas
Sep 2, 2009

Nice for the price

Central location, parking garage attached with reasonable rates. Easy to access and egress, parking entrance on the only 2-way street in Waikiki. Room on 34th floor with view of Diamond Head and the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get the "Go Oahu" card, you will easily recoup the price. We used if for the Polynesian Cultural Center (although we upgraded the Luau and Show), Grand Island Tour, Pearl Harbor, Makana lunch cruise, and Haunama Bay snorkeling trip.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KVTP
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 26, 2009

Waikiki Banyan

Great location and deal. Staff was super friendly. Room was very spacious and provided everything we needed for a long stay. Not a Vegas quality pool but sufficient to workout in. They will actually not enter your room if you put up the do not disturb sign. The best is the free internet service. Freeeeeeeeeee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not go to Shorebird, don't bother with Chinatown, it was a bust. Go to Kailua Beach, Diamond Head, North Shore, Macky's Shrimp Truck, Sansei Sushi, Tenkaippin, Smorgy's. Bring insect repellent to go to Hanauma Bay and Waimea Falls.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Disappointed.

Having stayed at places that had been given Orbitz three star ratings and higher, combined with the high customer ratings this hotel received, my family and I had fairly high expectations for the Waikiki Banyan. Sadly, we were disappointed. The website virtual tours suggested new, clean and contemporary decor, which is one of the reasons why we selected the Waikiki Banyan. Unfortunately, the room we got was worn, musty, and outdated (circa 1980's). The sofabed my daughter was supposed to use was so old and worn out that you sank and literally felt every spring in the mattress pad. Even as a sofa, the seat cushions were so flat and compressed, that the back of your legs rested against the frame. I actually used the back cushions as secondary seat cushions to make the sofa more comfortable to sit on. The carpet was worn worn out and stained. The room was musty and had the faint smell of stale cigarette smoke in various locations, including the bathroom sink (there were old cigarette burns on the edge of the sink) and slide door area to the balcony (no surprise there as most smokers would probably smoke out in the balcony). The beds had no headboards and were so close to the dresser on one side and to the closet on the other, that you had to stand to the side of the dresser to open the drawers and had to climb over the bed to use the closet. The curtains/drapes didn't completely close and even had some little holes in them. Consequently, in the mornings as the sun rose, you had the sun creeping through the sections that didn't close all of the way and little pin holes of light shining like stars throughout the room. Having a kitchen was nice but we didn't always have what was supposed to be standard in the room. It took them a few days (even after a couple of calls to guest services) for housekeeping to give us a spatula, dish soap, and a cleaning/scrubbing pad. They also had a habit of collecting the used kitchen dish drying towels but not replacing them. The hotel did give us a cot to take the place of the sofabed and even tried to switch rooms for us. But the only other room they said was available was a downgrade from what we had. We took a look at it anyway but it was in the same worn and musty condition as our room, so we declined it. The hotel location and the size of the rooms are actually quite nice. The staff did what it could for us but admitted that only a few of their rooms had been renovated. Apparently, as condos, these rooms are actually independently owned and the hotel simply rents the rooms out for them. So the hotel staff seemed to suggest that the owners of the rooms, not the hotel, were responsible for the renovating and updating of the rooms. Interesting situation if true. Overall, the Waikiki Banyan is not a bad place to stay, but we believe that this facility is more deserving of a two star Orbitz rating. If all of the rooms were renovated and updated, and the furniture replaced, the Waikiki Banyan would be more deserving of the current three star rating. Had the rating been two stars, our expectations would have been different and we would have looked at other locations that were more in line with what we preferred in a hotel. Despite the lengthy criticisms, as long as the actual condition of the rooms is disclosed and appropriate expectations are made, we would still tell others to consider staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buckhannon,WV
Aug 5, 2009

Stayed at the Sunset

When we arrived at the Banyan we were told they over booked so, they had gave our room away and had put us up at their sister hotel the sunset. So, I can't tell you anything about the Banyan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They have all kinds of shops in walking distance. They also have many types of dining in walking distance of both hotels.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaito
Business
Laie, Oahu
Jul 19, 2009

Full Kitchen a Plus!

Hotel was located 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. Location was near zoo and aquarium. Lots of fast food and restaurant choices within walking distance. Had to pay $10 daily for parking. Hotel room was older. The pull out bed was broken. We didn't know until bedtime. Pool and Beach towels had to be signed out at Tower II. We stayed in Tower I and the pool was at Tower I. Towers are not connected. Couldn't leave towels in room, had to return back at Tower I. The full kitchen was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim Former Hawaii Resident
Business
Plano, TX
Jun 20, 2009

First-class service for a bargain price

We transferred to the Banyan for the remaining 4 days of our 10-day Waikiki stay and wished we had stayed here first instead of the Aston Resortquest Waikiki Beach. The $95/day we paid was an incredible bargain for what we got. I even had relatives who told me they paid more when they stayed there previously or at another hotel. The room was spacious with a fully stocked kitchen, living room and bedroom. Travelling with three teenagers, my husband and I were thankful for the 2 full beds and sofa bed that accommodated everyone, even local friends who stayed overnight. The staff was incredibly warm and friendly, from the desk clerks to the maids, maintenant guys, and parking attendants -- everyone made us feel welcomed. The only downside was the small pool that only gets sun during the morning because one of the 2 towers blocks the afternoon so you can only sunbathe during the a.m. Then again, you can walk to the nearby Waikiki Beach to tan. The convenient Sam's Snack Bar near the pool was a great bargain that offered large portions. The guy who ran the snack bar was also incredibly nice & funny. The pool was open until 9 pm; however, guests can stay around the pool area for quiet time after hours (much better than Resortquest which closes the pool sharply at 7 pm and won't allow guests to sit around afterwards). The pool area had an amazing recreation area with BBQs and tennis and basketball courts for rent. I also love the fact there were coin-operated washers and dryers on every floor after the 7th floor so we didn't have to find off-site laundromats. Parking was a reasonable $10/day, so much cheaper than everywhere else in Waikiki! The location was in a quiet area and within walking distance of Waikiki Beach, the zoo, aquarium, Kapiolani Park, and other great attractions. We also liked the location since it was near Kapahulu Ave., which allowed us to slip in and out of Waikiki and avoid the super busy side near Ala Moana and the marina areas. Kapahulu Ave. was also the area with great local restaurants with delicious food at affordable prices (Ono's Hawaiian Food, Zippy's, Rainbow Drive-In, Hee-Hing Chinese Restaurant, and Leonard's Malasadas.) There's also a 7-11 on Kapahulu with cheaper prices than the Waikiki ABC stores. The hotel convenient store and coffee shop downstairs were a plus too. In the past we've stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, The Prince Hotel, the Moana Hotel, and Resortquest Waikiki Beach, and so far this was the best Waikiki hotel for the bargain, service, and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money and avoid dining in Waikiki and visit the restaurants and shops on Kapahulu Ave.

Back to menu Return to top