$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Nov 17, 2009

GREAT TO FAMILY

WOULD RECOMMENT TO FRIENDS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Great Hotel

It was wonderful! Only problem we encountered was a dirty toilet when we first arrived (not a very good first impression), but housekeeping came immediately and cleaned it very well. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Location was one of the best things, not even a 5-minute walk to the beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brychael
Business
Lahaina, Maui
Oct 14, 2009

ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan

I explored places near the hotel. I couldn't go far because it was raining. Everything at this hotel was great! EXCEPT for 1 thing...the whole 3 days I'll been there, I've been getting bitten by something on the bed, so Im thinking it's bed bugs! My skin is extremely sensitive and I had an allergic reaction to the bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oceanarium Restaurant inside the Pacific Beach Hotel was a beautiful experience! A little crowded and pricey but it's worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chandler, AZ
Oct 9, 2009

Aston Waikiki Banyan Review

It was nice having a tennis court. The location was close to a lot of things. The room needed an update. The carpet was very old and uninviting. Having the kitchen was a nice advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great surfing for all skill levels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocala, Florida
Oct 1, 2009

Fantastic Getaway

We had a wonderful time. Plenty of Sand, Surf and Sun. View of Diamond Head and the sun rise each morning wasd Great. Spent one whole day at hotel to enjoy the pool, spa and sun. It was great. walking distance to everything we could want. Nice Zoo near by too. Enjoyed to Aloah Parade. Wonderful time. the only thing that would have been better if I could have stayed two weeks instead of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lagahoo
Business
Houston
Sep 14, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was very clean, friendly staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the Family
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 4, 2009

Good family place

We had no complaints. Good place for families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Texas
Sep 2, 2009

Nice for the price

Central location, parking garage attached with reasonable rates. Easy to access and egress, parking entrance on the only 2-way street in Waikiki. Room on 34th floor with view of Diamond Head and the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get the "Go Oahu" card, you will easily recoup the price. We used if for the Polynesian Cultural Center (although we upgraded the Luau and Show), Grand Island Tour, Pearl Harbor, Makana lunch cruise, and Haunama Bay snorkeling trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KVTP
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 26, 2009

Waikiki Banyan

Great location and deal. Staff was super friendly. Room was very spacious and provided everything we needed for a long stay. Not a Vegas quality pool but sufficient to workout in. They will actually not enter your room if you put up the do not disturb sign. The best is the free internet service. Freeeeeeeeeee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not go to Shorebird, don't bother with Chinatown, it was a bust. Go to Kailua Beach, Diamond Head, North Shore, Macky's Shrimp Truck, Sansei Sushi, Tenkaippin, Smorgy's. Bring insect repellent to go to Hanauma Bay and Waimea Falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Disappointed.

Having stayed at places that had been given Orbitz three star ratings and higher, combined with the high customer ratings this hotel received, my family and I had fairly high expectations for the Waikiki Banyan. Sadly, we were disappointed. The website virtual tours suggested new, clean and contemporary decor, which is one of the reasons why we selected the Waikiki Banyan. Unfortunately, the room we got was worn, musty, and outdated (circa 1980's). The sofabed my daughter was supposed to use was so old and worn out that you sank and literally felt every spring in the mattress pad. Even as a sofa, the seat cushions were so flat and compressed, that the back of your legs rested against the frame. I actually used the back cushions as secondary seat cushions to make the sofa more comfortable to sit on. The carpet was worn worn out and stained. The room was musty and had the faint smell of stale cigarette smoke in various locations, including the bathroom sink (there were old cigarette burns on the edge of the sink) and slide door area to the balcony (no surprise there as most smokers would probably smoke out in the balcony). The beds had no headboards and were so close to the dresser on one side and to the closet on the other, that you had to stand to the side of the dresser to open the drawers and had to climb over the bed to use the closet. The curtains/drapes didn't completely close and even had some little holes in them. Consequently, in the mornings as the sun rose, you had the sun creeping through the sections that didn't close all of the way and little pin holes of light shining like stars throughout the room. Having a kitchen was nice but we didn't always have what was supposed to be standard in the room. It took them a few days (even after a couple of calls to guest services) for housekeeping to give us a spatula, dish soap, and a cleaning/scrubbing pad. They also had a habit of collecting the used kitchen dish drying towels but not replacing them. The hotel did give us a cot to take the place of the sofabed and even tried to switch rooms for us. But the only other room they said was available was a downgrade from what we had. We took a look at it anyway but it was in the same worn and musty condition as our room, so we declined it. The hotel location and the size of the rooms are actually quite nice. The staff did what it could for us but admitted that only a few of their rooms had been renovated. Apparently, as condos, these rooms are actually independently owned and the hotel simply rents the rooms out for them. So the hotel staff seemed to suggest that the owners of the rooms, not the hotel, were responsible for the renovating and updating of the rooms. Interesting situation if true. Overall, the Waikiki Banyan is not a bad place to stay, but we believe that this facility is more deserving of a two star Orbitz rating. If all of the rooms were renovated and updated, and the furniture replaced, the Waikiki Banyan would be more deserving of the current three star rating. Had the rating been two stars, our expectations would have been different and we would have looked at other locations that were more in line with what we preferred in a hotel. Despite the lengthy criticisms, as long as the actual condition of the rooms is disclosed and appropriate expectations are made, we would still tell others to consider staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top