$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Unc
Business
Fernie
May 5, 2011

Decent Hotel

The room was very spacious, but could use a little updating such as new carpets and a flat screen tv, a mirror (in addition to the one in the bathroom) would be nice as well along with some wall paintings; it gets a little dull staring at white walls although the view of Diamond Head from the balcony helps make up for this. Having a full kitchen was definitely a plus as eating meals at the restaurants in Waikiki, although enjoyable, will put a dent in the pocketbook on an extended stay. The coin operated barbecues on the 6th floor court is a great way to enjoy burgers while enjoying the breezy Hawaiian evening. The two towers face opposite directions so if a view is important you need decide which tower to stay in. I stayed in tower 1 and had a lovely view to the east of Diamond Head. There are 4 spacious elevators per tower that arrive quickly and get you to your floor very efficiently. The lobby is very charming with places to sit both inside and just outside. As you await the arrival of your taxi or shuttle be sure to check out the fish pond and waterfall or some of the many great historical photos that adorn the walls. A minor but somewhat important complaint was the speed of the internet. I found it to be a bit slow although I can't rule out that my computer may have been acting up as well. Apparently in June 2011 the internet will no longer be free with the room. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Waikiki Banyan and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turnip
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Apr 27, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

This hotel/condo is within walking distance to the zoo and the beach. You can't ask for anything more when you've a 2yr old kid. Hotel staff is very helpful for letting us check-out at 3pm. Talking about late check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Joe, CA
Apr 18, 2011

Almost Perfect

This is our first time visiting Oahu. We had a great time. The condo is a little old, but It is clean and very comfortable. It is one block away from the beach and close to all the important bus lines. Just ask the staff, he or she will give you the bus route. We just hopped on the bus and it took us wherever we want to go. The fare is cheap compare with other transportation, but it is time consuming. We definitely rent a car for part of the trip next time. My sons and nephew all want to go to Oahu and stay at the Waikiki Banyan again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New bride
Business
Santa Clarita California
Apr 7, 2011

The Disappointment of the Waikiki Banyan

We arrived in the later part of the evening; We misplaced the safe key and paid for the replacement key; found the key on the way home, called the hotel for the return of the key and get refund on 35.00 replacement fee denied. A pack of cigarettes stolen first morning out of the room. Nickle and dime you too death.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom from Seattle
Business
Seatt;e
Apr 7, 2011

Aston at Waikiki Banyan

The sofabed was not comfortable and the housekeeping staff fixed it by putting a mattress pad on it. It helped. The twin beds were not soft enough. The staff was very helpful. The bathroom was very tiny and only had one sink. There were rust in the bathtub. This hotel definitely needs some update. The location is excellent, very close to the beach. The hotel is very quiet. If you are looking for value, you got it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Picky father of two
Business
San Francisco
Apr 5, 2011

Decent hotel, great location

This is a family oriented hotel. In reality what you get is a one bedroom apartment with full kitchen, which was a plus for us. Beach is one block away. There is a wave barrier protecting this portion of the beach and swimming area is shallow and wave free. Shopping and restaurants are 2-5 blocks away, easily within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk two blocks to Food Pantry to buy milk, baggels and etc. and eat breakfast at the hotel. Also buy ice cream and eat it at the hotel. Do not prepay for shuttle to take you to and from hotel to airport. Get Oahu Gold publication. It has coupons for lots of different activities, including taxi/limo service. We took limo back to the airport for $31 we would have spent as much for shuttle and would have to leave at least 1 1/2 hours eaerlier. Taxi for 4 would only cost $25.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KaliCo
Business
Vancouver BC
Mar 31, 2011

Great Place For A Family With Young KIds

This is the second time we have stayed at the Banyan in the last two years, and will definitely come back again. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is great! Although the rooms are a bit dated, we really enjoy the fact that there is a full sized kitchen in each room and there is a separate living area from the bedroom which makes putting the young kids to bed a whole lot easier! The recreation deck is great as well with a full sized playground, a snack shop, and a pool (although we skipped the pool and hit the beach every day). Bring your own portable DVD player if you have young kids, and hook it up to the TV in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store only a few blocks away, although the prices are a bit expensive (sure beats eating out every night though). We stocked up on our first day and made our own meals in the room to save money. They even have 1$ DVD rentals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laramie, WY
Mar 20, 2011

Nice except for one thing

This hotel was nice. It was not as large as the pictures portrayed. The only bad thing was the sofa bed. There was no padding over the mattress springs, making it worthless as a bed. So beware! Convenient parking. Quiet. Nice outdoor rec area. Convenience store will not take credit cards, which was a pain. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Driving around Honolulu is awful. I am good with directions and maps, so I was surprised what a nightmare it was. Either walk, or take a bus or shuttle. Outside of Honolulu is better, but places are not well marked. Buy a Oahu map.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland Washington
Mar 1, 2011

The perfect location in Paradise

We travel the world often. The Wikkiki Banyan was outstanding. We requested a ocean view and got a view of the ocean and Diamond Head at the same time. It was fantastic, I would recommend it to everyone for a wonderful vacation and resort in paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Jan 22, 2011

fantastic family getaway

Nice location. Full kitchen and separate bedroom and living room make the vacation comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top