$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 22, 2007

great location

The location is really convenient to shopping, zoo, aquarium and most restaurant/ fast food. The room was cleaned daily however the furnitures were dusty. The bed was not comfortable (sagging). The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, we are satisfied with this hotel and may return next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are not renting a car, the bus system is good and easy. Ask the front office for bus guide.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Apr 10, 2011

Enjoyed our stay, Nice view of Ocean

Room had everything we needed! Quick walk to beach and shopping. Housekeeping kept us with fresh linens everyday. No major problems to speak of. Will try and stay there again on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping withing walking distance. Several restaurants as well.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, IL (suburb of Chicago)
Aug 6, 2009

ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset

We were staying at the Waikiki Sunset primarily to help our daughter find an apartment who will be attending the University of Hawaii at Manoa this fall. What can I say ~ the convenience and helpful staff at the Waikiki Sunset was wonderful. First off, the parking for $11 per day (multiple exit/entry) in their enclosed adjacent parking lot was a god-send (and you can extend your parking for an additional $11 to accommodate for a late flight out); the hotel is located away from the Waikiki congestion, yet only a short 2 block walk from the hotel and 1/2 block from the bus stop ($1 for student and seniors, $2.25 for adults round trip). Most importantly, the apartment that we located for our daughter was just around the corner 1 block away! The convenience of moving her things from the hotel into the apartment was great (street parking's virtually nil). As to our hotel room? We had the mountain view on the 28th floor, so we had no obstruction from the buildings below - the view was breathtaking. We took a 10-day jaunt to Kauai and then returned to stay at Waikiki Sunset for an additional 4 nights - this time on the 8th floor (not yet renovated - actually, the room was less costly, comfortable and clean). While our balcony view was obstructed with another building, we had partial views of Diamond Head and the ocean. Not bad! Staff is really accommodating and service was promptly attended; only suggestion that I have is to ask the tour director downstairs if any of their tours have AAA or AARP discounts - didn't think to ask - but the guide should have mentioned it! A lovely trip/visit - Aloha and Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Only suggestion that I have is to ask the tour director downstairs if any of their tours have AAA or AARP discounts - didn't think to ask - but the guide should have mentioned it! A lovely trip/visit

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
granby, ct
Nov 1, 2010

Aston waikiki sunset

hotel was located couple of blocks from beach. had nice view of pool. quiet, clean, comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tiki's bar & grill.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Feb 21, 2010

Excellent value for the $$!

Swimming at pool in am and Waikiki Beach in pm (only 2 blocks away), Hanauma Bay snorkeling, Watch waves and surfers on the North Shore, Dole Plantation, Drive around the island in a convertible, Excellect shopping at outlet mall outside of Honolulu (Waikele). Very pleased with the hotel. Nicely renovated. We have been here 4 times now and would recommend it to anyone. Only problem is the occassional slowness of the elevators but that would not stop us from returning. Full kitchen in unit was great. Can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use kitchen facilities for meal preparation.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OK Family
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Sep 12, 2010

Great place for our family!

This hotel was perfect for us. The location was great. Not right on the beach but the walk was an easy few blocks and offered peace and quiet away from the hustle bustle of the main strip. Staff was professional and helpful. We did not use the hotel pool because we spent our "water" time at the beach but did go take a look and it looked clean and pleasant. Parking garage seemed very secure. Hotel has a mini mart inside for sunscreen, other beach items, etc. which was also convenient for us. Only minor complaint I would have is that the kitchen utensils, cookware, etc. was limited. This hotel does not offer a lot of glitz and glamour but it was clean and provided everything we needed for a great trip to Hawaii!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bunmi
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2007

family friendly

The Resort Quest was a decent enough stay. It's two blocks from the beach and the strip, so you are close to all the shops and resturaunts. The view from the hotel was beautiful and the condo rooms were nice enough. But you could tell that the hotel has not updated their rooms in some twenty years. The furniture was old and beat up and there were several things in our room that could use some fixing. But if I wanted to be completely satified with these things then I would have paid more money to stay at a four or five star hotel. For what the hotel cost and all that it offered, I was completely satisfied with my stay. I have only two real complaints. One: The elevators are extremely slow for the first half of the day. Even though there are four of them you could find yourself waiting for as long as then minutes for one to come. A real buzz kill sometimes. Two: There is no room service. The hotel has no kitchen so if you find yourself hunger in the morning and want an omelette or something, you're out of luck. But as I said, all in all one should be happy enough,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the grocery store so you can use the kitchen if you have a condo suite and will save money.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 3, 2009

ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset

Was overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Keo's Thai Restuarant...Yum!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Apr 29, 2009

Had Fun

Good, clean, friendly staff, 4 blocks from beach (5min walk.) Minimart in hotel was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk the beach strip in the evenings-enjoy the sreet shows, tiki lights and atmosphere.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
derezzed
Business
LA,CA
Feb 15, 2011

Aston Waikiki Sunset

Upgraded our room to a double room after our original reservation had already been given up. Had an unobstructed view of Diamond Head, which was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kapahulu, just a few short minutes by walking, is your gateway to really great local spots that are inexpensive and more delicious than most of touristy Waikiki. Get out there and explore!

Back to menu Return to top