$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

3 stars
201 Ohua Avenue, Ste. 406-2, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
98 reviews
February vacation

Our room was nicely upgraded with very comfortable furniture and fixtures including a small... See full review

  • ElmerW
  • Feb 16, 2014
near everything

good management clean rooms and morning paper you wont go wrong staying there See full review

  • shaply
  • Oct 4, 2013
Spacious and affordable getaway within easy reach of the beach

The Waikiki Banyan offers a perfect and affordable getaway for families and couples with comfortable, spacious suites two blocks from the beach. A Hawaiian-style, open-air lobby leads to two towers of rooms that can accommodate up to five people. In-room kitchens stretch your dollar and kid-friendly amenities include a swimming pool, tennis courts, rooftop playground and barbecue area.

Highlights
  • Hotel deck with swimming pool, tennis, basketball, putting green, playground and picnic area
  • Spacious guest rooms equipped with full kitchen and separate living area
  • Request a free play kit for kids that includes beach toys, crayons and coloring book
Location

The Waikiki Banyan sits on a side street near a peaceful stretch of Waikiki.  Walk two blocks from the hotel to reach Waikiki Beach and the main shopping and dining district on Kalakaua Avenue. Take 10- to 15-minute stroll down the beach to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the festivities of Kapiolani Park.

Rooms

Two towers offer a variety of island-decor rooms and afford views of the mountains, Diamond Head and the ocean. Spacious one-bedroom suites offer more than 500 square feet, accommodating up to five people with full kitchens, separate living areas and balcony. High-speed Internet is complimentary.

Dining

Visit Banyan Breeze Coffee Company for light dining options like wraps, sandwiches, salads and coffee. For more extensive options, head to Waikiki's main dining district, located around the corner.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool, sauna and jet spa
  • Basketball, tennis, putting green, children's playground and barbecue picnic area
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Hotel Map

21.2747 -157.8213
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
One block from world-famous Waikiki Beach, three blocks from Honolulu Zoo and near Waikiki Aquarium. Also close to shopping and dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Waikiki Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Standard one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suite with queen or 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes private lanai, full bathroom, full kitchen, separate living area, hair dryer, iron/board and cable TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.6 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Banyan Breeze Coffee Company
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6am-6pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Mateo, CA
Jul 20, 2011

will never stay there anymore!

Do not attempt to open the upper cabinet doors if you are looking for kitchen accessories. They are full of dust and debris. The internet was disconnected almost at all times. Beside that I had to hold the wire with one hand and type with only one hand when it was working. The DVD player takes about 30 to 45 minutes until it starts to work. The water pressure was horrible and disappointing. Room furniture is at least 20-30 years old. When I checked in, I was told that there is no charge for using internet, DVD player and in-room-safe. Even though I asked the staff about it, she told me there are all included in my package and the only thing I have to pay is parking fee and that's because it's operating by another company. When I checked out they charged me $10 plus tax for each night. When I explained to hotel manager, he didn't take the ownership for his mistake, whether it was miscommunication between hotel staff or lack of training, he should have taken the responsibility instead of telling me how sorry he was for his staff's mistake! I paid the money wondering how they can stay in business with such a poor customer service and management skill!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the property loctaed in the heart of wikiki area close to all shopping and restaurants. That's the only good thing to say about this hotel!

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Newly wedded 1987
San Diego
Sep 11, 2013

Not so convenient

First time staying in Waikiki and never staying here again. Beds were stiff as boards. Rooms were slightly more than outdated. Half the DVD rentals for the kids didn't work. The tv was small and the color was disfigured. At first our room Wasn't going to have the balcony available then waited 2 hours for the next room to be ready. The room was so small and uncomfortable that I checked into the hotel next door at the marriot for a night. Wish I would've done better research before spending my money here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hank Roach
Kennewick, WA
Sep 27, 2013

Big Disappointment at the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

We were extremely disappointed when we arrived we were placed in a room where the deck outside our room was stacked with construction material and was off limits to us. Also out of all of the rooms in the two towers our room had outside construction going on. Most of time we were there we had to keep our curtains shut since there we're workman right outside our deck all day long banging away and making as much noise as possible. The Bayan is a very large condominium complex. I'm sure it wasn't necessary to place us in this substandard room. I strongly recommend you to look elsewhere if you are going to Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend the International Market Place as a good place to shop for souvenirs and there is a pretty good Chinese buffet there.

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Camper2
Redondo Beach
May 16, 2013

Outdated and Smelly

The Banyan seems to be going downhill fast. We stayed there about 6 years ago and it was nice and clean. This time around, the hotel and the rooms are showing wear and tear. Our rooms smelled horrible when we walked in the first day. We had to buy room spray. It smelled like old wet wood and mold. The refrigerator was crooked, like the floors were at an incline. The bed was uncomfortable, the sheets were rough. The bathrooms were so small you could barely walk in there. On our last day, the water was shut off from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Talk about inconvenience. For the price we paid for the rooms, it was not worth it at all and will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ka Mee
fond du lac, wi
Jul 13, 2014

worst getaway ever

Customer services were really poor. When we made the reservation, we had no knowledge that we would have to pay for the amenities fees even though we will not be using. There were a misleading information from the hotel. I asked for a supervisor or manager and the reception told me that there was no managers on board at the moment due to the holiday. So basically their hotel was operating by their receptionist only. The receptionist and I argued for 3 hours and we were not going anyways. I flew 10 hours and argued for 3 hours and it was dark and my parties and I were hungry. We have no strengths to fight anymore so we decided to go with the flow and asked for a discount. The receptionist gave us two nights of amenities off. He said we would get fresh hot coffees and teas as an in room service. We do not get anything in room services at all.. they only bring us the stuff to made it ourselves. The receptionist also said that if we do not pay for the amenities now, we can't check in so we gave him our credit card and he did not charge us but only using our credit card as a hold. So when we checked out, a new receptionist said we still need to paid because we haven't paid yet. I got furious because the previous receptionist said we have to pay as we check in but it turned out he lied. This receptionist was deceiving his guests in order to get a hold of our credit card without telling us. Beside this crazy messes, we had a 10 dollar quaters roll along with some other quarters on the table. We forgot to putted the quarters in our purses when we got back to the hotel, all the loose quarters along with the roll of 10 dollar quarters were missing. We couldn't do our laundry so we have to go and get another roll of quarters. I called the front desk and told them about the situation, they just transfered me to housekeeping. The lady who picked up the phone didn't give me the maid name or her name. She just told me that she will have to call the maid but she know that the maid is innocent. We hung up and she called me back, told me that the maid didn't see anything nor took anything. So I hung up without arguing thinking a manager will contact me but nope! Do not ever stay at this hotel people. Theit services are poor, their staffs lies, no managers on board to assist when needed and do not leave any money around because they will steal it and they will not do anything about it! This is my first and laSt time with this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't use this hotel ever again

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fix this place
Washington
Oct 16, 2013

Rooms need to be updated

Rooms need to be remodeled. Not satisfied with the hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New bride
Santa Clarita California
Apr 7, 2011

The Disappointment of the Waikiki Banyan

We arrived in the later part of the evening; We misplaced the safe key and paid for the replacement key; found the key on the way home, called the hotel for the return of the key and get refund on 35.00 replacement fee denied. A pack of cigarettes stolen first morning out of the room. Nickle and dime you too death.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brychael
Business
Lahaina, Maui
Oct 14, 2009

ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan

I explored places near the hotel. I couldn't go far because it was raining. Everything at this hotel was great! EXCEPT for 1 thing...the whole 3 days I'll been there, I've been getting bitten by something on the bed, so Im thinking it's bed bugs! My skin is extremely sensitive and I had an allergic reaction to the bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oceanarium Restaurant inside the Pacific Beach Hotel was a beautiful experience! A little crowded and pricey but it's worth it!

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chandler, AZ
Oct 9, 2009

Aston Waikiki Banyan Review

It was nice having a tennis court. The location was close to a lot of things. The room needed an update. The carpet was very old and uninviting. Having the kitchen was a nice advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great surfing for all skill levels

Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Disappointed.

Having stayed at places that had been given Orbitz three star ratings and higher, combined with the high customer ratings this hotel received, my family and I had fairly high expectations for the Waikiki Banyan. Sadly, we were disappointed. The website virtual tours suggested new, clean and contemporary decor, which is one of the reasons why we selected the Waikiki Banyan. Unfortunately, the room we got was worn, musty, and outdated (circa 1980's). The sofabed my daughter was supposed to use was so old and worn out that you sank and literally felt every spring in the mattress pad. Even as a sofa, the seat cushions were so flat and compressed, that the back of your legs rested against the frame. I actually used the back cushions as secondary seat cushions to make the sofa more comfortable to sit on. The carpet was worn worn out and stained. The room was musty and had the faint smell of stale cigarette smoke in various locations, including the bathroom sink (there were old cigarette burns on the edge of the sink) and slide door area to the balcony (no surprise there as most smokers would probably smoke out in the balcony). The beds had no headboards and were so close to the dresser on one side and to the closet on the other, that you had to stand to the side of the dresser to open the drawers and had to climb over the bed to use the closet. The curtains/drapes didn't completely close and even had some little holes in them. Consequently, in the mornings as the sun rose, you had the sun creeping through the sections that didn't close all of the way and little pin holes of light shining like stars throughout the room. Having a kitchen was nice but we didn't always have what was supposed to be standard in the room. It took them a few days (even after a couple of calls to guest services) for housekeeping to give us a spatula, dish soap, and a cleaning/scrubbing pad. They also had a habit of collecting the used kitchen dish drying towels but not replacing them. The hotel did give us a cot to take the place of the sofabed and even tried to switch rooms for us. But the only other room they said was available was a downgrade from what we had. We took a look at it anyway but it was in the same worn and musty condition as our room, so we declined it. The hotel location and the size of the rooms are actually quite nice. The staff did what it could for us but admitted that only a few of their rooms had been renovated. Apparently, as condos, these rooms are actually independently owned and the hotel simply rents the rooms out for them. So the hotel staff seemed to suggest that the owners of the rooms, not the hotel, were responsible for the renovating and updating of the rooms. Interesting situation if true. Overall, the Waikiki Banyan is not a bad place to stay, but we believe that this facility is more deserving of a two star Orbitz rating. If all of the rooms were renovated and updated, and the furniture replaced, the Waikiki Banyan would be more deserving of the current three star rating. Had the rating been two stars, our expectations would have been different and we would have looked at other locations that were more in line with what we preferred in a hotel. Despite the lengthy criticisms, as long as the actual condition of the rooms is disclosed and appropriate expectations are made, we would still tell others to consider staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search