$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HAWAII'S MY SECOND HOME
Business
NJ
Oct 20, 2010

Excellent!!!

THIS HOTEL HAS IT ALL...I BEEN TO OTHER HOTELS, THEY WERE GREAT AND THIS ONE IS JUST AS GREAT...GREAT STAFF...CLEAN AND MODERN ROOMS..SPACIOUS...GREAT LOCATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING YOU NEED IS WALKING DISTANCE...THATS ONE OF THE BEST THINGS...

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, IL
Jul 21, 2009

Excellent courteous staff!

We were here for 10 days, primarily to get my daughter who is attending U of H established by looking for an apartment and found one just around the corner from the Aston Wakiki, Sunset. Excellent room overlooking the mountain (we were in one of the more recently renovated rooms on the 28th floor). Rooms were spotless, with kitchenet. Great place to stay - convenient location - two "short" blocks from Waikiki. Parking always available and easily accessible to lobby/elevators. Staff most accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

convenient bus service to all of waikiki just around the corner - great access!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Sep 27, 2009

Best kept secret in Waikiki

This was our third stay at the Waikiki Sunset. We had a beautiful completely remodeled room with a wonderful view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Yes, the hotel /condo is a few blocks from the beach, but the savings and size of the condo more than make up for it. The Front desk, [...] and [...], are wonderful! So friendly and helpful. The full kitchen is perfect for all meals which is a huge savings. If dining out is perferred the condo is within easy walking distance of many great restaurants in Waikiki. The parking is very convienient and only $11 per day (value for Waikiki). Do not expect a 5 star resort, that it is not. What you will receive is a clean, remodeled condo (ask for a remodeled room), outstanding customer service, and easy affordable parking. This is perfect for families on a budget, or just a smart traveler. We cannot wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 25, 2008

Very family friendly

We are a family of four, and we had a very nice stay at the ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset. Our room had an ocean/Diamond Head view, which you could enjoy from the balcony as well as from the large bedroom window. The hallway carpeting and doors are a very dated pea green, but the rooms were nice. The hotel was located very conveniently a couple of blocks from Waikiki beach, and the beach towels were provided by the hotel. Our suite had a twin and double bed in the bedroom, as well as a sofa sleeper in the living room area. The kitchen was fully equipped--all you have to do is provide the food. It saved us a lot of time and expense to be able to eat our meals in the room, especially breakfast. Our kids were to receive a free gift and a discount card for various places and venues when we checked in, but they forgot. When we asked the front desk about it the next day, they provided the items. We had a rental car which we parked at the hotel parking lot for an $11.00 daily fee. There was internet access for a fee on the 6th floor. The pool was also there, but we didn't get the chance to use it. All in all, I would stay there again, and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenacres
Sep 12, 2008

Excellent Value

The Waikiki Sunset is an excellent value for the money. Close to everything at a value price. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are large with a separate bedroom and living room. Full kitchen to prepare meals if you want to. We had an excellent view of Diamond Head with peek-a-boo views of the ocean from our balcony. This is an older property and it shows it age, but they were starting a major renovation during our visit. Parking is available for $11 a day which we found to be a great value as well. Nice pool and walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and the ala wai canal. We will definately return for another visit in the future,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping are all within walking distance. Bus stop close by as well.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 9, 2007

Good value for your money

You are getting a condo unit for the price of a hotal room. Very comfortable and adequate space, plus benfits of a kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk to the beach.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 21, 2007

Comfortable and relaxing

ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. It is about 3 blocks from the beach. This made it easy to walk to but we didn't have all the congestion of the beach. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We had one bedroom with a king bed and a living room with table and chairs and a sofa sleeper. It also had a kitchen area with refridgerator, stove, sink, microwave, ect. The sport area (swimming pool, tennis court) on the 6th floor had a great view of Diamond head. The view from our room showed the mountains. There was also gated parking. The only thing that we didn't like was they only have 3 elevators and they were very slow, so we always had a wait. There was also a small market in the hotel. You could quickly pick up snacks and drinks. There is also 2 ABC stores within 1 block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are shops and eating all around. The International Market place was about 6 blocks away, but you could walk down the beach to get there.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yucaipa, CA
Jul 20, 2008

Family Fun close to the beach/downtown

Our stay at the Resort Quest Sunset was very nice from check-in to check -out. With the beach just 3 blocks and food in town we could have stayed longer. The pool and facilities were great and the staff were very helpful. The elevators were just fine -remember you are on hawaii time! We would definitely stay again knowing we had the full kitchen condo. It felt like home for a week anyways! ALOHA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place was just 6 blocks but a pleasant walk anyways!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raghu.
Business
Oklahoma.
Apr 4, 2010

Excellent Family Getaway

Ideal location: very close to Waikiki beach. While I was away at a conference my family had a great time just walking around Waikiki. The staff were extremely friendly. There is a convenience store inside the hotel which was very useful. Breathtaking views of the ocean from the room balcony. Next trip to Hawaii we will most certainly stay at Aston Sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 10, 2009

Awesome Hotel!

The view from room 3608 was AWESOME! Could see Diamond Head and a large expanse of the ocean. Was able to use the travel service for all of the different things we wanted to do. The beach was really only 2 blocks away and there was easy access to shopping, restaurants, public transportation, and anything tourist-y that you can imagine for Waikiki. We didn't mind hearing the hustle and bustle since we are from a large city. The bonus was being able to hear the peacocks, monkeys, tigers and elephants from the nearby zoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pan-Pacific Festival was an unexpected bonus to our trip. It was wonderful to walk down to the beach for free entertainment and to partake in the food vendors and watch the parade.

Back to menu Return to top