$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland Washington
Mar 1, 2011

The perfect location in Paradise

We travel the world often. The Wikkiki Banyan was outstanding. We requested a ocean view and got a view of the ocean and Diamond Head at the same time. It was fantastic, I would recommend it to everyone for a wonderful vacation and resort in paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Jan 22, 2011

fantastic family getaway

Nice location. Full kitchen and separate bedroom and living room make the vacation comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OldGrayMare
Business
Danville, VA (formerly Waikiki)
Dec 27, 2010

Shabby but good location

The Banyan is in a great location, esp if you're a first timer. We used to live across the street, so know the area. Garage parking is convenient and at $10/day or $60/wk is a bargain for the area. Hint: Parking takes cash only, no credit cards. Our first room was really shabby, sofa ripped, stained, and VERY uncomfortable to sit or lay on. We complained and they moved us right away, but the furniture there was just as hard and uncomfortable. Beds were fine. There is only one AC in living room, so we bought a fan at WalMart to circulate air in the sleeping area. The housekeeping staff was very nice and responsible (hint: tip at the beginning of your stay, always). Nothing very fancy here....but as I said, the location is tops. Smack in the middle of Waikiki - block to beach and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

As you are coming from the airport, take the King Street exit off the H-1 and stop at either the Safeway or the Foodland on Kapahulu on your way to the hotel. That way, you will have fresh coffee, milk, whatever first thing the next morning. The units at Banyan have basic kitchen setup.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradenton, FL
Nov 19, 2010

Great location and priced right

Clerks and maintenance people were most helpful. Location perfect, only 1 block from Waikiki Beach and convenient to shopping. Would stay there again. Unit could use updating but was sufficient for a short stay. Very clean and compact.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

4 blocks to International Marketplace. 1 Block to Kalakaua Blvd.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Sep 25, 2010

enjoyable

short walk to the beach and food and entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manila, Philippines
Jul 25, 2010

Simple and Enjoyable

This is my 2nd stay here. I plan on staying there again next year because it fits our needs perfectly. This condo-hotel is great for long stays and the parking is the most affordable in Waikiki. The location is great since you can walk to everything. Don't expect 5 star here though, otherwise you will be disappointed. If it's your first time in Hawaii go with a regular hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Our experience at the waterpark was not worth the time and money. The lines were long for everything and it's so expensive.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OneFunDrunk
Business
Los Angeles Ca
Jul 23, 2010

Overall great stay, was pleased

Hawaii is obviously a beautiful place to visit. We did alot of site seeing and visited all the so called "must see" locations like the Polynesian cultural center, dole plantation, north shore,diamond head and so forth. I recommend this place for the people who are not picky first of all. This place had all you basically need to have a descent stay. The furniture and look is somewhat outdated but that doesnt really matter. The kitchen was sufficient. What we did was our first day there we went to costco and loaded up on bare necessities and just cook it up in ur room thus saving alot of money. Buy water, beer, bread, eggs,meat and what not and live off that for your stay. Bring your own coffee and some coffee filters though. Creamer and other Lil amenities can be bought at the store downstairs. Other than that advice its up to you on how you enjoy your time, one last heads up don't count on the mattress being even remotely comfy. It was like sleeping on coral, so uncomfortable. Have fun Mahalo!! P.S parking was ok cheapest we could find at 10 bucks for every 24 hrs, just make sure you pay up on time or when you pull out they will tag you with a 10 dollar over charge fee. P.S.S Great location, about 2 blocks south of Waikiki beach everything within walking distance. Plenty of ABC stores everywhere, check out the stadium swap meet as well on weekends and wensdays cheap prices if planning on buying gifts don't buy them at Waikiki marked up prices. Same B.S stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your A game when driving down here, watch out..drivers are scary in Hawaii.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 25, 2010

Great experience!

Aston is a great place for family trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Families vacation planner
Business
Texas
Jun 20, 2010

Hotel was average

They were very nice about the accommendations that I had requested for the two families that went together. They were not informative about the restaurants. I am not sure about this motto - "kids eat free". I was only aware of a coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you get a chance to see the Polynesian Cultural Center, go for the Ambssador Package. It is a little pricey but it is all for a good cause. It is all tied in with the university there and they give out many scholarships to students based on the proceeds from the center. The Ambassador Package entitles you to a tour guide that are all very polite and thankful. Most of the employees are students from all over the world who are on the scholarships. Ours was [...],from New Zealand and he was gracious and very informative. The shows were amazing also. You were treated first class at the Luau.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Bruno, CA
Jun 12, 2010

Good location, good price!!

it is a very good hotel considering that it is an older built. it was clean and in a great location. stores and restaurants are close by. the tv set could have been placed at a better locaton in the room. for a condo-tel, you can't beat the price!! Aston you beter not raise the price or else i will find another one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

night life, dining, entertainment and shopping are all walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top