$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bassplayer and Ukulele Liz
Business
Boston.MA
Mar 15, 2009

We Loved It

The hotel is located in an area that at first seems weird if you arrive at night. But the room was beautiful! It was renovated and on the 36th fl. The full kitchen came in very handy and saved us money. We had a mountain view that was breath-taking. There was access to the lanai from both rooms and both had TVs. The bathroom was hugh and well stocked with great shampoo, condtioner, and soaps,not the usual cheapie ones. We went to Waikiki Beach every day, which was just a few blocks away. The hotel is located near the quieter end of the beach which we loved. We checked out the nearby Honolulu Zoo and loved it, especially the tiger cubs. If you go, Lulu's is located nearby and is a great place to eat, right across from the beach. Buy your food at the many ABC stores or find out where near the hotel they come to sell veggies/fruit on Wens and Fri and go to the International Marketplace for soveniers at a good price. I have no complaints about the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. There's a store on the 5th fl where you can get neccessties. I would have liked a continetal breakfast or coffee in the morning, but I guess that's where the full kitchen comes in. They give you enough coffee for one time as a kind of welcome, but there's a coffee maker so you can buy some. There's plenty of strong Hawaiian coffee sold nearby and if you're missing home a Starbucks up the street.(But no Dunkies)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Honolulu Zoo, rent a boggie board and body surf (hard for first timers like us but FUN!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 11, 2010

Aston Waikiki Sunset

The staff was super and the rooms were nice. This hotel is not an upscale hotel, but does provide a good room for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba Jeff
Business
Utah
Apr 8, 2011

A Few Days in Waikiki

Had to pay for parking in their garage at $11/day which was a disappointment, but the suite we rented had a full kitchen and separate living room and bedroom areas and was very nice. Older hotel but reasonably priced for its location and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks off the beach at Waikiki. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeeNeo
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Great experience!

I just returned from a week stay at the Aston Waikiki Sunset and had a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at every turn. The hotel is located 3 blocks from the beach and we had a gorgeous mountain view. You could tell the rooms had recently been redone and were very clean. We loved the fact that our room came with a kitchenette area so we could cut expenses by eating a few meals in. This was a great choice for anyone who wants a clean room and great view. The room wasn't huge, but big enough for 3 women to spread out and not get in each other's way. What a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvmyoreos
Business
Burbank, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Paradise

This was our first time staying at the Aston Waikiki Sunset and it was exactly what we were looking for. It was clean, comfortable and the kitchen served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommend the hawaii trolley daily pass (all three lines, $30) to visit diamond head monument, downtown honolulu and other near by attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blissful
Business
Ohio, USA
Dec 31, 2011

hawaiian islands

we enjoyed our balcony view of diamond head from our two bedroom - kitchenette unit ! It was a wonderful choice. The bedroom was a tad small but we didn't care - the rest exceeded our expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lewien
Business
Perth WA, Australia
Mar 10, 2012

Aston sunset

Very helpful and friendly staff, location was set back a few blocks from the beach but everything was within walking distance. Our room viewed the hill side which we were disappointed at first about but at night the view was extraordinary. Overall experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pottsie
Business
Boone, IA 50036, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Great March Vacation

Everything from our check in to our check out was sensational. The staff was exceptional and the whole vacation was excellant. We were treated with respect an greedted everytime we went from one area to another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see and do everythin the staff at the Aston suggests because they knew what they were talking about. Evertthing they suggested was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Mai Tai
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Family Vacay

We loved this Hotel, we are a family of five, it accomodated us all. They were going through some renovations however it did not affect us at all. Very clean, spacious rooms. Newly upgraded kitchen and very clean. Service was great we asked for a extra blanket and they were there with another blanket within 5 minutes and very friendly. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ohana vac
Business
Firebaugh, CA
Apr 10, 2012

great family vacation

The hotel was nice. It was clean and housekeeping always came in to clean it. The staff was friendly and always willing to help us in anyway that they could. It was walking distance from the beach. It had a kitchen that we were able to take full advantage of. We would stay there again if we traveled back to hawaii

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of stores near the hotel that are just walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top