$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Hotel Map

21.2747 -157.8213
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
One block from world-famous Waikiki Beach, three blocks from Honolulu Zoo and near Waikiki Aquarium. Also close to shopping and dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buckhannon,WV
Aug 5, 2009

Stayed at the Sunset

When we arrived at the Banyan we were told they over booked so, they had gave our room away and had put us up at their sister hotel the sunset. So, I can't tell you anything about the Banyan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They have all kinds of shops in walking distance. They also have many types of dining in walking distance of both hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaito
Business
Laie, Oahu
Jul 19, 2009

Full Kitchen a Plus!

Hotel was located 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. Location was near zoo and aquarium. Lots of fast food and restaurant choices within walking distance. Had to pay $10 daily for parking. Hotel room was older. The pull out bed was broken. We didn't know until bedtime. Pool and Beach towels had to be signed out at Tower II. We stayed in Tower I and the pool was at Tower I. Towers are not connected. Couldn't leave towels in room, had to return back at Tower I. The full kitchen was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim Former Hawaii Resident
Business
Plano, TX
Jun 20, 2009

First-class service for a bargain price

We transferred to the Banyan for the remaining 4 days of our 10-day Waikiki stay and wished we had stayed here first instead of the Aston Resortquest Waikiki Beach. The $95/day we paid was an incredible bargain for what we got. I even had relatives who told me they paid more when they stayed there previously or at another hotel. The room was spacious with a fully stocked kitchen, living room and bedroom. Travelling with three teenagers, my husband and I were thankful for the 2 full beds and sofa bed that accommodated everyone, even local friends who stayed overnight. The staff was incredibly warm and friendly, from the desk clerks to the maids, maintenant guys, and parking attendants -- everyone made us feel welcomed. The only downside was the small pool that only gets sun during the morning because one of the 2 towers blocks the afternoon so you can only sunbathe during the a.m. Then again, you can walk to the nearby Waikiki Beach to tan. The convenient Sam's Snack Bar near the pool was a great bargain that offered large portions. The guy who ran the snack bar was also incredibly nice & funny. The pool was open until 9 pm; however, guests can stay around the pool area for quiet time after hours (much better than Resortquest which closes the pool sharply at 7 pm and won't allow guests to sit around afterwards). The pool area had an amazing recreation area with BBQs and tennis and basketball courts for rent. I also love the fact there were coin-operated washers and dryers on every floor after the 7th floor so we didn't have to find off-site laundromats. Parking was a reasonable $10/day, so much cheaper than everywhere else in Waikiki! The location was in a quiet area and within walking distance of Waikiki Beach, the zoo, aquarium, Kapiolani Park, and other great attractions. We also liked the location since it was near Kapahulu Ave., which allowed us to slip in and out of Waikiki and avoid the super busy side near Ala Moana and the marina areas. Kapahulu Ave. was also the area with great local restaurants with delicious food at affordable prices (Ono's Hawaiian Food, Zippy's, Rainbow Drive-In, Hee-Hing Chinese Restaurant, and Leonard's Malasadas.) There's also a 7-11 on Kapahulu with cheaper prices than the Waikiki ABC stores. The hotel convenient store and coffee shop downstairs were a plus too. In the past we've stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, The Prince Hotel, the Moana Hotel, and Resortquest Waikiki Beach, and so far this was the best Waikiki hotel for the bargain, service, and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money and avoid dining in Waikiki and visit the restaurants and shops on Kapahulu Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 17, 2009

Waikiki Banyon

Awesome location and the view and room were great but the sleeper sofa was in dire need of replacement. The chairs in the condo and the lanai were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilo, HI
Jun 15, 2009

Great place

The kitchenette was great and the rooms were very clean. Was a great deal for the price. Also parking was only $10.00 per 24 hours, a lot less than most places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happy 23yr old bride ^__^
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jun 11, 2009

honest review!! best wedding/honeymoon!

came here to get married!! most friendly staff ever! After traveling for over 12 hours, it was nice to be greeted by an amazing staff... they put smiles on our faces and showed amazing aloha ^___^. the rooms were fantastic, clean, and meet everyone of our needs! the location was the best aswell! just a block from Waikiki and a couple from international market. we have been to waikiki many times before, but this was our first time at this hotel. all I can say is that I read reviews about this hotel before coming and I was a little afraid because of some negative reviews. all that went out the window! this place was amazing and I didn't experence anything negative. the staff made this hotel the best! thank you cliff and clarance!! and thank you Aston Waikiki banyan for beautiful memories and unbelivable service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

galaxy,! very inexpencive breakfast, but great quality!! ALSO, must try Puka dog next door and fumi's shrimp truck on north shore!! best shrimp on the island!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuRoo
Business
Mill Valley, CA
May 30, 2009

Great location for the price

Our experience at the Banyan was excellent. We arrived 4 hours before check in and our room wasnt ready but the wonderful staff upgraded our room at no additional expense so we could check in immediately! Our room was clean and comfortable with a full kitchen which really cuts down on eating costs. The hotel is about a block from the beach and many shops and restaurants. We would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elk Grove, CA
May 26, 2009

Trip to Hawaii

The hotel was wonderful and we were very pleased! Having a kitchen available to us was great especially having two babies during our trip. The location was great and the room was clean!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
May 25, 2009

Great Hotel

It was only a short walk to downtown Waikiki. The hotel room was very roomy and it had everything that we needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alaska
May 8, 2009

Great Price, Great Stay!

Great hotel, pictures do not do it justice. Very spacious. Very clean; Hawaii is notorious for cockroaches, and this hotel had none! Friendly staff, very helpful. Two cons: Depth of pool was 6 ft. Not very large, but it was very clean. Most of the pool was only 4 ft. deep, which is good for kids. The wireless internet is not free(I think they mentioned that in the details) you buy anything from a coffee shop in the hotel, and you get it free all day(as long as you have a laptop), but to have it at night, you have to pay 10 dollars a day, not too bad, but when you are staying long term, it is a bit of an inconvenience. Also, they have few routers, and work on a first come, first serve basis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The "Snack Shack" is not so much of a snack shack. They have full dinners, for example: Kahlua pig, rice, and a salad. hot dogs, chili dogs, rice and chili, rice, egg and spam/sausage. And lots of other dishes that I cannot remember off the top of my head. *Walk around also, it is beautiful, and there are plenty of dining options if you don't want the snack shack, or coffee place(I think it was called Banyan Breeze Coffee, or Cafe, i can't remember)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top