$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
163 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2747 -157.8213
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
One block from world-famous Waikiki Beach, three blocks from Honolulu Zoo and near Waikiki Aquarium. Also close to shopping and dining.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 25, 2010

Great experience!

Aston is a great place for family trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Families vacation planner
Texas
Jun 20, 2010

Hotel was average

They were very nice about the accommendations that I had requested for the two families that went together. They were not informative about the restaurants. I am not sure about this motto - "kids eat free". I was only aware of a coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you get a chance to see the Polynesian Cultural Center, go for the Ambssador Package. It is a little pricey but it is all for a good cause. It is all tied in with the university there and they give out many scholarships to students based on the proceeds from the center. The Ambassador Package entitles you to a tour guide that are all very polite and thankful. Most of the employees are students from all over the world who are on the scholarships. Ours was [...],from New Zealand and he was gracious and very informative. The shows were amazing also. You were treated first class at the Luau.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Families vacation planner
Texas
Jun 20, 2010

Hotel was average

They were very nice about the accommendations that I had requested for the two families that went together. They were not informative about the restaurants. I am not sure about this motto - "kids eat free". I was only aware of a coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you get a chance to see the Polynesian Cultural Center, go for the Ambssador Package. It is a little pricey but it is all for a good cause. It is all tied in with the university there and they give out many scholarships to students based on the proceeds from the center. The Ambassador Package entitles you to a tour guide that are all very polite and thankful. Most of the employees are students from all over the world who are on the scholarships. Ours was [...],from New Zealand and he was gracious and very informative. The shows were amazing also. You were treated first class at the Luau.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Bruno, CA
Jun 12, 2010

Good location, good price!!

it is a very good hotel considering that it is an older built. it was clean and in a great location. stores and restaurants are close by. the tv set could have been placed at a better locaton in the room. for a condo-tel, you can't beat the price!! Aston you beter not raise the price or else i will find another one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

night life, dining, entertainment and shopping are all walking distance.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Bruno, CA
Jun 12, 2010

Good location, good price!!

it is a very good hotel considering that it is an older built. it was clean and in a great location. stores and restaurants are close by. the tv set could have been placed at a better locaton in the room. for a condo-tel, you can't beat the price!! Aston you beter not raise the price or else i will find another one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

night life, dining, entertainment and shopping are all walking distance.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jun 8, 2010

Christopher Herring - LCS Senior Trip

We used five rooms for our annual high school senior trip. We were pleased with our rooms, as we were out touring, shopping, swimming, etc. every day and most nights. We love the big rooms with ample space for four people per room with all of their things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Waikiki Banyan was close to everything we desired to see and do. I recommend this hotel for all ages and families.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jun 8, 2010

Christopher Herring - LCS Senior Trip

We used five rooms for our annual high school senior trip. We were pleased with our rooms, as we were out touring, shopping, swimming, etc. every day and most nights. We love the big rooms with ample space for four people per room with all of their things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Waikiki Banyan was close to everything we desired to see and do. I recommend this hotel for all ages and families.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian Girls!
British Columbia, Canada
May 18, 2010

Waikiki Banyan-Good Value

Staff were friendly and tried their best to accomodate all our needs and wishes. Would have appreciated having the free coffee extended to everyday not just the first day. Also the newspaper wasn't delivered daily either. Minor stuff. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hawaiian Adventure Tours-Great time!Polynesian Cultural Centre was excellent!

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian Girls!
British Columbia, Canada
May 18, 2010

Waikiki Banyan-Good Value

Staff were friendly and tried their best to accomodate all our needs and wishes. Would have appreciated having the free coffee extended to everyday not just the first day. Also the newspaper wasn't delivered daily either. Minor stuff. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hawaiian Adventure Tours-Great time!Polynesian Cultural Centre was excellent!

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Arrowhead, CA
May 10, 2010

Waikiki Banyan-Highlight of my trip

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I had booked a room with an ocean view but the room we were given had a spectacular ocean view. The concierge had useful information and we took advantage of some of her advice. Sam's restaurant at the pool had great food. The green curry chicken was one of the best I ever had. Although we just had a one night stay at the hotel, it definitely made our trip worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Magic of Polynesia show at the Ohana Beachcomber is spectacular magic, hula, and fire dancing show and at $52 is a better deal than the luaus. The concierge did not recommend the meal so we had seating in the back. We gave a tip to the waiter for seating up front but you have a pretty good view from the back tables also.

Back to menu Return to top