$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
106 reviews
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014
Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Oversized rooms for the family less than two blocks from the beach

Aston Waikiki Sunset is a gem tucked away from Waikiki's main thoroughfares. The hotel provides at-home comfort at an affordable rate. High-tower rooms offer magnificent views of Waikiki, mountains, Diamond Head or the ocean. Rooms are generous in size with full kitchens and flat-screen HDTVs. The best stretch of Waikiki Beach can be found less than two blocks from the hotel, as well as dining and shopping opportunities. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, hospitality lounge, sauna, outdoor picnic area and tennis court.

Highlights
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Location

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is tucked away from main thoroughfares on the preferred end of Waikiki. The hotel is close to Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. Walk less than two blocks to the beach and numerous shopping and dining destinations.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the hotel are considered suites and offer a minimum of 560 square feet, accommodating up to five people. Choose a one- or two-bedroom suite with a fully-equipped kitchen. Rooms have been recently renovated with new appliances and furniture, soft island colors and 32-inch LCD HDTVs. Other amenities include private balcony, air conditioning and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Select rooms afford magnificent views.

Dining

Arrange for grocery delivery through the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service. A full supermarket can also be found a few blocks from the hotel. Honolulu's casual and finest restaurants are a short walk from the hotel.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool and sauna
  • Illuminated tennis court, picnic area and barbecue grills
  • Hospitality room with 52-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and PC workstations
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater
Policies and fees
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Dec 20, 2010

Horrible hotel

The hotel did not look like the pictures at all. They said all the rooms were renovated but it's not its like a scam. My friend cried as soon as we walked in because the doors were all scatched up and it look old the loby was the size of a large bed room. We had two rooms but canceled it and went to the hawaiian Hilton instead. We came in saw it screamed and checked out. Please don't waste your time staying here it's a big scam. The renovations is just a cover up of a very very old hotel that doens't even look like it's been renovated. I booked a package and realy reget choosing this hotel thats why I ended up being frustated and had to pay a lot more for geting a last minute better hotel. So take my advice and do not stay here you will be very very disapponted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZFamily878807
Business
California, USA
Nov 21, 2012

Roaches and Noisy

During our five night stay at the Aston Waikiki Sunset hotel, the service we experienced was extremely disappointing. We had several issues with the room, the service and the staff. We even had to wait over two hours for our room to be "finished" so that we could check in. The hotel and room were clean, but there was construction going on a week ahead of schedule. When we booked our room, we were not warned. We were also not warned when we checked in. Had we been informed we would not have stayed here. The noise from the construction was unbearable. It was so loud at times that we could not maintain a conversation. We were not in our room much, but when we were the noise was horrible. When I spoke with the front desk they were semi rude about the situation. The gentleman I spoke with asked me "what do you want me to do about it?" - Really?!?!? We also found a cockroach on our kitchen floor. When I called the desk about it, the gentleman said that they are common in Hawaii and there was nothing they could do. All of that on top of the fact that the walls are so thin, we could hear our "neighbor" cough and talk (normal volume, no yelling). The room was sub-standard for a three star hotel. there was no TV in the "master bedroom" but there was in the second room (2 bedroom suite). The "great location" is only a couple blocks from the beach, but there are on average 10 homeless people in that short distance. I do not mean to be judgmental, but they could do a better job of keeping these people away from the area. I was approached on multiple occasions being asked for money. I will never stay here again and I would recommend that people do not stay here. If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep (where you don't mind a horrible bed and lots of noise) then by all means. Other than that, I wouldn't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 21, 2007

not worth for the money

ResortQuestSunset Waikiki was one of the worst hotel that we've stayed-in & taking it that it was our firttime ever to spend one week in a hotel. The room was so unclean, i even crashed a baby roach, that means, there are more cochroaches lurking around. Worst also, was their small appliances like their rice cooker, it was rusty and needs immediate replacement; their utensils like their non-stick spatula, as well needs immediate replacement as well as thier dish drainer, there are all rusty. what happened to building inspector in Hawaii, you don't get what you pay for. The glass windows are not clean at all. This is truly a very disgusting hotel. The room is so noisy, I couldn't get enough sleep, i have to turn on the radio to camouflage the noise, perhaps, the noise is from the airconditioning or something for their utility system. Actually, when I got home, I was having terrible headache---it could be from too much noise in that room. IT IS ABSOLUTELY GROTESQUE!!!!!! Afterall, we did not get what we paid for from staying in this hotel. Also, it was so stinky, we even to have to buy our own air freshner!!! Also, noteworthy, I went to this Internet Cafe and asked for Restroom keys and the attendant there was sooooo inconsiderate, he went to ask me if I have a business there. I said I just needed to use the restroom(I'm glad i didn't got an accident there in front of a lot of people), in short, he did not let me use the restroom. It is so frustrating that with this petty thing, it would ruin my vacation of a lifetime---in Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach is walking distance and there is a Catholic Church, too (St. Augustine Catholic Church)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UNITED STATES ARMY
Business
OVERSEAS
Nov 20, 2009

THE WORST HOTEL WE'VE EVER BEEN IN

The rooms were so small...all the photo views were totally outrageous...I would not recommend anyone to go to that hotel ever...It's the worst hotel i've ever been in...the bathrooms looked ancient and the shower head was very moldy...overall the rooms was a joke...my family tried to stay away from the hotel as much as possible only to go and take showers then head back out...total bust for my money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dale in Atlanta
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Hawaii vacation

Rooms are very cramped. Kitchen utensils are almost non-existent. Coffee which was supposed to be provided daily had to be requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
torb
Business
California, USA
Feb 20, 2012

noisy & stuffy

We stayed on the 32nd floor with an Ocean view. The room itself was nice and had everything we needed. The view is obstructed by other hotels. Our room was two down the hall from the elevator and you could here the ding everytime it opened on our floor. You could also hear the street noise at night including multiply sirens. In the early morning we awoke to the sound of monkeys & birds from the neighboring zoo. Due to construction during our visit we were unable to use our balcony or open any windows making the room very stuffy. The air conditioning smelled weird and made the room very dry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sailorGr
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Would be nice had they not closed out our balcony due to remodel

We visited it in April 2012. The hotel is undergoing remodel. The entrance is surrounded by sky folding and does not look great. However, it’s quite nice inside the room with fairly new granite counter top and range oven. The living room and bedroom also nice and clean and fairly new. Now come the bad parts. There is a daily $10 fee and you get Internet, coffee pod, and DVD rental in the lobby. But you need to use cable to get online (hello, we are not in 90’s) but no wireless in the room. So all your devices won’t work. They also closed out the balcony, the quintessential tropical living space, due to remodeling. In two of the days they painted the balcony floor and the room/ hallway smelled really bad. I think they should refund part of the hotel charge because part of the living space is not usable at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

DVD rental in the lobby is good for keeping your kid occupied when you pack/ unpack

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed2012005
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 12, 2012

Not worth the money

Hotel was old, beds very uncomfortable, spent lots of time waiting on elevators. Free DVD and PS2 games were mostly scratched and didn't work. Pool and tennis courts very average and closed for construction during our stay. Main bright point is location. Very easy to walk to beach, dining, and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 15, 2007

OK

We like the room lay-out and the kitchen amenities. The location was excellent - close to shopping, dining and of course, the beach. The room was cleaned once during our 6-day stay. The bathroom amenities were only supplied at the beginning of our stay. We did not get the extra towels we requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is excellent for families that love the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Farrar's
Business
SF CA
Nov 10, 2009

Good Location

All Staff: Front Desk Clerks, Security, maintanence, parking attendant & Conciere needs work. Guests should always be greeted when they walk in and out of the Lobby or anytime but instead staff was always more interested in looking at the computer or looking away. No gym and pool was not heated. Mt View Deluxe Room & size was nice and roomy. Kitchenette was perfect to help with cost of meals. Laundry room needs 1-2 more sets of washers and dryers. Overall the stay was ok. Location was good. Just a 5 minute walk to the beach and to the Waikiki Strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top