$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Truell
Business
Aston Wikiki Banyan
Sep 1, 2012

Wedding

Our experience at the Aston Wikiki Banyan was awesome the hotel was good a little out dated. We got married there and bought both of our kids. The room was good. The only thing we did not like was the master bedroom just had sliding doors not a actual door and the bathroom was in the bedroom awkward. Overrral we had a blast and the wedding was beautiful. The staff was friendly and the room was kept clean. Would stay there again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plate Lunch Lover
Business
Spring Hill, Florida
Jul 13, 2012

Perfect hotel for my family

Hotel one block from Waikiki Beach. We chose the mountain view which was spectacular with a constant mauka breeze. Room was perfect for a family of five which includes a full kitchen. Rooms were dated but very, very clean. Housekeeping staff were fantastic. Parking cost twelve dollars a day and a ten dollar a day amenity fee included internet connection, morning newspaper, coffee, movie rental, pool etc. The only negative my kids would say would be that there was no Wifi in the room. Internet connection is by using ethernet cable which is supplied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

GO EARLY to nature attractions. The day gets started early in Hawaii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
numbr1 grandma
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jun 25, 2012

Nice family vacation

Close to wakiki beach which is a nice spot for small kids. Close to all restaurants and shopping. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angeldog
Business
Southern USA
Dec 29, 2011

almost a BIG problem

Hotel did not have my reservation, made as a package deal through the internet travel provider. Luckily they still had space available. According to their records they got it straightened out through the provider and got their payment from that transaction. Had they not had any space the vacation could have been ruined before it ever started. Makes me a little wary of booking total hotel/car/airfare packages in the future with that provider (meaning you). Thank you, Bryan Stevens

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sad to be leave paradise
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 12, 2011

Winter getaway

There's nothing really special to say about this hotel. It wasn't bad, but nothing spectacular either. The rooms are a nice size especially since we stayed a full week, with a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. Very outdated! Not that it really matters since you're in Hawaii and not much room is spent in the hotel anyways. Location is not bad, a couple blocks from the beach but also down the street from where many homeless people like to camp out. There's a pool, hot tub, eating area with many grills that you can use for $2, a little restaurant type thing on the pool deck, a party room near the elevators on the pool deck. The staff was friendly and there when we needed them. The lobby of the hotel is very nice, kind of tricks you into what the rooms will be like though. The pictures on the website of the rooms are identical to what you get, so at least there's no surprise. There's a cafe near the lobby with computers you can use and a litle convinience shop next to it. The only thing missing was a continental breakfast, really would have liked to have that instead of having to go out for breakfast everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Our biggest issue was trying to find where to eat each night that wasn't going to completely crash the bank since we had 6 nights to think about. Look into the restaurants at the hotels and the little hole in the wall places, they are usually the best and a lot of them are hidden. DON'T GO TO THE RED LION!!! Most disgusting place I've ever seen. Went into the bathroom and almost walked out of the place right then and there, thank God we didn't get food, only drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LYZZ
Business
Palm Springs, CA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

LOVELY HAWAIIAN HOTEL-GREAT BED. POOL, CLEAN

FROM THE BEAUTIFUL ENTRY, THROUGH THE OLD HAWAII PICTURES, THROUGH ANY ONE OF THE FOUR EXCELLENT ELEVATORS, TO THE UNIT'S GREAT VIEW AND COMFORT, THE VISITOR WILL EXPERIENCE TRUE HAWAIIAN HOSPITALITY. THE BANYAN FEELS LIKE YOUR HOME IN HONOLULU. THIS WAS OUR SIXTH STAY HERE. LOCATION IS PERFECT, STAFF IS HELPFUL. TWO SPAS, HUGE SALTWATER POOL, GOOD SANDWICHES AT THE COFFEE SHOP ON THE GROUND FLOOR, ALL PLEASANT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

GO TO BUS TERMINAL (VIA BUS) AND BUY A BUS PASS IF YOU ARE STAYING THREE OR MORE DAYS HERE BUS SERVICE IS TOPS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trishie
Business
Aston Waikiki Banyon, Honolulu, HI
Aug 30, 2011

Garage key scam

The desk clerk asked for a $10 security deposit for a key that was needed to get into the garage after hours. I gave him a $10 bill (I did not get a receipt) thinking it would be on my hotel bill. When I checked out and turned in the key, the clerk said the amount was put on my credit card and refunded through my card. I told them I paid $10 in cash and they did not believe me and would not give me my money back. My daughters witnessed this whole transaction and verified it for me. Sounds like a scam that others should be aware of!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Jul 20, 2011

will never stay there anymore!

Do not attempt to open the upper cabinet doors if you are looking for kitchen accessories. They are full of dust and debris. The internet was disconnected almost at all times. Beside that I had to hold the wire with one hand and type with only one hand when it was working. The DVD player takes about 30 to 45 minutes until it starts to work. The water pressure was horrible and disappointing. Room furniture is at least 20-30 years old. When I checked in, I was told that there is no charge for using internet, DVD player and in-room-safe. Even though I asked the staff about it, she told me there are all included in my package and the only thing I have to pay is parking fee and that's because it's operating by another company. When I checked out they charged me $10 plus tax for each night. When I explained to hotel manager, he didn't take the ownership for his mistake, whether it was miscommunication between hotel staff or lack of training, he should have taken the responsibility instead of telling me how sorry he was for his staff's mistake! I paid the money wondering how they can stay in business with such a poor customer service and management skill!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the property loctaed in the heart of wikiki area close to all shopping and restaurants. That's the only good thing to say about this hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 17, 2011

3rd Time to the Waikiki Banyan

Recomend paddle boarding with Uncle Bryon on the North Shore - Loved the Moana Falls hike!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Unc
Business
Fernie
May 5, 2011

Decent Hotel

The room was very spacious, but could use a little updating such as new carpets and a flat screen tv, a mirror (in addition to the one in the bathroom) would be nice as well along with some wall paintings; it gets a little dull staring at white walls although the view of Diamond Head from the balcony helps make up for this. Having a full kitchen was definitely a plus as eating meals at the restaurants in Waikiki, although enjoyable, will put a dent in the pocketbook on an extended stay. The coin operated barbecues on the 6th floor court is a great way to enjoy burgers while enjoying the breezy Hawaiian evening. The two towers face opposite directions so if a view is important you need decide which tower to stay in. I stayed in tower 1 and had a lovely view to the east of Diamond Head. There are 4 spacious elevators per tower that arrive quickly and get you to your floor very efficiently. The lobby is very charming with places to sit both inside and just outside. As you await the arrival of your taxi or shuttle be sure to check out the fish pond and waterfall or some of the many great historical photos that adorn the walls. A minor but somewhat important complaint was the speed of the internet. I found it to be a bit slow although I can't rule out that my computer may have been acting up as well. Apparently in June 2011 the internet will no longer be free with the room. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Waikiki Banyan and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top