$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
172 reviews
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014
Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
This condominium resort is located on the Diamond Head side of Waikiki, near the beach and Kapiolani Park. One- and two-bedroom suites are available and offer fully equipped kitchens and private lanais. An excellent choice for families!

Aston Waikiki Sunset is undergoing an exterior enhancement project that will continue until January 2013. Work is scheduled on weekdays, Monday - Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Some periods of noise associated with the exterior concrete repair and minimal inconvenience can be expected.

Parking is $15 per day.

All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.8204
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Walking distance to Waikiki Beach, Honolulu Zoo and Kapiolani Park. Near shopping, dining and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Jul 7, 2010

Very nice hotel

We wish we could have done more, but you need to reserve your attractions when you book your trip. The hotel needs to be put on the pick up list for the shuttles for the attractions. This made it very irritating for us when the shuttles would pass by the front of the hotel then the driver would have an attitude because they would have to come back around to get us. They were pretty rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You dont need a rental car as this hotel is in walking distance to almost everything. It is best to just walk since it is very hard to find parking and when you do find parking, its meters everywhere. Otherwise utilize the free shuttle til 430pm and the trolley for $2.00 a person. They take you all the way to the marina and the mall.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monterey Park
Jun 3, 2010

Nice Getaway

Not bad, rooms have been re done. Large space, but about two-three blocks from beach and at the very end of Waikiki. Other guest got kind of loud at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

At nite walk along Waikiki beach and look for entertainment at back of hotels. You can find great entertainment!!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monterey Park
Jun 3, 2010

Nice Getaway

Not bad, rooms have been re done. Large space, but about two-three blocks from beach and at the very end of Waikiki. Other guest got kind of loud at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

At nite walk along Waikiki beach and look for entertainment at back of hotels. You can find great entertainment!!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Apr 30, 2010

Fun Family Getaway

It was nice to have a place with a kitchen. It is very beneficial to have a kitchen when you are traveling with young children. We did not have to figure out where to go for breakfast each morning which saved us a ton of time. By the end of the day the kids are tired and are not good company if we take them to a restaurant it would have been torcher for everyone. The hotel is in a great location. It is close to the beach and we walked to the beach everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Apr 30, 2010

Fun Family Getaway

It was nice to have a place with a kitchen. It is very beneficial to have a kitchen when you are traveling with young children. We did not have to figure out where to go for breakfast each morning which saved us a ton of time. By the end of the day the kids are tired and are not good company if we take them to a restaurant it would have been torcher for everyone. The hotel is in a great location. It is close to the beach and we walked to the beach everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Beak Get Away
Lynnwood, WA
Apr 5, 2010

Spring Break Get Away

We enjoyed our stay at the Aston Sunset. We found the staff friendly. The location was close to the beach and the shops and restaurants were close also. We enjoyed having a nice living space with a living room with a full kitchen and a separate bedroom and a deck. The rooms seemed to be recently renovated with internet connection available if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the restaurants which were in walking distance and when we had played too hard that day we enjoyed the plethera of ABC stores nearby where you could buy deli food to take to the room and relax.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Beak Get Away
Lynnwood, WA
Apr 5, 2010

Spring Break Get Away

We enjoyed our stay at the Aston Sunset. We found the staff friendly. The location was close to the beach and the shops and restaurants were close also. We enjoyed having a nice living space with a living room with a full kitchen and a separate bedroom and a deck. The rooms seemed to be recently renovated with internet connection available if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the restaurants which were in walking distance and when we had played too hard that day we enjoyed the plethera of ABC stores nearby where you could buy deli food to take to the room and relax.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raghu.
Oklahoma.
Apr 4, 2010

Excellent Family Getaway

Ideal location: very close to Waikiki beach. While I was away at a conference my family had a great time just walking around Waikiki. The staff were extremely friendly. There is a convenience store inside the hotel which was very useful. Breathtaking views of the ocean from the room balcony. Next trip to Hawaii we will most certainly stay at Aston Sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raghu.
Oklahoma.
Apr 4, 2010

Excellent Family Getaway

Ideal location: very close to Waikiki beach. While I was away at a conference my family had a great time just walking around Waikiki. The staff were extremely friendly. There is a convenience store inside the hotel which was very useful. Breathtaking views of the ocean from the room balcony. Next trip to Hawaii we will most certainly stay at Aston Sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Mar 30, 2010

Friendly Service - Nice Value

This is a nice hotel 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. If you can get a deal around $125 to $150 a night (with tax) for a 2 bedrm/1bath, then the value is good. Parking is extra-about $11 per day. We had several parents who stayed in the hotel for all-island soccer matches. Washing machines were conveniently located on each floor, there's a large pool, tennis courts, BBQ, and adjoing lounge/TV area. We had a really nice 2 bedrm/1 bath on upper floor with a great diamond head view. Many rooms have been recently redone and the pillows were great (a huge plus!). We liked having a kitchen and eating bar (there is no restaurant in hotel-but you are a short walk away from every type of restaurant); the only negative was no small dishwasher for the kitchen and the elevators can be slow. Staff was courteous. If you snag an upper floor ocean view (higher price), the views are fabulous. Not much of a lobby, but totally adequate in that respect. This hotel can accomadate romantic couples or families and is still fairly quiet but close to the action if you choose to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks to Waikiki beach which is a great beach. Fun for the kids to learn to surf right there. Also fun if you like to walk around and people watch. Some fabulous shops in Waikiki, although Cartier, Chanel, etc, are expensive. Kapiolani Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium are close by.

Back to menu Return to top