$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
172 reviews
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014
Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Oversized rooms for the family less than two blocks from the beach

Aston Waikiki Sunset is a gem tucked away from Waikiki's main thoroughfares. The hotel provides at-home comfort at an affordable rate. High-tower rooms offer magnificent views of Waikiki, mountains, Diamond Head or the ocean. Rooms are generous in size with full kitchens and flat-screen HDTVs. The best stretch of Waikiki Beach can be found less than two blocks from the hotel, as well as dining and shopping opportunities. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, hospitality lounge, sauna, outdoor picnic area and tennis court.

Highlights
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Location

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is tucked away from main thoroughfares on the preferred end of Waikiki. The hotel is close to Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. Walk less than two blocks to the beach and numerous shopping and dining destinations.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the hotel are considered suites and offer a minimum of 560 square feet, accommodating up to five people. Choose a one- or two-bedroom suite with a fully-equipped kitchen. Rooms have been recently renovated with new appliances and furniture, soft island colors and 32-inch LCD HDTVs. Other amenities include private balcony, air conditioning and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Select rooms afford magnificent views.

Dining

Arrange for grocery delivery through the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service. A full supermarket can also be found a few blocks from the hotel. Honolulu's casual and finest restaurants are a short walk from the hotel.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool and sauna
  • Illuminated tennis court, picnic area and barbecue grills
  • Hospitality room with 52-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and PC workstations
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater
Policies and fees
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.8204
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Walking distance to Waikiki Beach, Honolulu Zoo and Kapiolani Park. Near shopping, dining and nightlife.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aungkana 9/17/09
San Jose, CA
Sep 29, 2009

Great, Clean but a little walk to beach

Great and Clean with new renovation room. The overall is great but a little bit walk to the beach around .2 Mile. Worth money to spend and cooking if you like. Family: Highly recommend and will save $ on food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ayeseattle
Seattle
Sep 19, 2012

Fantastic

Everything very good (location, room comfort) but staff at. Counter not friendly. Housekeeping did not a good job ,not vacuum. Use the same blanket for us I know because I am housekeeping I use the pen marking on blanket . End of the day I back to hotel and check my blanket marking still on blanket .That's mean housekeeping not change anything she just make the bed and use old blanket for 3 night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family that loves to travel
San Diego
Aug 27, 2009

Fantastic Family vacation

Hotel was in a great location, just a few blocks from the beach and a few blocks from International Marketplace. Easy to get to shopping areas and many food choices within walking distance. Zoo was less than 2 blocks away. Rooms were good size and we had a King Bed, which was nice and firm. Overall, the place was clean and well kept. However, Housekeeping, was not the best since they always seemed to come right as we were getting in to wind down with our kids, who are very young. They always seemed to come about 4-5 pm, rather than in the morning, when we were out and about Hawaii and out of the room. Getting anywhere in the elevators was also a mess since they were always packed with people. Most times we had to skip about 3-4 elevators and let them pass because they were just too full. But, the cost of the room and the location could not be beat. The rooms were clean and updated and the staff were very nice. Since this hotel was tucked back a bit from the beach, it was not noisy at all. The veranda was great and our kids loved eating breakfast there each morning. The pool was also great since it went as low as 2 ft. so my 1 1/2 year old could play in the shallow part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Collins (Adventure Seekers)
Seattle, WA
May 2, 2009

A home away from home

Our stay at the Waikiki Sunset was not laiden with a luxurious resort feel, and some would look at it and say that it was not of the same quality of some of the more fancy resorts along the strip. While this is true to a certain degree, this is why we chose this resort. We wanted a more "at home" feel to things. We felt as though we had our own little condo in Waikiki. Our 36th floor mountain view was just breathtaking! We upgraded to a newly renovated room(totally worth it), and loved it. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The staff was friendly, and while we were very busy and out enjoying the sunshine, we would come back to fresh towels and a turned down bed each evening. We loved the kitchenette for easy breakfasts and the laundry facilities on each floor. This was great for our family vacation and we plan to stay here on our next visit to the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We recommend getting a rental car while on the island. While Waikiki is great for shopping and the beach, there is sooooooo much more to see if you have a car. Tours are great, but expensive and they get to decide when and where you stop. We enjoyed just exploring the island and were amazed at how the terrain and vegetation changed throughout the island. We got to see everything from the Arizona Memorial, to Sea Life Park, to the Dole Pineapple Plantation, to the Polynesian Cultural Center, and tons of great scenery and trade winds in our hair! We tried a few restaraunts off the beaten path and were very pleasantly suprised at better prices and great food. Parking was a small challenge at times, but we usually bought a little something and got validated. With a simple map purchase, the island traffic and highways were very easy to navigate. The car seemed to make an already great trip ten times better. We felt like we were on an adventure every day!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
granby, ct
Nov 1, 2010

Aston waikiki sunset

hotel was located couple of blocks from beach. had nice view of pool. quiet, clean, comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tiki's bar & grill.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, CA
Jul 20, 2011

worth it for the extra space

Having the extra space with bedroom and living room/kitchen was worth it. A week with two kids in a single room would have been very cramped. Use of kitchen was also convenient and a time saver in the mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, IL (suburb of Chicago)
Aug 6, 2009

ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset

We were staying at the Waikiki Sunset primarily to help our daughter find an apartment who will be attending the University of Hawaii at Manoa this fall. What can I say ~ the convenience and helpful staff at the Waikiki Sunset was wonderful. First off, the parking for $11 per day (multiple exit/entry) in their enclosed adjacent parking lot was a god-send (and you can extend your parking for an additional $11 to accommodate for a late flight out); the hotel is located away from the Waikiki congestion, yet only a short 2 block walk from the hotel and 1/2 block from the bus stop ($1 for student and seniors, $2.25 for adults round trip). Most importantly, the apartment that we located for our daughter was just around the corner 1 block away! The convenience of moving her things from the hotel into the apartment was great (street parking's virtually nil). As to our hotel room? We had the mountain view on the 28th floor, so we had no obstruction from the buildings below - the view was breathtaking. We took a 10-day jaunt to Kauai and then returned to stay at Waikiki Sunset for an additional 4 nights - this time on the 8th floor (not yet renovated - actually, the room was less costly, comfortable and clean). While our balcony view was obstructed with another building, we had partial views of Diamond Head and the ocean. Not bad! Staff is really accommodating and service was promptly attended; only suggestion that I have is to ask the tour director downstairs if any of their tours have AAA or AARP discounts - didn't think to ask - but the guide should have mentioned it! A lovely trip/visit - Aloha and Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Only suggestion that I have is to ask the tour director downstairs if any of their tours have AAA or AARP discounts - didn't think to ask - but the guide should have mentioned it! A lovely trip/visit

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
telluride174
WA state
Oct 20, 2009

Clean, friendly, good for families!

This was a great hotel for our price range. We loved the kitchenette. Downside is it's not right on the water (about a block and a half). Also we didn't like the parking fees (but you'll be hard-pressed to find anywhere in Honolulu that doesn't charge those). Staff was friendly, rooms were clean, had a mini-mart, beach towel check-out, wi-fi, etc. We didn't use the pool or tennis courts, but they looked nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

go to Dakora Sushi and get the fried brownie tempura. Most amazing dessert I've had in a very long time!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
South San Jose Calif
Oct 27, 2009

Family Vacation

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. They gave us a map of how to get to where we neded to go. This htoel is a great hotel to bring your family on an average budget. It was very clean and comfortable. I will definetely stay here again. Our 2 older college kids stayed in their own condo. It was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loko Malo
Houston, Texas
Sep 28, 2010

Aston Wakiki Sunset

Fantastic location and very friendly staff. We received an Ocean view room upgrade upon check-in. The room was spotless and a perfect size for a family of four. Had a wonderful time and the value was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top