$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Disappointed.

Having stayed at places that had been given Orbitz three star ratings and higher, combined with the high customer ratings this hotel received, my family and I had fairly high expectations for the Waikiki Banyan. Sadly, we were disappointed. The website virtual tours suggested new, clean and contemporary decor, which is one of the reasons why we selected the Waikiki Banyan. Unfortunately, the room we got was worn, musty, and outdated (circa 1980's). The sofabed my daughter was supposed to use was so old and worn out that you sank and literally felt every spring in the mattress pad. Even as a sofa, the seat cushions were so flat and compressed, that the back of your legs rested against the frame. I actually used the back cushions as secondary seat cushions to make the sofa more comfortable to sit on. The carpet was worn worn out and stained. The room was musty and had the faint smell of stale cigarette smoke in various locations, including the bathroom sink (there were old cigarette burns on the edge of the sink) and slide door area to the balcony (no surprise there as most smokers would probably smoke out in the balcony). The beds had no headboards and were so close to the dresser on one side and to the closet on the other, that you had to stand to the side of the dresser to open the drawers and had to climb over the bed to use the closet. The curtains/drapes didn't completely close and even had some little holes in them. Consequently, in the mornings as the sun rose, you had the sun creeping through the sections that didn't close all of the way and little pin holes of light shining like stars throughout the room. Having a kitchen was nice but we didn't always have what was supposed to be standard in the room. It took them a few days (even after a couple of calls to guest services) for housekeeping to give us a spatula, dish soap, and a cleaning/scrubbing pad. They also had a habit of collecting the used kitchen dish drying towels but not replacing them. The hotel did give us a cot to take the place of the sofabed and even tried to switch rooms for us. But the only other room they said was available was a downgrade from what we had. We took a look at it anyway but it was in the same worn and musty condition as our room, so we declined it. The hotel location and the size of the rooms are actually quite nice. The staff did what it could for us but admitted that only a few of their rooms had been renovated. Apparently, as condos, these rooms are actually independently owned and the hotel simply rents the rooms out for them. So the hotel staff seemed to suggest that the owners of the rooms, not the hotel, were responsible for the renovating and updating of the rooms. Interesting situation if true. Overall, the Waikiki Banyan is not a bad place to stay, but we believe that this facility is more deserving of a two star Orbitz rating. If all of the rooms were renovated and updated, and the furniture replaced, the Waikiki Banyan would be more deserving of the current three star rating. Had the rating been two stars, our expectations would have been different and we would have looked at other locations that were more in line with what we preferred in a hotel. Despite the lengthy criticisms, as long as the actual condition of the rooms is disclosed and appropriate expectations are made, we would still tell others to consider staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buckhannon,WV
Aug 5, 2009

Stayed at the Sunset

When we arrived at the Banyan we were told they over booked so, they had gave our room away and had put us up at their sister hotel the sunset. So, I can't tell you anything about the Banyan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They have all kinds of shops in walking distance. They also have many types of dining in walking distance of both hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaito
Business
Laie, Oahu
Jul 19, 2009

Full Kitchen a Plus!

Hotel was located 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. Location was near zoo and aquarium. Lots of fast food and restaurant choices within walking distance. Had to pay $10 daily for parking. Hotel room was older. The pull out bed was broken. We didn't know until bedtime. Pool and Beach towels had to be signed out at Tower II. We stayed in Tower I and the pool was at Tower I. Towers are not connected. Couldn't leave towels in room, had to return back at Tower I. The full kitchen was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim Former Hawaii Resident
Business
Plano, TX
Jun 20, 2009

First-class service for a bargain price

We transferred to the Banyan for the remaining 4 days of our 10-day Waikiki stay and wished we had stayed here first instead of the Aston Resortquest Waikiki Beach. The $95/day we paid was an incredible bargain for what we got. I even had relatives who told me they paid more when they stayed there previously or at another hotel. The room was spacious with a fully stocked kitchen, living room and bedroom. Travelling with three teenagers, my husband and I were thankful for the 2 full beds and sofa bed that accommodated everyone, even local friends who stayed overnight. The staff was incredibly warm and friendly, from the desk clerks to the maids, maintenant guys, and parking attendants -- everyone made us feel welcomed. The only downside was the small pool that only gets sun during the morning because one of the 2 towers blocks the afternoon so you can only sunbathe during the a.m. Then again, you can walk to the nearby Waikiki Beach to tan. The convenient Sam's Snack Bar near the pool was a great bargain that offered large portions. The guy who ran the snack bar was also incredibly nice & funny. The pool was open until 9 pm; however, guests can stay around the pool area for quiet time after hours (much better than Resortquest which closes the pool sharply at 7 pm and won't allow guests to sit around afterwards). The pool area had an amazing recreation area with BBQs and tennis and basketball courts for rent. I also love the fact there were coin-operated washers and dryers on every floor after the 7th floor so we didn't have to find off-site laundromats. Parking was a reasonable $10/day, so much cheaper than everywhere else in Waikiki! The location was in a quiet area and within walking distance of Waikiki Beach, the zoo, aquarium, Kapiolani Park, and other great attractions. We also liked the location since it was near Kapahulu Ave., which allowed us to slip in and out of Waikiki and avoid the super busy side near Ala Moana and the marina areas. Kapahulu Ave. was also the area with great local restaurants with delicious food at affordable prices (Ono's Hawaiian Food, Zippy's, Rainbow Drive-In, Hee-Hing Chinese Restaurant, and Leonard's Malasadas.) There's also a 7-11 on Kapahulu with cheaper prices than the Waikiki ABC stores. The hotel convenient store and coffee shop downstairs were a plus too. In the past we've stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, The Prince Hotel, the Moana Hotel, and Resortquest Waikiki Beach, and so far this was the best Waikiki hotel for the bargain, service, and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money and avoid dining in Waikiki and visit the restaurants and shops on Kapahulu Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 17, 2009

Waikiki Banyon

Awesome location and the view and room were great but the sleeper sofa was in dire need of replacement. The chairs in the condo and the lanai were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilo, HI
Jun 15, 2009

Great place

The kitchenette was great and the rooms were very clean. Was a great deal for the price. Also parking was only $10.00 per 24 hours, a lot less than most places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happy 23yr old bride ^__^
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jun 11, 2009

honest review!! best wedding/honeymoon!

came here to get married!! most friendly staff ever! After traveling for over 12 hours, it was nice to be greeted by an amazing staff... they put smiles on our faces and showed amazing aloha ^___^. the rooms were fantastic, clean, and meet everyone of our needs! the location was the best aswell! just a block from Waikiki and a couple from international market. we have been to waikiki many times before, but this was our first time at this hotel. all I can say is that I read reviews about this hotel before coming and I was a little afraid because of some negative reviews. all that went out the window! this place was amazing and I didn't experence anything negative. the staff made this hotel the best! thank you cliff and clarance!! and thank you Aston Waikiki banyan for beautiful memories and unbelivable service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

galaxy,! very inexpencive breakfast, but great quality!! ALSO, must try Puka dog next door and fumi's shrimp truck on north shore!! best shrimp on the island!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuRoo
Business
Mill Valley, CA
May 30, 2009

Great location for the price

Our experience at the Banyan was excellent. We arrived 4 hours before check in and our room wasnt ready but the wonderful staff upgraded our room at no additional expense so we could check in immediately! Our room was clean and comfortable with a full kitchen which really cuts down on eating costs. The hotel is about a block from the beach and many shops and restaurants. We would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elk Grove, CA
May 26, 2009

Trip to Hawaii

The hotel was wonderful and we were very pleased! Having a kitchen available to us was great especially having two babies during our trip. The location was great and the room was clean!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
May 25, 2009

Great Hotel

It was only a short walk to downtown Waikiki. The hotel room was very roomy and it had everything that we needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top