$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kansas City, MO
May 21, 2007

Met all our needs

The ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset was a very nice, clean, comfortable hotel. Staff in most part were friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and the kitchen was awesome - microwave, utensils, dishes - everything provided. Location great - just a couple blocks from Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is great - close to everything - beach, restaurants, nightlife, shopping.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Aug 30, 2008

VERY FRIENDLY STAFF

WE HAD A GREAT STAY, THE ROOM WAS VERY COMFORTABLE AND VERY CLOSE TO THE BEACH. THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. I WOULD GO BACK AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THE BEACH WAS JUST A SHORT WALK ALONG WITH SHOPPING AND DINNING.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 26, 2007

Very Nice!

Not the best hotel, but The Resortquest Waikiki Sunset is by far better than a lot of the others. Condo style rooms with seperate bedroom and a living room area with a pull-out queen sofabed plus a full-sized kitchen with kitchen range/oven and regular sized refrigerator, microwave oven, toaster and coffee maker. The balcony w/table and chairs(2)was nice as well. Ocean view was a bit obscured by other hotels but we could see Diamond Head one way and surfers out on Waikiki Beach the other way! Not great but not bad! This was good for us because we wanted to cook some of our meals(mostly breakfast)and two couples could have privacy as the rooms were seperate and not open like other hotels. Location was OK on the quiet side of Waikiki, unless you want to party down the main area of Waikiki where most of the shops and nightclubs are at. It's a bit of a walk though. There is a Starbucks, Burger King and Subway close by on Kalakaua,(the main strip down Waikiki)as there is no resturaunt in this hotel(why have one if you have a full kitchen to use? but there are places to dine down the road). There was dining specials all the time at the Ocean Resort Hotel nearby at their resturant/grill. Anyone can go there.. The staff here was good and very friendly and the room was always clean and we always had fresh, clean towels, soap, lotions, etc. everyday and our beds were made and sheets were changed if we requested it. It's 5 min to the beach and you have a bus stop on the corner of Kuhio to take you to either downtown Waikiki, or historical Honolulu where the Iolani Palace is, Chinatown, or the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the piers near Aloha Tower, etc.. or anywhere on the island such as Pearl Harbor, Haunauma Bay, etc... Oahu's transportation is second to none! Only $1 and a bus shows up every 5 or 10 min.. OR you can take the trolley for a more scenic view. Costs a little more but some are free to the Galleria and Hilo Hatties(shopping venues). If you have a car rental you can park in the garage for $9/day(that was a downer!) but there are worst rates in town to park. Very tight garage stalls so watch out! There is a pool, mainly for the kids and women to lay out and tan and there is a tennis court and a gas-grill cooking area. There is a mini-mart on the 5th floor for much needed items like sugar, coffee, band-aids, sunscreen, pop, snorkel masks and fins, etc.. and on the 6th floor near the pool is a computer room and wi-fi area for laptops. Overall, we liked it a lot and would recommend it! Not the fanciest but great for families or two couples as rooms could acccomodate up to 5 people. VERY GOOD STAY!!...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

..Advice: Don't need a car rental if going just in town. Just use the bus or trolley. Also, go to the ABC stores for simple items. Go to the Swap Meet for souvenirs to take back home(T-shirts, etc..) at Aloha Stadium on Wed, Sat or Sun. Going to the Arizona Memorial - Go early as possible, before 7am ! Aloha and have fun!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Land Man 45
Family
Baton Rouge, La
Mar 10, 2014

Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeeNeo
Friends
New York, NY, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Great experience!

I just returned from a week stay at the Aston Waikiki Sunset and had a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at every turn. The hotel is located 3 blocks from the beach and we had a gorgeous mountain view. You could tell the rooms had recently been redone and were very clean. We loved the fact that our room came with a kitchenette area so we could cut expenses by eating a few meals in. This was a great choice for anyone who wants a clean room and great view. The room wasn't huge, but big enough for 3 women to spread out and not get in each other's way. What a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blissful
Family
Ohio, USA
Dec 31, 2011

hawaiian islands

we enjoyed our balcony view of diamond head from our two bedroom - kitchenette unit ! It was a wonderful choice. The bedroom was a tad small but we didn't care - the rest exceeded our expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lewien
Couples
Perth WA, Australia
Mar 10, 2012

Aston sunset

Very helpful and friendly staff, location was set back a few blocks from the beach but everything was within walking distance. Our room viewed the hill side which we were disappointed at first about but at night the view was extraordinary. Overall experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Mai Tai
Family
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Family Vacay

We loved this Hotel, we are a family of five, it accomodated us all. They were going through some renovations however it did not affect us at all. Very clean, spacious rooms. Newly upgraded kitchen and very clean. Service was great we asked for a extra blanket and they were there with another blanket within 5 minutes and very friendly. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ohana vac
Family
Firebaugh, CA
Apr 10, 2012

great family vacation

The hotel was nice. It was clean and housekeeping always came in to clean it. The staff was friendly and always willing to help us in anyway that they could. It was walking distance from the beach. It had a kitchen that we were able to take full advantage of. We would stay there again if we traveled back to hawaii

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of stores near the hotel that are just walking distance

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elyem
Family
Tucson, AZ
Jun 9, 2012

Great location!

This is a great hotel for a vacation to Hawaii. At this time they are remodeling some areas but I am sure that this will be a first-rate hotel when it is all done. The one bedroom suite was always kept clean. Great ocean views. Overall a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MAC 24/7 excellent food/service.

Back to menu Return to top