$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba Jeff
Business
Utah
Apr 8, 2011

A Few Days in Waikiki

Had to pay for parking in their garage at $11/day which was a disappointment, but the suite we rented had a full kitchen and separate living room and bedroom areas and was very nice. Older hotel but reasonably priced for its location and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks off the beach at Waikiki. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 11, 2010

Aston Waikiki Sunset

The staff was super and the rooms were nice. This hotel is not an upscale hotel, but does provide a good room for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bassplayer and Ukulele Liz
Business
Boston.MA
Mar 15, 2009

We Loved It

The hotel is located in an area that at first seems weird if you arrive at night. But the room was beautiful! It was renovated and on the 36th fl. The full kitchen came in very handy and saved us money. We had a mountain view that was breath-taking. There was access to the lanai from both rooms and both had TVs. The bathroom was hugh and well stocked with great shampoo, condtioner, and soaps,not the usual cheapie ones. We went to Waikiki Beach every day, which was just a few blocks away. The hotel is located near the quieter end of the beach which we loved. We checked out the nearby Honolulu Zoo and loved it, especially the tiger cubs. If you go, Lulu's is located nearby and is a great place to eat, right across from the beach. Buy your food at the many ABC stores or find out where near the hotel they come to sell veggies/fruit on Wens and Fri and go to the International Marketplace for soveniers at a good price. I have no complaints about the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. There's a store on the 5th fl where you can get neccessties. I would have liked a continetal breakfast or coffee in the morning, but I guess that's where the full kitchen comes in. They give you enough coffee for one time as a kind of welcome, but there's a coffee maker so you can buy some. There's plenty of strong Hawaiian coffee sold nearby and if you're missing home a Starbucks up the street.(But no Dunkies)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Honolulu Zoo, rent a boggie board and body surf (hard for first timers like us but FUN!)

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SEUNGHOI K.
Business
Tokyo
Jun 10, 2015

family place

we selected mt.view and it was fantastic moment for my family. I'll choose this hotel if i go to honolulu again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sky's mom
Business
GA
Jul 24, 2009

overall it was good

overall it was good. First night we found out coffee maker was broken,they exchanged new one. 6th floor pool restroom was always closed in the morning!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hawaii five o
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

good location

room was a bit noisy, it was right in front of the elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sbisin
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Dec 28, 2011

Aston Hotel review

Comfortable accomodation. Beds (all) were horribly soft. not very clean but OK. lovely fully equipped kitchen. Had to request coffee for the morning.On checkout there was an error. The hotel tried to make me pay for someone else's parking for four days when it should have been one day. It took a long time and aggravation to convince them that the mistake was on their side and I was not chancing my arm. The hotel tour person that works for Pleasant Hawaiian who gives out information on the island was extremely helpful, patient and a great resouce. Next time I would try another hotel. We attended the orientation breakfast and bought two packages. The one to the cultural center was (I believe) overstated. "you will have reserved seats" implying "good seats". They were the very last row at the back. Very good show though. Thanks for asking and I hope this feedback helps someone else. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ayeseattle
Business
Seattle
Sep 19, 2012

Fantastic

Everything very good (location, room comfort) but staff at. Counter not friendly. Housekeeping did not a good job ,not vacuum. Use the same blanket for us I know because I am housekeeping I use the pen marking on blanket . End of the day I back to hotel and check my blanket marking still on blanket .That's mean housekeeping not change anything she just make the bed and use old blanket for 3 night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Voyagers
Business
Hillsboro, OR
Dec 2, 2012

Aston Waikiki

Great value and location. The kitchenette was very handy and well furnished; like a full kitchen. Saved $s by having healthy breakfasts when we liked. Safeway was a 5min drive, or short walk to ABC/Food Pantry. Ocean view from 29th floor was excellent. The beach was only two blocks away. A few complaints: Room AC poorly designed. Air vent was right over bed and loud. Temperature Controls gave only full blast or none. The "low fan" option just blasted sporadically; kicking in just as you started to fall asleep again. This time of year, got away with chilling room down and shutting it off, doubt that would work in summer. The bed definitely needed a new mattress: very soft with a pit in the middle. The daily Ammenities fee of $10 (over & above the added parking fees) has no value at all, as others have reported. The DVDs were nothing current, and we didn't come to Waikiki to watch movies anyways. Parking fee is the same scam in any big city hotel on the globe, so not much you can do there. Hotel did have visible security in the lobby and on the grounds (including the garage). Wireless internet in-room would have been nice in the 21st century, but they did provide a cable for kicking it old school. Otherwise just use your phone. Pool is on north side of hotel, too cool w/o sun in November, but mite be nice in summer. Location is on the quieter east of Waikiki strip. Stayed at Ohana East several years ago which is now ironically the more active part of the area. Overall, the Aston was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like Udon and Tempura, you must go to Marukame Udon on Kuhio St. Alway a line to get in, but worth the 15-20min wait for absolutely delicious Japanese cuisine. Also don't miss Nakamura Ramen on strip at Kalakaua Ave and Beachwalk, generous portions and very tasty.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFOFUN
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Newly Remodeled Condos

The rooms have just been remodeled. They did a nice job on the room. The lobby and the halls need to be redone. There was a lot of construction going on the other floors. Construction workers kept using the elevators so it would take a long time to get to floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top