$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Arrowhead, CA
May 10, 2010

Waikiki Banyan-Highlight of my trip

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I had booked a room with an ocean view but the room we were given had a spectacular ocean view. The concierge had useful information and we took advantage of some of her advice. Sam's restaurant at the pool had great food. The green curry chicken was one of the best I ever had. Although we just had a one night stay at the hotel, it definitely made our trip worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Magic of Polynesia show at the Ohana Beachcomber is spectacular magic, hula, and fire dancing show and at $52 is a better deal than the luaus. The concierge did not recommend the meal so we had seating in the back. We gave a tip to the waiter for seating up front but you have a pretty good view from the back tables also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheap Solo Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 27, 2010

More than you expect from a three star

I usaully travel alone, because i get more things done i want to do. You can and will have a good time by yourself, but i recommened taking a significant other to share the experience with, everone else in waikiki is. This hotel was by far the most comfortable i've been at. tennis court and basketball court; but it also had everything a premium one bedroom apartment would have, large living room, flat screen tv, dishwasher, stove/oven, microwave, large refrigerator, etc. I would rather live there than my own apartment. As for the location, talk about "in the middle of it all", the beach is a three minute walk, with so many store on the main street the only difficult task is to decide where to waste your money. I paid $75 for a 2 hour surf lesson with HN surf, recommended by the hotel; it was great(free t-shirt with coupon), the better you get the more your hooked. Entertainment was abundant, concerts festivals, parties, and music seem to go on every fri, sat, and sun. The prices were more than reasonable for what you get. Great service, Great room, Great location. If you check out early and flight doesnt leave til late, the hotel can put your luggage in storage til you are ready. Bring lot of money, so you can do lots of stuff, and Have FUN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a Food Pantry Grocery store, they have way more food than the common ABC convenient store. Making your own prepared snacks and meals will save you from dining out all the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 9, 2010

1st Hawaii Trip

Pros: - Very nice view - quiet and private - courteous staff - convient store and activity desk in hotel was nice and helpful Cons: - Bed too small for delux room - Old-worn furniture, etc - maids kept turning off room AC untill we requested they stop - sauna-pool area needs to open earlier or close later to be able to enjoy them after or before activities - hotel should provide wheel chairs for handicapped travelers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure and take GPS and handicap tag if you rent a car - streets rather confusing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
B.C. CANADA
Jan 19, 2010

good BUT not bad

ROOMS NEED TO BE UPDATED

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

DUKES CHEESECAKE FACTORY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dadydoughboy
Business
Quad Cities, Illinois/Iowa border
Dec 21, 2009

One of my best surprises on this trip!

This was a one day add-on for us. Could not believe what we were getting for our money! Beautiful! Lovely lobby! Attentive, informative reservationist! Weren't fumbling for a reserved room! Already assigned. great very usable rooms. Though just the wife and I, would be great for kids with nearly full kitchen amenities! Thank you! When we return to this island, This will be my call!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory! Incredible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
island_traveler
Business
CA
Dec 20, 2009

Clean but Old

The room was clean and had a good mountain view. However, the hallway was dark and reminded us of old dingy apartment hallway. When we entered the room, the furniture and cabinets were very outdated. The curtain were white. The room felt more like a hospital room. There was no warm aloha feeling to it. Granted these are individually owned, and the owner needs to upgrade the room with new furniture, decor and cabinets. The swimming pool and playground were well maintained. We enjoy the recreation deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Dec 19, 2009

Great Stay

Great stay. Very clean. Great Location, block from the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Dec 14, 2009

Good for the price

Everything is every old in this condo. However the location is great and we got a free upgrade to a montain view room which is good. Considering its price, it is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
irvine, ca
Dec 1, 2009

great family place

this place was better than expected. i was looking for a hotel that would accomodate a family and have at least a fridge and microwave. i was also looking for a hotel close to the zoo, aquarium, and beach. after much research, i settled on this one. the room was spacious, so my son could run around and play. i liked how the bedroom could be partitioned from the living room/kitchen. that way my son could go to bed early while my husband and i stayed up to watch tv. the kitchen was very convenient. i loved the huge counter space to put all my stuff on, which was out of reach from my son. my only complaints are the weak plumming in the bathroom sink and the worn out curtains. this room was a little old and dated, but it served its purpose. the recreation deck was great. it had a pool, jacuzzi, playground, tennis court, basketball court, bbqs, and plenty of seating. so overall, i was very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saulnier Family
Business
Cambridge ,IL
Nov 30, 2009

Great location , reasonable price

The Aston Banyan was a great place to stay, and if I ever make it back to Hawaii, I would stay there again in a heartbeat. The rooms were nothing fancy , but they were clean and roomy. I enjoyed having our own Kitchen, so we didn't have to eat every meal in a resturant. We asked for a ocean view room and not only could we see the ocean , but we could see the mountains and the city . The location of the Banyan was the best. We rented a car one day to do things away from the city, but everything else we could walk to. The staff was very friendly and always willing to answer any questions. I would recommend the Banyan to anyone that wants a clean reasonable place to stay at Waikiki. Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach is only a 2 block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top