$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hafa Adai
Business
Oregon
Jul 31, 2013

1st Hawaiian Family Vacation

"Aloha!" Aston at Waikiki Banyan great location : 1 Block from sandy beaches. Walking distance from International Market, restaurants (Oceanarium Seafood Buffet, Me's BBQ, Blazin' Steaks, Marukame Udon, 24/7, Eggs & Things, etc.), Kings Farmers Market and all ABC Stores. Hotel on Island Bus routes (Bus #13 - Leonard's Malasadas and Cafe Kaila & Bus # 42 - Ala Moana Shopping Center, Arizona Memorial and Swap Meet @ Aloha Stadium). Tour Pick Up location one Hotel away @ Waikiki Beach Marriott Tour Lobby (Diamond Head Crater Hike & Polynesian Cultural Center, etc.). Banyan Tower #1 Room #2201 Condo Style (complete kitchen, clean bathroom, playstation game/dvd console w/1 controller, spacious living room and two comfortable queen size beds with A/C). FYI - There is an extra manditory daily fee for amenities (daily newspaper, room cleaning and 2 free videos/games daily rentals on 5th Floor). Floor # 6 Tennis/Basketball Courts, Swimming Pool, Hot Tub, Childrens Playground, Minigolf and BBQ Areas. Floor # 7 Laundry Area. WE loved staying @ Aston at Waikiki Banyan because it wasn't as crowded as if we had lived on any beach strip hotel. We recommend this hotel to anyone, because WE are already planning to stay here again in the near future. "Mahalo!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Planning to SWIM - go early to find best spot. Planning to EAT - make reservations early to get best table and go early to get freshes food. Planning to TOUR - arrive early to get best bus seats. Planning to SHOP - relax most stores sell pretty much the same thing, take your time. Tourist Prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BruceMa
Business
Oregon
Jul 27, 2013

Just Okay

My family stayed the week of July 17-24. I had read on previous reviews that the rooms were outdated and worn out. I felt that having the benefit of the kitchen would be worth the outdated room. I will say I was a bit surprised by how worn out the room was. The carpet was disgusting and felt grimy. There were some brown stains in the corner that were just gross. The room was beyond worn out- it just felt plain dirty. The staff was pleasant, the amenities were nice, the kitchen was well supplied, but the elevator often took 15-20mins :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperDad 8
Business
Turlock,Ca
Jun 8, 2013

Family Vacation for 4

Great,place to save a few bucks and still be right in the heart of the action.They are updating these condos;if you get an updated one like we did you are a winner!Can't speak negatively about the un updated because we did not stay in one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VL Family
Business
San Diego County, California
May 28, 2013

Good experience overall

This is our first ever Oahu trip staying in Waikiki. In the past before our baby daughter was born, we preferred staying outside the "city-like" Waikiki area whenever we went to Oahu in order to get a "true" vacation feeling. This time it's different as we wanted to give our daughter's first ever trip an "experience". That's why we chose to stay at Waikiki and selected Aston at the Waikiki Banyan because it gave us all the convenience of going out to eat if needed and otherwise cooking (toddler-friendly food) in the kitchen of our comfortable suite. The only drawback is the daily fees we had to pay in extra to our vacation package: $15 of on-site parking per day plus another $15 of daily "mandatory amenities" fee including things we otherwise did not ask for such as Wi-Fi and DVD. The latter fee could not be waived which forced us to maximize the "utilization" of what's "covered" every day. While the daily parking rate is understandable, if the hotel can make this "mandatory amenities" fee optional, that will be even better for us when we will consider this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dmw35
Business
Reno, NV
May 28, 2013

Hidden Charges.

I was suprised to realize I was not told in advance that the hotel charged for auto parking. And that the Hotel was under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Camper2
Business
Redondo Beach
May 16, 2013

Outdated and Smelly

The Banyan seems to be going downhill fast. We stayed there about 6 years ago and it was nice and clean. This time around, the hotel and the rooms are showing wear and tear. Our rooms smelled horrible when we walked in the first day. We had to buy room spray. It smelled like old wet wood and mold. The refrigerator was crooked, like the floors were at an incline. The bed was uncomfortable, the sheets were rough. The bathrooms were so small you could barely walk in there. On our last day, the water was shut off from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Talk about inconvenience. For the price we paid for the rooms, it was not worth it at all and will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TriciaDH79
Business
Suisun City, California
Feb 26, 2013

Great hotel for families

This hotel is a great option for budget-conscious families. There is no way a family of five can realistically do Hawaii on a budget...but we did. Our room was clean and had plenty of room for all of us. We bought food at the Safeway up the street for the entire week which saved a bunch. There was a full working kitchen with all utensils, etc. Beach was literally walking distance to hotel. Parking was $12 for 24 hours...so if you plan it right, you might only have to pay for a few days. (I was there for 5 days, but only paid for 4 days)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

24 hour parking is $12...so we would leave before the 24 hours was up and explore. In and out feature was the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie Super Granpa
Business
Omaha
Jan 26, 2013

Great place to stay

We had a great time during our 9 day stay. Service was great,on bus line ,also rented a car -great parking and only $12 per night. We really had a great stay. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks to beach,on bus line walking not far to shopping,zoo,aquarium,small farmer market tues, and thurs.behind hotel. This is great for fruit and veg. also some baked goods. Prices reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCKHD
Business
Florida, USA
Oct 25, 2012

All Good

Nice Location - Nice rooms :):):):):):):):):):):):):)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doretta
Business
Spanaway,wa
Sep 20, 2012

family vacation

Had a wonderful time in Hawaii. Hotel was close to everthing within walking distance. I f we had a issue they resolved it right away. Our airline tickets and hotel reservations were all correct and no problems. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top