$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
View map of 201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doretta
Business
Spanaway,wa
Sep 20, 2012

family vacation

Had a wonderful time in Hawaii. Hotel was close to everthing within walking distance. I f we had a issue they resolved it right away. Our airline tickets and hotel reservations were all correct and no problems. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Truell
Business
Aston Wikiki Banyan
Sep 1, 2012

Wedding

Our experience at the Aston Wikiki Banyan was awesome the hotel was good a little out dated. We got married there and bought both of our kids. The room was good. The only thing we did not like was the master bedroom just had sliding doors not a actual door and the bathroom was in the bedroom awkward. Overrral we had a blast and the wedding was beautiful. The staff was friendly and the room was kept clean. Would stay there again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plate Lunch Lover
Business
Spring Hill, Florida
Jul 13, 2012

Perfect hotel for my family

Hotel one block from Waikiki Beach. We chose the mountain view which was spectacular with a constant mauka breeze. Room was perfect for a family of five which includes a full kitchen. Rooms were dated but very, very clean. Housekeeping staff were fantastic. Parking cost twelve dollars a day and a ten dollar a day amenity fee included internet connection, morning newspaper, coffee, movie rental, pool etc. The only negative my kids would say would be that there was no Wifi in the room. Internet connection is by using ethernet cable which is supplied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

GO EARLY to nature attractions. The day gets started early in Hawaii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
numbr1 grandma
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jun 25, 2012

Nice family vacation

Close to wakiki beach which is a nice spot for small kids. Close to all restaurants and shopping. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angeldog
Business
Southern USA
Dec 29, 2011

almost a BIG problem

Hotel did not have my reservation, made as a package deal through the internet travel provider. Luckily they still had space available. According to their records they got it straightened out through the provider and got their payment from that transaction. Had they not had any space the vacation could have been ruined before it ever started. Makes me a little wary of booking total hotel/car/airfare packages in the future with that provider (meaning you). Thank you, Bryan Stevens

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sad to be leave paradise
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 12, 2011

Winter getaway

There's nothing really special to say about this hotel. It wasn't bad, but nothing spectacular either. The rooms are a nice size especially since we stayed a full week, with a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. Very outdated! Not that it really matters since you're in Hawaii and not much room is spent in the hotel anyways. Location is not bad, a couple blocks from the beach but also down the street from where many homeless people like to camp out. There's a pool, hot tub, eating area with many grills that you can use for $2, a little restaurant type thing on the pool deck, a party room near the elevators on the pool deck. The staff was friendly and there when we needed them. The lobby of the hotel is very nice, kind of tricks you into what the rooms will be like though. The pictures on the website of the rooms are identical to what you get, so at least there's no surprise. There's a cafe near the lobby with computers you can use and a litle convinience shop next to it. The only thing missing was a continental breakfast, really would have liked to have that instead of having to go out for breakfast everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Our biggest issue was trying to find where to eat each night that wasn't going to completely crash the bank since we had 6 nights to think about. Look into the restaurants at the hotels and the little hole in the wall places, they are usually the best and a lot of them are hidden. DON'T GO TO THE RED LION!!! Most disgusting place I've ever seen. Went into the bathroom and almost walked out of the place right then and there, thank God we didn't get food, only drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LYZZ
Business
Palm Springs, CA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

LOVELY HAWAIIAN HOTEL-GREAT BED. POOL, CLEAN

FROM THE BEAUTIFUL ENTRY, THROUGH THE OLD HAWAII PICTURES, THROUGH ANY ONE OF THE FOUR EXCELLENT ELEVATORS, TO THE UNIT'S GREAT VIEW AND COMFORT, THE VISITOR WILL EXPERIENCE TRUE HAWAIIAN HOSPITALITY. THE BANYAN FEELS LIKE YOUR HOME IN HONOLULU. THIS WAS OUR SIXTH STAY HERE. LOCATION IS PERFECT, STAFF IS HELPFUL. TWO SPAS, HUGE SALTWATER POOL, GOOD SANDWICHES AT THE COFFEE SHOP ON THE GROUND FLOOR, ALL PLEASANT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

GO TO BUS TERMINAL (VIA BUS) AND BUY A BUS PASS IF YOU ARE STAYING THREE OR MORE DAYS HERE BUS SERVICE IS TOPS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trishie
Business
Aston Waikiki Banyon, Honolulu, HI
Aug 30, 2011

Garage key scam

The desk clerk asked for a $10 security deposit for a key that was needed to get into the garage after hours. I gave him a $10 bill (I did not get a receipt) thinking it would be on my hotel bill. When I checked out and turned in the key, the clerk said the amount was put on my credit card and refunded through my card. I told them I paid $10 in cash and they did not believe me and would not give me my money back. My daughters witnessed this whole transaction and verified it for me. Sounds like a scam that others should be aware of!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Jul 20, 2011

will never stay there anymore!

Do not attempt to open the upper cabinet doors if you are looking for kitchen accessories. They are full of dust and debris. The internet was disconnected almost at all times. Beside that I had to hold the wire with one hand and type with only one hand when it was working. The DVD player takes about 30 to 45 minutes until it starts to work. The water pressure was horrible and disappointing. Room furniture is at least 20-30 years old. When I checked in, I was told that there is no charge for using internet, DVD player and in-room-safe. Even though I asked the staff about it, she told me there are all included in my package and the only thing I have to pay is parking fee and that's because it's operating by another company. When I checked out they charged me $10 plus tax for each night. When I explained to hotel manager, he didn't take the ownership for his mistake, whether it was miscommunication between hotel staff or lack of training, he should have taken the responsibility instead of telling me how sorry he was for his staff's mistake! I paid the money wondering how they can stay in business with such a poor customer service and management skill!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the property loctaed in the heart of wikiki area close to all shopping and restaurants. That's the only good thing to say about this hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 17, 2011

3rd Time to the Waikiki Banyan

Recomend paddle boarding with Uncle Bryon on the North Shore - Loved the Moana Falls hike!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top