Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
172 reviews
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014
Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Oversized rooms for the family less than two blocks from the beach

Aston Waikiki Sunset is a gem tucked away from Waikiki's main thoroughfares. The hotel provides at-home comfort at an affordable rate. High-tower rooms offer magnificent views of Waikiki, mountains, Diamond Head or the ocean. Rooms are generous in size with full kitchens and flat-screen HDTVs. The best stretch of Waikiki Beach can be found less than two blocks from the hotel, as well as dining and shopping opportunities. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, hospitality lounge, sauna, outdoor picnic area and tennis court.

Highlights
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Location

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is tucked away from main thoroughfares on the preferred end of Waikiki. The hotel is close to Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. Walk less than two blocks to the beach and numerous shopping and dining destinations.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the hotel are considered suites and offer a minimum of 560 square feet, accommodating up to five people. Choose a one- or two-bedroom suite with a fully-equipped kitchen. Rooms have been recently renovated with new appliances and furniture, soft island colors and 32-inch LCD HDTVs. Other amenities include private balcony, air conditioning and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Select rooms afford magnificent views.

Dining

Arrange for grocery delivery through the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service. A full supermarket can also be found a few blocks from the hotel. Honolulu's casual and finest restaurants are a short walk from the hotel.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool and sauna
  • Illuminated tennis court, picnic area and barbecue grills
  • Hospitality room with 52-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and PC workstations
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater
Policies and fees
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.8204
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Walking distance to Waikiki Beach, Honolulu Zoo and Kapiolani Park. Near shopping, dining and nightlife.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento ,CA
Oct 13, 2010

Fantastic getaway

The hotel or condo is a great place to stay it's three blocks from the Waikiki beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Beach, FL
Sep 27, 2009

Best kept secret in Waikiki

This was our third stay at the Waikiki Sunset. We had a beautiful completely remodeled room with a wonderful view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Yes, the hotel /condo is a few blocks from the beach, but the savings and size of the condo more than make up for it. The Front desk, [...] and [...], are wonderful! So friendly and helpful. The full kitchen is perfect for all meals which is a huge savings. If dining out is perferred the condo is within easy walking distance of many great restaurants in Waikiki. The parking is very convienient and only $11 per day (value for Waikiki). Do not expect a 5 star resort, that it is not. What you will receive is a clean, remodeled condo (ask for a remodeled room), outstanding customer service, and easy affordable parking. This is perfect for families on a budget, or just a smart traveler. We cannot wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saulsbury, TN
Jun 6, 2008

Home away from home,only this one is in paradise!!

Our bed was just like mine at home. Our children enjoyed the swimming pool as we watched them from the balcony. I'm happy to say at their ages of 9 and 12 we were able to give them a little free time to play without any problems. It was very hard to leave such a beautiful vacation. We are hoping to return very soon. This my way of celebrating my wife's birthday. It was a big success!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is one block away.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
May 21, 2007

Met all our needs

The ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset was a very nice, clean, comfortable hotel. Staff in most part were friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and the kitchen was awesome - microwave, utensils, dishes - everything provided. Location great - just a couple blocks from Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is great - close to everything - beach, restaurants, nightlife, shopping.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
littlefield tx
Mar 20, 2011

fantastic get a way would do it again

went to the beach everything was fine it very comfortable it didnt have lot of luxury the thing i like it felt like home tv kitchen the view we sure did enjoy it thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jul 21, 2009

Great accommodations!

Free Wi-Fi is available only on the 6th floor, parking was $11 a day. Hotel is still undergoing renovations and to get one of the renovated suites, we upgraded through the hotel at $40 additional per night. Hotel provides free beach towels on the 4th floor and snorkel equipment rentals can be had on the 5th floor mini mart. It was a really great value and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yucaipa, CA
Jul 20, 2008

Family Fun close to the beach/downtown

Our stay at the Resort Quest Sunset was very nice from check-in to check -out. With the beach just 3 blocks and food in town we could have stayed longer. The pool and facilities were great and the staff were very helpful. The elevators were just fine -remember you are on hawaii time! We would definitely stay again knowing we had the full kitchen condo. It felt like home for a week anyways! ALOHA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place was just 6 blocks but a pleasant walk anyways!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raghu.
Oklahoma.
Apr 4, 2010

Excellent Family Getaway

Ideal location: very close to Waikiki beach. While I was away at a conference my family had a great time just walking around Waikiki. The staff were extremely friendly. There is a convenience store inside the hotel which was very useful. Breathtaking views of the ocean from the room balcony. Next trip to Hawaii we will most certainly stay at Aston Sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 21, 2007

Comfortable and relaxing

ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. It is about 3 blocks from the beach. This made it easy to walk to but we didn't have all the congestion of the beach. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We had one bedroom with a king bed and a living room with table and chairs and a sofa sleeper. It also had a kitchen area with refridgerator, stove, sink, microwave, ect. The sport area (swimming pool, tennis court) on the 6th floor had a great view of Diamond head. The view from our room showed the mountains. There was also gated parking. The only thing that we didn't like was they only have 3 elevators and they were very slow, so we always had a wait. There was also a small market in the hotel. You could quickly pick up snacks and drinks. There is also 2 ABC stores within 1 block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are shops and eating all around. The International Market place was about 6 blocks away, but you could walk down the beach to get there.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenacres
Sep 12, 2008

Excellent Value

The Waikiki Sunset is an excellent value for the money. Close to everything at a value price. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are large with a separate bedroom and living room. Full kitchen to prepare meals if you want to. We had an excellent view of Diamond Head with peek-a-boo views of the ocean from our balcony. This is an older property and it shows it age, but they were starting a major renovation during our visit. Parking is available for $11 a day which we found to be a great value as well. Nice pool and walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and the ala wai canal. We will definately return for another visit in the future,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping are all within walking distance. Bus stop close by as well.

Back to menu Return to top