$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
105 reviews
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014
Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Oversized rooms for the family less than two blocks from the beach

Aston Waikiki Sunset is a gem tucked away from Waikiki's main thoroughfares. The hotel provides at-home comfort at an affordable rate. High-tower rooms offer magnificent views of Waikiki, mountains, Diamond Head or the ocean. Rooms are generous in size with full kitchens and flat-screen HDTVs. The best stretch of Waikiki Beach can be found less than two blocks from the hotel, as well as dining and shopping opportunities. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, hospitality lounge, sauna, outdoor picnic area and tennis court.

Highlights
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Location

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is tucked away from main thoroughfares on the preferred end of Waikiki. The hotel is close to Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. Walk less than two blocks to the beach and numerous shopping and dining destinations.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the hotel are considered suites and offer a minimum of 560 square feet, accommodating up to five people. Choose a one- or two-bedroom suite with a fully-equipped kitchen. Rooms have been recently renovated with new appliances and furniture, soft island colors and 32-inch LCD HDTVs. Other amenities include private balcony, air conditioning and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Select rooms afford magnificent views.

Dining

Arrange for grocery delivery through the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service. A full supermarket can also be found a few blocks from the hotel. Honolulu's casual and finest restaurants are a short walk from the hotel.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool and sauna
  • Illuminated tennis court, picnic area and barbecue grills
  • Hospitality room with 52-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and PC workstations
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater
Policies and fees
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.8204
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Walking distance to Waikiki Beach, Honolulu Zoo and Kapiolani Park. Near shopping, dining and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st Time to Waikiki
Illinois
Nov 4, 2012

great value during construction

just a few blocks from waikiki beach. also less than 1 block from the bus station for buses # 9 & #20 (or #22?) which can take you to the airport in 30-40 minutes for $1.50. Not bad at all! we had the city view. the room itself included kitchen with cups, pans, water boiler. way more than we needed, but great addition. both the bed and the sofa bed in the living room were VERY comfortable. very clean. bathroom towels changed daily. we were not allowed to open window or go on the balcony due to exterior construction, but it was no big deal. didn't use the swimming pool since the beach was so close by!! there's a guide person in the lobby to help you book tours or give you general ideas for restaurants or things to do. he is SUPER NICE and VERY HELPFUL. the only annoying thing was the forced $30 fee that included a lot of amenities that we could have done without (daily newspaper??). also, the wireless password had to be re-entered each time internet loaded. this did not happen with my laptop, but did happen with cell phone wi-fi function. this was especially annoying because the password had a random combo of letters & numbers that were not easy to type in. overall, just small annoyances, but stay was definitely enjoyable. i think it was a little expensive for my taste, since i don't need a kitchen, but the value is good (had promotion while construction takes place).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

the restaurant "House without a Key" is a little expensive, and in a resort near the expensive end of Waikiki strip, but the food is really great, and a wonderful experience to dine by the ocean with live performances.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento ,CA
Oct 13, 2010

Fantastic getaway

The hotel or condo is a great place to stay it's three blocks from the Waikiki beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saulsbury, TN
Jun 6, 2008

Home away from home,only this one is in paradise!!

Our bed was just like mine at home. Our children enjoyed the swimming pool as we watched them from the balcony. I'm happy to say at their ages of 9 and 12 we were able to give them a little free time to play without any problems. It was very hard to leave such a beautiful vacation. We are hoping to return very soon. This my way of celebrating my wife's birthday. It was a big success!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is one block away.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenacres
Sep 12, 2008

Excellent Value

The Waikiki Sunset is an excellent value for the money. Close to everything at a value price. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are large with a separate bedroom and living room. Full kitchen to prepare meals if you want to. We had an excellent view of Diamond Head with peek-a-boo views of the ocean from our balcony. This is an older property and it shows it age, but they were starting a major renovation during our visit. Parking is available for $11 a day which we found to be a great value as well. Nice pool and walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and the ala wai canal. We will definately return for another visit in the future,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping are all within walking distance. Bus stop close by as well.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
elmont ny
Apr 18, 2011

great pkg

loved having a efficiency room..didn't know till we got there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking on streets thereis none.Parking garages $7 to $11

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Beach, FL
Sep 15, 2010

Can't wait to return!

It was our 4th stay and we have always enjoyed our time at this condo hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and park are just a short walk.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norfolk, VA
May 5, 2007

very family friendly

the great thing about this Hotel is it is near everything ! The Zoo is behind us and the Diamond Head at view at your pleasure and we really enjoy the kitchen , it's a full size and you can cook if you want too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is straight down the street a short walk

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
west covina, ca
Apr 29, 2011

Great Trip

Great trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Haunuama Bay

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 30, 2008

VERY FRIENDLY STAFF

WE HAD A GREAT STAY, THE ROOM WAS VERY COMFORTABLE AND VERY CLOSE TO THE BEACH. THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. I WOULD GO BACK AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THE BEACH WAS JUST A SHORT WALK ALONG WITH SHOPPING AND DINNING.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
May 21, 2007

Met all our needs

The ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset was a very nice, clean, comfortable hotel. Staff in most part were friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and the kitchen was awesome - microwave, utensils, dishes - everything provided. Location great - just a couple blocks from Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is great - close to everything - beach, restaurants, nightlife, shopping.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mevil
Santa Ana, California
May 18, 2012

Gateaway vacation with friend

We got there late night and the staff was very helpful, we requested a room at a higher floor and had no problem getting it. All amenities provider by the hotel were explained. The room was small but comfortable, with a great view. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search