$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
May 5, 2007

very family friendly

the great thing about this Hotel is it is near everything ! The Zoo is behind us and the Diamond Head at view at your pleasure and we really enjoy the kitchen , it's a full size and you can cook if you want too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is straight down the street a short walk

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nanofat
Business
Castro Valley, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great hotel, reasonable price

Really, there's nothing we could complain about Waikiki Sunset. The rooms and kitchen+utensils were clean, and the staff were very friendly. The only downside was that we had to pay a hotel amenity fee of $10/day. The parking was $11/day, quite cheap compared to other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mevil
Business
Santa Ana, California
May 18, 2012

Gateaway vacation with friend

We got there late night and the staff was very helpful, we requested a room at a higher floor and had no problem getting it. All amenities provider by the hotel were explained. The room was small but comfortable, with a great view. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st Time to Waikiki
Business
Illinois
Nov 4, 2012

great value during construction

just a few blocks from waikiki beach. also less than 1 block from the bus station for buses # 9 & #20 (or #22?) which can take you to the airport in 30-40 minutes for $1.50. Not bad at all! we had the city view. the room itself included kitchen with cups, pans, water boiler. way more than we needed, but great addition. both the bed and the sofa bed in the living room were VERY comfortable. very clean. bathroom towels changed daily. we were not allowed to open window or go on the balcony due to exterior construction, but it was no big deal. didn't use the swimming pool since the beach was so close by!! there's a guide person in the lobby to help you book tours or give you general ideas for restaurants or things to do. he is SUPER NICE and VERY HELPFUL. the only annoying thing was the forced $30 fee that included a lot of amenities that we could have done without (daily newspaper??). also, the wireless password had to be re-entered each time internet loaded. this did not happen with my laptop, but did happen with cell phone wi-fi function. this was especially annoying because the password had a random combo of letters & numbers that were not easy to type in. overall, just small annoyances, but stay was definitely enjoyable. i think it was a little expensive for my taste, since i don't need a kitchen, but the value is good (had promotion while construction takes place).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

the restaurant "House without a Key" is a little expensive, and in a resort near the expensive end of Waikiki strip, but the food is really great, and a wonderful experience to dine by the ocean with live performances.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 21, 2009

Great accommodations!

Free Wi-Fi is available only on the 6th floor, parking was $11 a day. Hotel is still undergoing renovations and to get one of the renovated suites, we upgraded through the hotel at $40 additional per night. Hotel provides free beach towels on the 4th floor and snorkel equipment rentals can be had on the 5th floor mini mart. It was a really great value and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terre Haute Traveler
Business
Terre Haute, In.
Apr 29, 2011

Excellent Experience

If you are wanting to escape the hotel experience and are looking for a home away from home this is the place for you. A very relaxing place where you can brew a cup of coffee in the morning and not have to leave the room. Perfect for us as the wife is an early riser and could go into the other room and enjoy the morning and not disturb me......The staff was very helpful and friendly, everything the website said about the hotel was true..would highly recommend this place to anyone staying 7 days or more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Being able to cook basic meals and breakfast in the room was very cost effective.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west covina, ca
Apr 29, 2011

Great Trip

Great trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Haunuama Bay

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
elmont ny
Apr 18, 2011

great pkg

loved having a efficiency room..didn't know till we got there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking on streets thereis none.Parking garages $7 to $11

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saulsbury, TN
Jun 6, 2008

Home away from home,only this one is in paradise!!

Our bed was just like mine at home. Our children enjoyed the swimming pool as we watched them from the balcony. I'm happy to say at their ages of 9 and 12 we were able to give them a little free time to play without any problems. It was very hard to leave such a beautiful vacation. We are hoping to return very soon. This my way of celebrating my wife's birthday. It was a big success!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is one block away.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
littlefield tx
Mar 20, 2011

fantastic get a way would do it again

went to the beach everything was fine it very comfortable it didnt have lot of luxury the thing i like it felt like home tv kitchen the view we sure did enjoy it thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top