$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston mass
Nov 21, 2009

great hotel!!

the staff was very helpful,room was huge..stayed there with my son, grandson and daughter in law..plenty of room for all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to wakikii beach and plenty of dining!!! overlooks diamond head!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UNITED STATES ARMY
Business
OVERSEAS
Nov 20, 2009

THE WORST HOTEL WE'VE EVER BEEN IN

The rooms were so small...all the photo views were totally outrageous...I would not recommend anyone to go to that hotel ever...It's the worst hotel i've ever been in...the bathrooms looked ancient and the shower head was very moldy...overall the rooms was a joke...my family tried to stay away from the hotel as much as possible only to go and take showers then head back out...total bust for my money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Farrar's
Business
SF CA
Nov 10, 2009

Good Location

All Staff: Front Desk Clerks, Security, maintanence, parking attendant & Conciere needs work. Guests should always be greeted when they walk in and out of the Lobby or anytime but instead staff was always more interested in looking at the computer or looking away. No gym and pool was not heated. Mt View Deluxe Room & size was nice and roomy. Kitchenette was perfect to help with cost of meals. Laundry room needs 1-2 more sets of washers and dryers. Overall the stay was ok. Location was good. Just a 5 minute walk to the beach and to the Waikiki Strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South San Jose Calif
Oct 27, 2009

Family Vacation

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. They gave us a map of how to get to where we neded to go. This htoel is a great hotel to bring your family on an average budget. It was very clean and comfortable. I will definetely stay here again. Our 2 older college kids stayed in their own condo. It was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
telluride174
Business
WA state
Oct 20, 2009

Clean, friendly, good for families!

This was a great hotel for our price range. We loved the kitchenette. Downside is it's not right on the water (about a block and a half). Also we didn't like the parking fees (but you'll be hard-pressed to find anywhere in Honolulu that doesn't charge those). Staff was friendly, rooms were clean, had a mini-mart, beach towel check-out, wi-fi, etc. We didn't use the pool or tennis courts, but they looked nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

go to Dakora Sushi and get the fried brownie tempura. Most amazing dessert I've had in a very long time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
novato
Oct 7, 2009

needs a lot of work!!!

not much to say about an old hotel that needs a lot of work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aungkana 9/17/09
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 29, 2009

Great, Clean but a little walk to beach

Great and Clean with new renovation room. The overall is great but a little bit walk to the beach around .2 Mile. Worth money to spend and cooking if you like. Family: Highly recommend and will save $ on food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Sep 27, 2009

Best kept secret in Waikiki

This was our third stay at the Waikiki Sunset. We had a beautiful completely remodeled room with a wonderful view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Yes, the hotel /condo is a few blocks from the beach, but the savings and size of the condo more than make up for it. The Front desk, [...] and [...], are wonderful! So friendly and helpful. The full kitchen is perfect for all meals which is a huge savings. If dining out is perferred the condo is within easy walking distance of many great restaurants in Waikiki. The parking is very convienient and only $11 per day (value for Waikiki). Do not expect a 5 star resort, that it is not. What you will receive is a clean, remodeled condo (ask for a remodeled room), outstanding customer service, and easy affordable parking. This is perfect for families on a budget, or just a smart traveler. We cannot wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFOFUN
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Newly Remodeled Condos

The rooms have just been remodeled. They did a nice job on the room. The lobby and the halls need to be redone. There was a lot of construction going on the other floors. Construction workers kept using the elevators so it would take a long time to get to floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family that loves to travel
Business
San Diego
Aug 27, 2009

Fantastic Family vacation

Hotel was in a great location, just a few blocks from the beach and a few blocks from International Marketplace. Easy to get to shopping areas and many food choices within walking distance. Zoo was less than 2 blocks away. Rooms were good size and we had a King Bed, which was nice and firm. Overall, the place was clean and well kept. However, Housekeeping, was not the best since they always seemed to come right as we were getting in to wind down with our kids, who are very young. They always seemed to come about 4-5 pm, rather than in the morning, when we were out and about Hawaii and out of the room. Getting anywhere in the elevators was also a mess since they were always packed with people. Most times we had to skip about 3-4 elevators and let them pass because they were just too full. But, the cost of the room and the location could not be beat. The rooms were clean and updated and the staff were very nice. Since this hotel was tucked back a bit from the beach, it was not noisy at all. The veranda was great and our kids loved eating breakfast there each morning. The pool was also great since it went as low as 2 ft. so my 1 1/2 year old could play in the shallow part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top