$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, IL (suburb of Chicago)
Aug 6, 2009

ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset

We were staying at the Waikiki Sunset primarily to help our daughter find an apartment who will be attending the University of Hawaii at Manoa this fall. What can I say ~ the convenience and helpful staff at the Waikiki Sunset was wonderful. First off, the parking for $11 per day (multiple exit/entry) in their enclosed adjacent parking lot was a god-send (and you can extend your parking for an additional $11 to accommodate for a late flight out); the hotel is located away from the Waikiki congestion, yet only a short 2 block walk from the hotel and 1/2 block from the bus stop ($1 for student and seniors, $2.25 for adults round trip). Most importantly, the apartment that we located for our daughter was just around the corner 1 block away! The convenience of moving her things from the hotel into the apartment was great (street parking's virtually nil). As to our hotel room? We had the mountain view on the 28th floor, so we had no obstruction from the buildings below - the view was breathtaking. We took a 10-day jaunt to Kauai and then returned to stay at Waikiki Sunset for an additional 4 nights - this time on the 8th floor (not yet renovated - actually, the room was less costly, comfortable and clean). While our balcony view was obstructed with another building, we had partial views of Diamond Head and the ocean. Not bad! Staff is really accommodating and service was promptly attended; only suggestion that I have is to ask the tour director downstairs if any of their tours have AAA or AARP discounts - didn't think to ask - but the guide should have mentioned it! A lovely trip/visit - Aloha and Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Only suggestion that I have is to ask the tour director downstairs if any of their tours have AAA or AARP discounts - didn't think to ask - but the guide should have mentioned it! A lovely trip/visit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Aug 1, 2009

The good

OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sky's mom
Business
GA
Jul 24, 2009

overall it was good

overall it was good. First night we found out coffee maker was broken,they exchanged new one. 6th floor pool restroom was always closed in the morning!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 21, 2009

Great accommodations!

Free Wi-Fi is available only on the 6th floor, parking was $11 a day. Hotel is still undergoing renovations and to get one of the renovated suites, we upgraded through the hotel at $40 additional per night. Hotel provides free beach towels on the 4th floor and snorkel equipment rentals can be had on the 5th floor mini mart. It was a really great value and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, IL
Jul 21, 2009

Excellent courteous staff!

We were here for 10 days, primarily to get my daughter who is attending U of H established by looking for an apartment and found one just around the corner from the Aston Wakiki, Sunset. Excellent room overlooking the mountain (we were in one of the more recently renovated rooms on the 28th floor). Rooms were spotless, with kitchenet. Great place to stay - convenient location - two "short" blocks from Waikiki. Parking always available and easily accessible to lobby/elevators. Staff most accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

convenient bus service to all of waikiki just around the corner - great access!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, Ca
Jul 13, 2009

Wonderful Summer 2009!

I was at the Waikiki Sunset and I have a great time. The staffs are friendly. The room is big with a huge fully equipped kitchen. Every thing are clean. I would definitely rebook this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Honoluly Zoo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Jul 11, 2009

Great location

The condo was within walking distance of the beach at Waikiki and had a beautiful view of Diamond Head. We were on the 10th floor so we had an obstructed view of the ocean but if staying on the 20 - 32nd floor, we would have had a great view of the beach too. The decor was dated but housekeeping kept in very clean. We liked having a kitchen so we didn't have to eat out all the time. There is also parking if you rent a car. We had a wonderful time and I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend booking trips online rather taking planned tours. It save us a lot of money by driving ourselves and already having tickets to attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bjfdream
Business
Holland, PA.
Jul 5, 2009

Condo nice but not superior

The condo halls look like dormitory hall ways and the lobby is on the shabby side, the room however was very nice. Newly renovated, great for family and doing meals, view from 29th flr great but you overlooked hotel roof tops and A/C units. We wanted to be on the beach and this was our second choice. The beach however was very noisy and busy.It was a trade off and in the end we were very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took a day trip to Hawaii and around the island 260 miles by bus. We saw active volcano, water falls, desert areas, shore towns, rain forest. It was a great day and well worth the money and the time if you want to see different areas of Hawaii on a limited time schedule.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 10, 2009

Awesome Hotel!

The view from room 3608 was AWESOME! Could see Diamond Head and a large expanse of the ocean. Was able to use the travel service for all of the different things we wanted to do. The beach was really only 2 blocks away and there was easy access to shopping, restaurants, public transportation, and anything tourist-y that you can imagine for Waikiki. We didn't mind hearing the hustle and bustle since we are from a large city. The bonus was being able to hear the peacocks, monkeys, tigers and elephants from the nearby zoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pan-Pacific Festival was an unexpected bonus to our trip. It was wonderful to walk down to the beach for free entertainment and to partake in the food vendors and watch the parade.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 8, 2009

Great location for the price

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is at a great location! Just a 2 minute walk to the beach, half a block from the main bus street. The rooms are simple, roomy with a full kitchen. But it shows its age. The tub was stained. You could see wall repairs done with layer upon layer of paint. The bathroom faucet leaked into a daily pool of water on the counter. But for the price, not a bad deal. They have a great concierge on-site that will book any of your tourist activities. Housekeeping was attentive, the staff friendly. You have to pay extra to use the in room safe, but it's minimal. There is no on-site restaurant or room service. Other reviewers mentioned bugs in the room. We didn't see any, although we did see a roach in the hallway on 2 separate days. We didn't get a remodeled room, so this review is based on one of the older, original rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Forget the local ABC or Food Pantry stores if you want to stock the fridge. Take a long walk or a short bus ride to the Safeway north of the hotel. Ask for a transfer from the bus driver and return to the hotel free. The local stores are ridiculously expensive. Think paying 3x for a gallon of milk than you would at your local grocery store back home. The Safeway was very comparable to prices at my hometown grocery store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top