$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juan Carlos local 652
Business
Anaheim Ca
Nov 3, 2013

honeymoon

Average! Paid for amenities that didn't work(Internet)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Locals go to Walmart or swap meet for their stuff. Local market is very expensive. There is a ross a few blocks down as well, less expensive for bathing suits/towels.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 15, 2007

OK

We like the room lay-out and the kitchen amenities. The location was excellent - close to shopping, dining and of course, the beach. The room was cleaned once during our 6-day stay. The bathroom amenities were only supplied at the beginning of our stay. We did not get the extra towels we requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is excellent for families that love the beach.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Farrar's
Business
SF CA
Nov 10, 2009

Good Location

All Staff: Front Desk Clerks, Security, maintanence, parking attendant & Conciere needs work. Guests should always be greeted when they walk in and out of the Lobby or anytime but instead staff was always more interested in looking at the computer or looking away. No gym and pool was not heated. Mt View Deluxe Room & size was nice and roomy. Kitchenette was perfect to help with cost of meals. Laundry room needs 1-2 more sets of washers and dryers. Overall the stay was ok. Location was good. Just a 5 minute walk to the beach and to the Waikiki Strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
novato
Oct 7, 2009

needs a lot of work!!!

not much to say about an old hotel that needs a lot of work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
puth
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 3, 2014

Please do not stay in this hotel

This hotels location was good.The staff was helpful.However the first suite we checked into had cockroaches.We brought this matter immediately to the attention of the hotel front desk and they provided us another suite. Unfortunately we continued to have the same problem with the cockroaches in the second suite that we moved into. We finally spent the rest of the vacation installing baits for the c ockaroaches to prevent them from getting into our suitcases.I would never reccomend this hotel to anyone. I will be requesting a refund for all the inconvenience caused.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese Cuisine - UDON American Cuisine - ROYS

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UNITED STATES ARMY
Business
OVERSEAS
Nov 20, 2009

THE WORST HOTEL WE'VE EVER BEEN IN

The rooms were so small...all the photo views were totally outrageous...I would not recommend anyone to go to that hotel ever...It's the worst hotel i've ever been in...the bathrooms looked ancient and the shower head was very moldy...overall the rooms was a joke...my family tried to stay away from the hotel as much as possible only to go and take showers then head back out...total bust for my money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angela M.
Business
Converse
Jun 16, 2015

Hope you like to throw away your money

The hotel itself was nice but a little dated. The internet broke the second day we were there and were instructed to call the internet company ourselves. The toilet broke the third day we moved in but was fixed immediately. The AC vent in the bedroom points to the right side of the bed. The AC was blowing in my face all night. I woke up the next day with a scratchy throat and sounded like I was losing my voice all day. I had to put a T-Shirt over the vent so it would blow on the floor and not at my face every night. I thought I was getting a deal on a hotel only to find out at check in that I would be charged $15.00 a day to park in the hotel parking garage. There is no other parking near the hotel. Then I was charged an additional $18.00 a day for internet, news paper, coffee, and DVD rental. Whether I wanted them or not. So much for saving money. There was no view from my side of the hotel except the pool. There are better hotels on Honolulu to stay at. I will never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sky's mom
Business
GA
Jul 24, 2009

overall it was good

overall it was good. First night we found out coffee maker was broken,they exchanged new one. 6th floor pool restroom was always closed in the morning!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hawaii five o
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

good location

room was a bit noisy, it was right in front of the elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sbisin
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Dec 28, 2011

Aston Hotel review

Comfortable accomodation. Beds (all) were horribly soft. not very clean but OK. lovely fully equipped kitchen. Had to request coffee for the morning.On checkout there was an error. The hotel tried to make me pay for someone else's parking for four days when it should have been one day. It took a long time and aggravation to convince them that the mistake was on their side and I was not chancing my arm. The hotel tour person that works for Pleasant Hawaiian who gives out information on the island was extremely helpful, patient and a great resouce. Next time I would try another hotel. We attended the orientation breakfast and bought two packages. The one to the cultural center was (I believe) overstated. "you will have reserved seats" implying "good seats". They were the very last row at the back. Very good show though. Thanks for asking and I hope this feedback helps someone else. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top