$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
South San Jose Calif
Oct 27, 2009

Family Vacation

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. They gave us a map of how to get to where we neded to go. This htoel is a great hotel to bring your family on an average budget. It was very clean and comfortable. I will definetely stay here again. Our 2 older college kids stayed in their own condo. It was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Honalulu, HI
Mar 2, 2010

Hawaiian Honeymoon

Good location, but our view of the ocean was blocked by a few other tall buildings that was unexpected when looking at the hotel discriptions on the web. Hotel was clean and serviced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Grand Circle Tour was VERY GOOD. You really get to see great scenic spots with information that really enriches the experience.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2007

basic clean place to sleep

The Resortquest Waikiki Sunset is a reasonable hotel at a great price. It's a little older but fine for us because all we wanted was a clean place to shower and sleep. They won't allow you to check in early, but they will store your bags so you can shop or eat while you wait for 3:00 to roll around. The 4 elevators are inadequate for the hotel - they were often so full we would wait for the next one; and even on lower floors you can't take the stairs because the doors are locked on every level except the lobby - this is an understandable security precaution, but it would have been nice to be able take the stairs instead of waiting for the lift, especially going between the 5th and 6th floors where the convenience store and the pool / business center are located. The full-size kitchen was nice to have, altho we didn't use it much. The laundry room on our floor (7) had 2 washers and 2 dryers, the dryer ran very hot so pay attention to your clothes. The shower curtain was not up to the task, the bathroom floor was always wet after a shower. All in all, not great luxury but a clean place to sleep in Waikiki, definitely good if you are on a budget and would rather spend your money on activities than on a swanky hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take advantage of the coupon book that the hotel gives, also check out Oahu Gold book available free on street stands. The buses are a pretty good way to get around if you don't have a car, and many activities away from Waikiki include shuttle transportation.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Geneva
Jul 12, 2007

Low Cost

While this hotel was a short walking distance to the beach, the immediately surrounding buildings were in disrepair. The view we had from our balcony was of both Diamond Head and the ocean because we were on the 18th floor and could see between and beyond other buildings - very nice! While the entire hotel could use a sprucing up, it was kept clean by a very friendly staff. And, while this wasn't luxurious, it provided a kitchenette, living room with pull-out couch, and a bedroom at a reasonable cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were within walking distance of the beach, zoo, park, and aquarium, as well as shopping and dining.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poet Baker
Family
Phoenix, AZ
May 14, 2014

Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was spotless, the staff really helpful and friendly, and the minimart on site made it easy to pick up snacks, etc.. We could see the beach and ocean from the balcony, which was comfortably set up with a small table and 2 chairs. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat. There's an activity person (concierge) who was super friendly and helpful about getting us tours to Pearl Harbor and a luau with discounts, plus he was great at giving us directions and schedules for buses, so we really didn't need a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're not locked in to a hotel on the beach, picking a hotel that's not on, even just 3 blocks off, will save you a lot in room costs. Getting one with a kitchen lets you have breakfast and lunch in the room, so you can splurge on dinner.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
n/a
Jul 19, 2011

n/a

well organized thanks P.D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
South Carolina
Jul 11, 2009

Great location

The condo was within walking distance of the beach at Waikiki and had a beautiful view of Diamond Head. We were on the 10th floor so we had an obstructed view of the ocean but if staying on the 20 - 32nd floor, we would have had a great view of the beach too. The decor was dated but housekeeping kept in very clean. We liked having a kitchen so we didn't have to eat out all the time. There is also parking if you rent a car. We had a wonderful time and I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend booking trips online rather taking planned tours. It save us a lot of money by driving ourselves and already having tickets to attractions.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Monterey Park
Jun 3, 2010

Nice Getaway

Not bad, rooms have been re done. Large space, but about two-three blocks from beach and at the very end of Waikiki. Other guest got kind of loud at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

At nite walk along Waikiki beach and look for entertainment at back of hotels. You can find great entertainment!!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Mar 30, 2010

Friendly Service - Nice Value

This is a nice hotel 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. If you can get a deal around $125 to $150 a night (with tax) for a 2 bedrm/1bath, then the value is good. Parking is extra-about $11 per day. We had several parents who stayed in the hotel for all-island soccer matches. Washing machines were conveniently located on each floor, there's a large pool, tennis courts, BBQ, and adjoing lounge/TV area. We had a really nice 2 bedrm/1 bath on upper floor with a great diamond head view. Many rooms have been recently redone and the pillows were great (a huge plus!). We liked having a kitchen and eating bar (there is no restaurant in hotel-but you are a short walk away from every type of restaurant); the only negative was no small dishwasher for the kitchen and the elevators can be slow. Staff was courteous. If you snag an upper floor ocean view (higher price), the views are fabulous. Not much of a lobby, but totally adequate in that respect. This hotel can accomadate romantic couples or families and is still fairly quiet but close to the action if you choose to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks to Waikiki beach which is a great beach. Fun for the kids to learn to surf right there. Also fun if you like to walk around and people watch. Some fabulous shops in Waikiki, although Cartier, Chanel, etc, are expensive. Kapiolani Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium are close by.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loko Malo
Family
Houston, Texas
Sep 28, 2010

Aston Wakiki Sunset

Fantastic location and very friendly staff. We received an Ocean view room upgrade upon check-in. The room was spotless and a perfect size for a family of four. Had a wonderful time and the value was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top