$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jimaha
Business
cincinnati ohio
Sep 25, 2012

great view

mtn,view was awesome, construction going on but we still had good time, very little problem with the construction. overall worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

buffet best value seafood buffet

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike927
Business
high point
Oct 18, 2012

Great Family Vacation

The staff was great! The location was great and the view was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The steaks at Hoys are great!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shirlokholmes
Business
New York
Mar 6, 2013

Family getaway

if you are looking for a family getaway with the basic amenities needed, rooms are very clean and well equiped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

make reservations for sight seeing on your own--it saves a decent amount.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MC West
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 17, 2013

Great value, nice staff, good location in Waikiki.

Visited family and did some business. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Relatively quiet and staff was friendly and responsive to a broken curtain wand which was fixed immediately. Store in the building was convenient and the kitchen was helpful in preparing breakfast and late night snacks. Saved lots of $$! Wish they didn't charge so much for parking and the mandatory resort fee. All in all a good value for what you get. I also like the DVD and game rentals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC stores have nice t-shirts for sale to buy as gifts for friends back home!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Beak Get Away
Business
Lynnwood, WA
Apr 5, 2010

Spring Break Get Away

We enjoyed our stay at the Aston Sunset. We found the staff friendly. The location was close to the beach and the shops and restaurants were close also. We enjoyed having a nice living space with a living room with a full kitchen and a separate bedroom and a deck. The rooms seemed to be recently renovated with internet connection available if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the restaurants which were in walking distance and when we had played too hard that day we enjoyed the plethera of ABC stores nearby where you could buy deli food to take to the room and relax.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mai Trang
Business
Springfield, IL
Jul 9, 2007

very family friendly

in general i was please w/ my stay at the hotel. i was shock to find so many bed bug bites on my kids and myself after 3 nites stay. i requested linen changes after my discovery. but i would come back on my next trip to hawaii

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

15 mins. walk to international market 15 min drive to swapmeet

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Collins (Adventure Seekers)
Business
Seattle, WA
May 2, 2009

A home away from home

Our stay at the Waikiki Sunset was not laiden with a luxurious resort feel, and some would look at it and say that it was not of the same quality of some of the more fancy resorts along the strip. While this is true to a certain degree, this is why we chose this resort. We wanted a more "at home" feel to things. We felt as though we had our own little condo in Waikiki. Our 36th floor mountain view was just breathtaking! We upgraded to a newly renovated room(totally worth it), and loved it. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The staff was friendly, and while we were very busy and out enjoying the sunshine, we would come back to fresh towels and a turned down bed each evening. We loved the kitchenette for easy breakfasts and the laundry facilities on each floor. This was great for our family vacation and we plan to stay here on our next visit to the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We recommend getting a rental car while on the island. While Waikiki is great for shopping and the beach, there is sooooooo much more to see if you have a car. Tours are great, but expensive and they get to decide when and where you stop. We enjoyed just exploring the island and were amazed at how the terrain and vegetation changed throughout the island. We got to see everything from the Arizona Memorial, to Sea Life Park, to the Dole Pineapple Plantation, to the Polynesian Cultural Center, and tons of great scenery and trade winds in our hair! We tried a few restaraunts off the beaten path and were very pleasantly suprised at better prices and great food. Parking was a small challenge at times, but we usually bought a little something and got validated. With a simple map purchase, the island traffic and highways were very easy to navigate. The car seemed to make an already great trip ten times better. We felt like we were on an adventure every day!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston mass
Nov 21, 2009

great hotel!!

the staff was very helpful,room was huge..stayed there with my son, grandson and daughter in law..plenty of room for all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to wakikii beach and plenty of dining!!! overlooks diamond head!!!!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
telluride174
Business
WA state
Oct 20, 2009

Clean, friendly, good for families!

This was a great hotel for our price range. We loved the kitchenette. Downside is it's not right on the water (about a block and a half). Also we didn't like the parking fees (but you'll be hard-pressed to find anywhere in Honolulu that doesn't charge those). Staff was friendly, rooms were clean, had a mini-mart, beach towel check-out, wi-fi, etc. We didn't use the pool or tennis courts, but they looked nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

go to Dakora Sushi and get the fried brownie tempura. Most amazing dessert I've had in a very long time!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family that loves to travel
Business
San Diego
Aug 27, 2009

Fantastic Family vacation

Hotel was in a great location, just a few blocks from the beach and a few blocks from International Marketplace. Easy to get to shopping areas and many food choices within walking distance. Zoo was less than 2 blocks away. Rooms were good size and we had a King Bed, which was nice and firm. Overall, the place was clean and well kept. However, Housekeeping, was not the best since they always seemed to come right as we were getting in to wind down with our kids, who are very young. They always seemed to come about 4-5 pm, rather than in the morning, when we were out and about Hawaii and out of the room. Getting anywhere in the elevators was also a mess since they were always packed with people. Most times we had to skip about 3-4 elevators and let them pass because they were just too full. But, the cost of the room and the location could not be beat. The rooms were clean and updated and the staff were very nice. Since this hotel was tucked back a bit from the beach, it was not noisy at all. The veranda was great and our kids loved eating breakfast there each morning. The pool was also great since it went as low as 2 ft. so my 1 1/2 year old could play in the shallow part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top