$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
106 reviews
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014
Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Oversized rooms for the family less than two blocks from the beach

Aston Waikiki Sunset is a gem tucked away from Waikiki's main thoroughfares. The hotel provides at-home comfort at an affordable rate. High-tower rooms offer magnificent views of Waikiki, mountains, Diamond Head or the ocean. Rooms are generous in size with full kitchens and flat-screen HDTVs. The best stretch of Waikiki Beach can be found less than two blocks from the hotel, as well as dining and shopping opportunities. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, hospitality lounge, sauna, outdoor picnic area and tennis court.

Highlights
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Location

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is tucked away from main thoroughfares on the preferred end of Waikiki. The hotel is close to Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. Walk less than two blocks to the beach and numerous shopping and dining destinations.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the hotel are considered suites and offer a minimum of 560 square feet, accommodating up to five people. Choose a one- or two-bedroom suite with a fully-equipped kitchen. Rooms have been recently renovated with new appliances and furniture, soft island colors and 32-inch LCD HDTVs. Other amenities include private balcony, air conditioning and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Select rooms afford magnificent views.

Dining

Arrange for grocery delivery through the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service. A full supermarket can also be found a few blocks from the hotel. Honolulu's casual and finest restaurants are a short walk from the hotel.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool and sauna
  • Illuminated tennis court, picnic area and barbecue grills
  • Hospitality room with 52-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and PC workstations
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater
Policies and fees
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
littlefield tx
Mar 20, 2011

fantastic get a way would do it again

went to the beach everything was fine it very comfortable it didnt have lot of luxury the thing i like it felt like home tv kitchen the view we sure did enjoy it thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HAWAII'S MY SECOND HOME
Business
NJ
Oct 20, 2010

Excellent!!!

THIS HOTEL HAS IT ALL...I BEEN TO OTHER HOTELS, THEY WERE GREAT AND THIS ONE IS JUST AS GREAT...GREAT STAFF...CLEAN AND MODERN ROOMS..SPACIOUS...GREAT LOCATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING YOU NEED IS WALKING DISTANCE...THATS ONE OF THE BEST THINGS...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, IL
Jul 21, 2009

Excellent courteous staff!

We were here for 10 days, primarily to get my daughter who is attending U of H established by looking for an apartment and found one just around the corner from the Aston Wakiki, Sunset. Excellent room overlooking the mountain (we were in one of the more recently renovated rooms on the 28th floor). Rooms were spotless, with kitchenet. Great place to stay - convenient location - two "short" blocks from Waikiki. Parking always available and easily accessible to lobby/elevators. Staff most accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

convenient bus service to all of waikiki just around the corner - great access!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Sep 27, 2009

Best kept secret in Waikiki

This was our third stay at the Waikiki Sunset. We had a beautiful completely remodeled room with a wonderful view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Yes, the hotel /condo is a few blocks from the beach, but the savings and size of the condo more than make up for it. The Front desk, [...] and [...], are wonderful! So friendly and helpful. The full kitchen is perfect for all meals which is a huge savings. If dining out is perferred the condo is within easy walking distance of many great restaurants in Waikiki. The parking is very convienient and only $11 per day (value for Waikiki). Do not expect a 5 star resort, that it is not. What you will receive is a clean, remodeled condo (ask for a remodeled room), outstanding customer service, and easy affordable parking. This is perfect for families on a budget, or just a smart traveler. We cannot wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 25, 2008

Very family friendly

We are a family of four, and we had a very nice stay at the ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset. Our room had an ocean/Diamond Head view, which you could enjoy from the balcony as well as from the large bedroom window. The hallway carpeting and doors are a very dated pea green, but the rooms were nice. The hotel was located very conveniently a couple of blocks from Waikiki beach, and the beach towels were provided by the hotel. Our suite had a twin and double bed in the bedroom, as well as a sofa sleeper in the living room area. The kitchen was fully equipped--all you have to do is provide the food. It saved us a lot of time and expense to be able to eat our meals in the room, especially breakfast. Our kids were to receive a free gift and a discount card for various places and venues when we checked in, but they forgot. When we asked the front desk about it the next day, they provided the items. We had a rental car which we parked at the hotel parking lot for an $11.00 daily fee. There was internet access for a fee on the 6th floor. The pool was also there, but we didn't get the chance to use it. All in all, I would stay there again, and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenacres
Sep 12, 2008

Excellent Value

The Waikiki Sunset is an excellent value for the money. Close to everything at a value price. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are large with a separate bedroom and living room. Full kitchen to prepare meals if you want to. We had an excellent view of Diamond Head with peek-a-boo views of the ocean from our balcony. This is an older property and it shows it age, but they were starting a major renovation during our visit. Parking is available for $11 a day which we found to be a great value as well. Nice pool and walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and the ala wai canal. We will definately return for another visit in the future,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping are all within walking distance. Bus stop close by as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 9, 2007

Good value for your money

You are getting a condo unit for the price of a hotal room. Very comfortable and adequate space, plus benfits of a kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 21, 2007

Comfortable and relaxing

ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. It is about 3 blocks from the beach. This made it easy to walk to but we didn't have all the congestion of the beach. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We had one bedroom with a king bed and a living room with table and chairs and a sofa sleeper. It also had a kitchen area with refridgerator, stove, sink, microwave, ect. The sport area (swimming pool, tennis court) on the 6th floor had a great view of Diamond head. The view from our room showed the mountains. There was also gated parking. The only thing that we didn't like was they only have 3 elevators and they were very slow, so we always had a wait. There was also a small market in the hotel. You could quickly pick up snacks and drinks. There is also 2 ABC stores within 1 block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are shops and eating all around. The International Market place was about 6 blocks away, but you could walk down the beach to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yucaipa, CA
Jul 20, 2008

Family Fun close to the beach/downtown

Our stay at the Resort Quest Sunset was very nice from check-in to check -out. With the beach just 3 blocks and food in town we could have stayed longer. The pool and facilities were great and the staff were very helpful. The elevators were just fine -remember you are on hawaii time! We would definitely stay again knowing we had the full kitchen condo. It felt like home for a week anyways! ALOHA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place was just 6 blocks but a pleasant walk anyways!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raghu.
Business
Oklahoma.
Apr 4, 2010

Excellent Family Getaway

Ideal location: very close to Waikiki beach. While I was away at a conference my family had a great time just walking around Waikiki. The staff were extremely friendly. There is a convenience store inside the hotel which was very useful. Breathtaking views of the ocean from the room balcony. Next trip to Hawaii we will most certainly stay at Aston Sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top