$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
95 reviews
family place

we selected mt.view and it was fantastic moment for my family. I'll choose this hotel if i go to... See full review

  • SEUNGHOI K.
  • Jun 10, 2015
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014

Aston Waikiki Sunset is a gem tucked away from Waikiki's main thoroughfares. The hotel provides at-home comfort at an affordable rate. High-tower rooms offer magnificent views of Waikiki, mountains, Diamond Head or the ocean. Rooms are generous in size with full kitchens and flat-screen HDTVs. The best stretch of Waikiki Beach can be found less than two blocks from the hotel, as well as dining and shopping opportunities. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, hospitality lounge, sauna, outdoor picnic area and tennis court.

General
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater
Location

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is tucked away from main thoroughfares on the preferred end of Waikiki. The hotel is close to Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. Walk less than two blocks to the beach and numerous shopping and dining destinations.

Dining

Arrange for grocery delivery through the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service. A full supermarket can also be found a few blocks from the hotel. Honolulu's casual and finest restaurants are a short walk from the hotel.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the hotel are considered suites and offer a minimum of 560 square feet, accommodating up to five people. Choose a one- or two-bedroom suite with a fully-equipped kitchen. Rooms have been recently renovated with new appliances and furniture, soft island colors and 32-inch LCD HDTVs. Other amenities include private balcony, air conditioning and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Select rooms afford magnificent views.

Property features

Spacious suite hotel with sweeping city views

Highlights
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Nearby attractions
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.
Transportation
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool and sauna
  • Illuminated tennis court, picnic area and barbecue grills
  • Hospitality room with 52-inch flat-screen TV
Policies
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Sunset also booked these hotels.

★★★
$148
3.7 / 5 402 reviews
★★★
$194
3.8 / 5 86 reviews
★★★
$99
3.8 / 5 313 reviews
★★★★
$168
3.9 / 5 1,083 reviews
★★★
$119
3.5 / 5 296 reviews
★★
$77
3.0 / 5 105 reviews
★★★
$135
3.8 / 5 108 reviews
★★★
$165
3.6 / 5 369 reviews
★★★
$164
4.1 / 5 72 reviews

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 95
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AZ Escapee
Couples
Tucson, AZ
Feb 10, 2013

Comfortable-ish, but Watch out for Surprise Fees

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks in February of 2013. We had a king suite that included a pull out in the living room, along with a full kitchen. The king bed was comfortable, the pull out was tolerable (had to sleep there for the first night as I was sick), the kitchen was fine, and the living room's seating was tolerable but fairly uncomfortable (hard couch and chairs). The hotel's location is almost perfect: it's only a two block walk to the beach and definitely less expensive than the hotels right on the water. The hotel's maid service was fine, though the hotel doesn't offer room service of any sort. However, my biggest problem with the hotel was the surprise $15/day mandatory "amenity fee" they charge for internet and a daily paper. Though the hotel's details page lists it not, it didn't back when we booked. For two weeks this was a significant extra charge, and a very unpleasant surprise, too boot. Overall, this surprise has soured me on the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

None of the food in Waikiki was amazing, but Tiki's was probably the best (the bar area, not the dining area, which had a different menu). Excellent drinks menu and the live entertainment was fantastic.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juan Carlos local 652
Couples
Anaheim Ca
Nov 3, 2013

honeymoon

Average! Paid for amenities that didn't work(Internet)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Locals go to Walmart or swap meet for their stuff. Local market is very expensive. There is a ross a few blocks down as well, less expensive for bathing suits/towels.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angela M.
Couples
Converse
Jun 16, 2015

Hope you like to throw away your money

The hotel itself was nice but a little dated. The internet broke the second day we were there and were instructed to call the internet company ourselves. The toilet broke the third day we moved in but was fixed immediately. The AC vent in the bedroom points to the right side of the bed. The AC was blowing in my face all night. I woke up the next day with a scratchy throat and sounded like I was losing my voice all day. I had to put a T-Shirt over the vent so it would blow on the floor and not at my face every night. I thought I was getting a deal on a hotel only to find out at check in that I would be charged $15.00 a day to park in the hotel parking garage. There is no other parking near the hotel. Then I was charged an additional $18.00 a day for internet, news paper, coffee, and DVD rental. Whether I wanted them or not. So much for saving money. There was no view from my side of the hotel except the pool. There are better hotels on Honolulu to stay at. I will never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Voyagers
Couples
Hillsboro, OR
Dec 2, 2012

Aston Waikiki

Great value and location. The kitchenette was very handy and well furnished; like a full kitchen. Saved $s by having healthy breakfasts when we liked. Safeway was a 5min drive, or short walk to ABC/Food Pantry. Ocean view from 29th floor was excellent. The beach was only two blocks away. A few complaints: Room AC poorly designed. Air vent was right over bed and loud. Temperature Controls gave only full blast or none. The "low fan" option just blasted sporadically; kicking in just as you started to fall asleep again. This time of year, got away with chilling room down and shutting it off, doubt that would work in summer. The bed definitely needed a new mattress: very soft with a pit in the middle. The daily Ammenities fee of $10 (over & above the added parking fees) has no value at all, as others have reported. The DVDs were nothing current, and we didn't come to Waikiki to watch movies anyways. Parking fee is the same scam in any big city hotel on the globe, so not much you can do there. Hotel did have visible security in the lobby and on the grounds (including the garage). Wireless internet in-room would have been nice in the 21st century, but they did provide a cable for kicking it old school. Otherwise just use your phone. Pool is on north side of hotel, too cool w/o sun in November, but mite be nice in summer. Location is on the quieter east of Waikiki strip. Stayed at Ohana East several years ago which is now ironically the more active part of the area. Overall, the Aston was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like Udon and Tempura, you must go to Marukame Udon on Kuhio St. Alway a line to get in, but worth the 15-20min wait for absolutely delicious Japanese cuisine. Also don't miss Nakamura Ramen on strip at Kalakaua Ave and Beachwalk, generous portions and very tasty.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFOFUN
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Newly Remodeled Condos

The rooms have just been remodeled. They did a nice job on the room. The lobby and the halls need to be redone. There was a lot of construction going on the other floors. Construction workers kept using the elevators so it would take a long time to get to floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lewien
Couples
Perth WA, Australia
Mar 10, 2012

Aston sunset

Very helpful and friendly staff, location was set back a few blocks from the beach but everything was within walking distance. Our room viewed the hill side which we were disappointed at first about but at night the view was extraordinary. Overall experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jimaha
Couples
cincinnati ohio
Sep 25, 2012

great view

mtn,view was awesome, construction going on but we still had good time, very little problem with the construction. overall worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

buffet best value seafood buffet

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Arkansas
Apr 10, 2011

Enjoyed our stay, Nice view of Ocean

Room had everything we needed! Quick walk to beach and shopping. Housekeeping kept us with fresh linens everyday. No major problems to speak of. Will try and stay there again on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping withing walking distance. Several restaurants as well.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto
Feb 21, 2010

Excellent value for the $$!

Swimming at pool in am and Waikiki Beach in pm (only 2 blocks away), Hanauma Bay snorkeling, Watch waves and surfers on the North Shore, Dole Plantation, Drive around the island in a convertible, Excellect shopping at outlet mall outside of Honolulu (Waikele). Very pleased with the hotel. Nicely renovated. We have been here 4 times now and would recommend it to anyone. Only problem is the occassional slowness of the elevators but that would not stop us from returning. Full kitchen in unit was great. Can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use kitchen facilities for meal preparation.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 24, 2011

Great for the price

The hotel is conveniently located in Waikiki where almost everything is in walking distance. The rooms were large and clean, and the staff friendly. There's convenient parking located on the facility ($11 per day, my assumption is that parking is about equal at the other hotels). My only complaints was that the elevator system didn't seem to communicate what each shaft was doing so instead of trying to figure out the best way to move people, each elevator moved independently of one another. It took 7 minutes one time to get an elevator on the 14th floor, so I can only image what the people on 37 waited. The stairs are barricaded around floor 5 so you can't get around using the elevators as well. [...] they don't even have kitchen facilities on site and thus no food of any kind outside of pre-packaged goods in their mini-mart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Top of Waikiki is a fantastic place to eat.

Back to menu Return to top