$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 21, 2009

Great accommodations!

Free Wi-Fi is available only on the 6th floor, parking was $11 a day. Hotel is still undergoing renovations and to get one of the renovated suites, we upgraded through the hotel at $40 additional per night. Hotel provides free beach towels on the 4th floor and snorkel equipment rentals can be had on the 5th floor mini mart. It was a really great value and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, IL
Jul 21, 2009

Excellent courteous staff!

We were here for 10 days, primarily to get my daughter who is attending U of H established by looking for an apartment and found one just around the corner from the Aston Wakiki, Sunset. Excellent room overlooking the mountain (we were in one of the more recently renovated rooms on the 28th floor). Rooms were spotless, with kitchenet. Great place to stay - convenient location - two "short" blocks from Waikiki. Parking always available and easily accessible to lobby/elevators. Staff most accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

convenient bus service to all of waikiki just around the corner - great access!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, Ca
Jul 13, 2009

Wonderful Summer 2009!

I was at the Waikiki Sunset and I have a great time. The staffs are friendly. The room is big with a huge fully equipped kitchen. Every thing are clean. I would definitely rebook this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Honoluly Zoo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Jul 11, 2009

Great location

The condo was within walking distance of the beach at Waikiki and had a beautiful view of Diamond Head. We were on the 10th floor so we had an obstructed view of the ocean but if staying on the 20 - 32nd floor, we would have had a great view of the beach too. The decor was dated but housekeeping kept in very clean. We liked having a kitchen so we didn't have to eat out all the time. There is also parking if you rent a car. We had a wonderful time and I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend booking trips online rather taking planned tours. It save us a lot of money by driving ourselves and already having tickets to attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bjfdream
Business
Holland, PA.
Jul 5, 2009

Condo nice but not superior

The condo halls look like dormitory hall ways and the lobby is on the shabby side, the room however was very nice. Newly renovated, great for family and doing meals, view from 29th flr great but you overlooked hotel roof tops and A/C units. We wanted to be on the beach and this was our second choice. The beach however was very noisy and busy.It was a trade off and in the end we were very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took a day trip to Hawaii and around the island 260 miles by bus. We saw active volcano, water falls, desert areas, shore towns, rain forest. It was a great day and well worth the money and the time if you want to see different areas of Hawaii on a limited time schedule.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 10, 2009

Awesome Hotel!

The view from room 3608 was AWESOME! Could see Diamond Head and a large expanse of the ocean. Was able to use the travel service for all of the different things we wanted to do. The beach was really only 2 blocks away and there was easy access to shopping, restaurants, public transportation, and anything tourist-y that you can imagine for Waikiki. We didn't mind hearing the hustle and bustle since we are from a large city. The bonus was being able to hear the peacocks, monkeys, tigers and elephants from the nearby zoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pan-Pacific Festival was an unexpected bonus to our trip. It was wonderful to walk down to the beach for free entertainment and to partake in the food vendors and watch the parade.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 8, 2009

Great location for the price

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is at a great location! Just a 2 minute walk to the beach, half a block from the main bus street. The rooms are simple, roomy with a full kitchen. But it shows its age. The tub was stained. You could see wall repairs done with layer upon layer of paint. The bathroom faucet leaked into a daily pool of water on the counter. But for the price, not a bad deal. They have a great concierge on-site that will book any of your tourist activities. Housekeeping was attentive, the staff friendly. You have to pay extra to use the in room safe, but it's minimal. There is no on-site restaurant or room service. Other reviewers mentioned bugs in the room. We didn't see any, although we did see a roach in the hallway on 2 separate days. We didn't get a remodeled room, so this review is based on one of the older, original rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Forget the local ABC or Food Pantry stores if you want to stock the fridge. Take a long walk or a short bus ride to the Safeway north of the hotel. Ask for a transfer from the bus driver and return to the hotel free. The local stores are ridiculously expensive. Think paying 3x for a gallon of milk than you would at your local grocery store back home. The Safeway was very comparable to prices at my hometown grocery store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Collins (Adventure Seekers)
Business
Seattle, WA
May 2, 2009

A home away from home

Our stay at the Waikiki Sunset was not laiden with a luxurious resort feel, and some would look at it and say that it was not of the same quality of some of the more fancy resorts along the strip. While this is true to a certain degree, this is why we chose this resort. We wanted a more "at home" feel to things. We felt as though we had our own little condo in Waikiki. Our 36th floor mountain view was just breathtaking! We upgraded to a newly renovated room(totally worth it), and loved it. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The staff was friendly, and while we were very busy and out enjoying the sunshine, we would come back to fresh towels and a turned down bed each evening. We loved the kitchenette for easy breakfasts and the laundry facilities on each floor. This was great for our family vacation and we plan to stay here on our next visit to the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We recommend getting a rental car while on the island. While Waikiki is great for shopping and the beach, there is sooooooo much more to see if you have a car. Tours are great, but expensive and they get to decide when and where you stop. We enjoyed just exploring the island and were amazed at how the terrain and vegetation changed throughout the island. We got to see everything from the Arizona Memorial, to Sea Life Park, to the Dole Pineapple Plantation, to the Polynesian Cultural Center, and tons of great scenery and trade winds in our hair! We tried a few restaraunts off the beaten path and were very pleasantly suprised at better prices and great food. Parking was a small challenge at times, but we usually bought a little something and got validated. With a simple map purchase, the island traffic and highways were very easy to navigate. The car seemed to make an already great trip ten times better. We felt like we were on an adventure every day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Apr 29, 2009

Had Fun

Good, clean, friendly staff, 4 blocks from beach (5min walk.) Minimart in hotel was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk the beach strip in the evenings-enjoy the sreet shows, tiki lights and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bassplayer and Ukulele Liz
Business
Boston.MA
Mar 15, 2009

We Loved It

The hotel is located in an area that at first seems weird if you arrive at night. But the room was beautiful! It was renovated and on the 36th fl. The full kitchen came in very handy and saved us money. We had a mountain view that was breath-taking. There was access to the lanai from both rooms and both had TVs. The bathroom was hugh and well stocked with great shampoo, condtioner, and soaps,not the usual cheapie ones. We went to Waikiki Beach every day, which was just a few blocks away. The hotel is located near the quieter end of the beach which we loved. We checked out the nearby Honolulu Zoo and loved it, especially the tiger cubs. If you go, Lulu's is located nearby and is a great place to eat, right across from the beach. Buy your food at the many ABC stores or find out where near the hotel they come to sell veggies/fruit on Wens and Fri and go to the International Marketplace for soveniers at a good price. I have no complaints about the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. There's a store on the 5th fl where you can get neccessties. I would have liked a continetal breakfast or coffee in the morning, but I guess that's where the full kitchen comes in. They give you enough coffee for one time as a kind of welcome, but there's a coffee maker so you can buy some. There's plenty of strong Hawaiian coffee sold nearby and if you're missing home a Starbucks up the street.(But no Dunkies)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Honolulu Zoo, rent a boggie board and body surf (hard for first timers like us but FUN!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top