$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
111 reviews
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014
Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Oversized rooms for the family less than two blocks from the beach

Aston Waikiki Sunset is a gem tucked away from Waikiki's main thoroughfares. The hotel provides at-home comfort at an affordable rate. High-tower rooms offer magnificent views of Waikiki, mountains, Diamond Head or the ocean. Rooms are generous in size with full kitchens and flat-screen HDTVs. The best stretch of Waikiki Beach can be found less than two blocks from the hotel, as well as dining and shopping opportunities. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, hospitality lounge, sauna, outdoor picnic area and tennis court.

Highlights
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Location

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is tucked away from main thoroughfares on the preferred end of Waikiki. The hotel is close to Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. Walk less than two blocks to the beach and numerous shopping and dining destinations.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the hotel are considered suites and offer a minimum of 560 square feet, accommodating up to five people. Choose a one- or two-bedroom suite with a fully-equipped kitchen. Rooms have been recently renovated with new appliances and furniture, soft island colors and 32-inch LCD HDTVs. Other amenities include private balcony, air conditioning and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Select rooms afford magnificent views.

Dining

Arrange for grocery delivery through the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service. A full supermarket can also be found a few blocks from the hotel. Honolulu's casual and finest restaurants are a short walk from the hotel.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool and sauna
  • Illuminated tennis court, picnic area and barbecue grills
  • Hospitality room with 52-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and PC workstations
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater
Policies and fees
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.8204
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Walking distance to Waikiki Beach, Honolulu Zoo and Kapiolani Park. Near shopping, dining and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Beach, FL
Sep 27, 2009

Best kept secret in Waikiki

This was our third stay at the Waikiki Sunset. We had a beautiful completely remodeled room with a wonderful view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Yes, the hotel /condo is a few blocks from the beach, but the savings and size of the condo more than make up for it. The Front desk, [...] and [...], are wonderful! So friendly and helpful. The full kitchen is perfect for all meals which is a huge savings. If dining out is perferred the condo is within easy walking distance of many great restaurants in Waikiki. The parking is very convienient and only $11 per day (value for Waikiki). Do not expect a 5 star resort, that it is not. What you will receive is a clean, remodeled condo (ask for a remodeled room), outstanding customer service, and easy affordable parking. This is perfect for families on a budget, or just a smart traveler. We cannot wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFOFUN
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Newly Remodeled Condos

The rooms have just been remodeled. They did a nice job on the room. The lobby and the halls need to be redone. There was a lot of construction going on the other floors. Construction workers kept using the elevators so it would take a long time to get to floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family that loves to travel
San Diego
Aug 27, 2009

Fantastic Family vacation

Hotel was in a great location, just a few blocks from the beach and a few blocks from International Marketplace. Easy to get to shopping areas and many food choices within walking distance. Zoo was less than 2 blocks away. Rooms were good size and we had a King Bed, which was nice and firm. Overall, the place was clean and well kept. However, Housekeeping, was not the best since they always seemed to come right as we were getting in to wind down with our kids, who are very young. They always seemed to come about 4-5 pm, rather than in the morning, when we were out and about Hawaii and out of the room. Getting anywhere in the elevators was also a mess since they were always packed with people. Most times we had to skip about 3-4 elevators and let them pass because they were just too full. But, the cost of the room and the location could not be beat. The rooms were clean and updated and the staff were very nice. Since this hotel was tucked back a bit from the beach, it was not noisy at all. The veranda was great and our kids loved eating breakfast there each morning. The pool was also great since it went as low as 2 ft. so my 1 1/2 year old could play in the shallow part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, IL (suburb of Chicago)
Aug 6, 2009

ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset

We were staying at the Waikiki Sunset primarily to help our daughter find an apartment who will be attending the University of Hawaii at Manoa this fall. What can I say ~ the convenience and helpful staff at the Waikiki Sunset was wonderful. First off, the parking for $11 per day (multiple exit/entry) in their enclosed adjacent parking lot was a god-send (and you can extend your parking for an additional $11 to accommodate for a late flight out); the hotel is located away from the Waikiki congestion, yet only a short 2 block walk from the hotel and 1/2 block from the bus stop ($1 for student and seniors, $2.25 for adults round trip). Most importantly, the apartment that we located for our daughter was just around the corner 1 block away! The convenience of moving her things from the hotel into the apartment was great (street parking's virtually nil). As to our hotel room? We had the mountain view on the 28th floor, so we had no obstruction from the buildings below - the view was breathtaking. We took a 10-day jaunt to Kauai and then returned to stay at Waikiki Sunset for an additional 4 nights - this time on the 8th floor (not yet renovated - actually, the room was less costly, comfortable and clean). While our balcony view was obstructed with another building, we had partial views of Diamond Head and the ocean. Not bad! Staff is really accommodating and service was promptly attended; only suggestion that I have is to ask the tour director downstairs if any of their tours have AAA or AARP discounts - didn't think to ask - but the guide should have mentioned it! A lovely trip/visit - Aloha and Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Only suggestion that I have is to ask the tour director downstairs if any of their tours have AAA or AARP discounts - didn't think to ask - but the guide should have mentioned it! A lovely trip/visit

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Mateo, CA
Aug 1, 2009

The good

OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sky's mom
GA
Jul 24, 2009

overall it was good

overall it was good. First night we found out coffee maker was broken,they exchanged new one. 6th floor pool restroom was always closed in the morning!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 22, 2009

Lifts a little slow but great

Lifts a little slow but great location and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jul 21, 2009

Great accommodations!

Free Wi-Fi is available only on the 6th floor, parking was $11 a day. Hotel is still undergoing renovations and to get one of the renovated suites, we upgraded through the hotel at $40 additional per night. Hotel provides free beach towels on the 4th floor and snorkel equipment rentals can be had on the 5th floor mini mart. It was a really great value and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, IL
Jul 21, 2009

Excellent courteous staff!

We were here for 10 days, primarily to get my daughter who is attending U of H established by looking for an apartment and found one just around the corner from the Aston Wakiki, Sunset. Excellent room overlooking the mountain (we were in one of the more recently renovated rooms on the 28th floor). Rooms were spotless, with kitchenet. Great place to stay - convenient location - two "short" blocks from Waikiki. Parking always available and easily accessible to lobby/elevators. Staff most accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

convenient bus service to all of waikiki just around the corner - great access!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange, Ca
Jul 13, 2009

Wonderful Summer 2009!

I was at the Waikiki Sunset and I have a great time. The staffs are friendly. The room is big with a huge fully equipped kitchen. Every thing are clean. I would definitely rebook this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Honoluly Zoo.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search