$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Sep 27, 2009

Best kept secret in Waikiki

This was our third stay at the Waikiki Sunset. We had a beautiful completely remodeled room with a wonderful view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Yes, the hotel /condo is a few blocks from the beach, but the savings and size of the condo more than make up for it. The Front desk, [...] and [...], are wonderful! So friendly and helpful. The full kitchen is perfect for all meals which is a huge savings. If dining out is perferred the condo is within easy walking distance of many great restaurants in Waikiki. The parking is very convienient and only $11 per day (value for Waikiki). Do not expect a 5 star resort, that it is not. What you will receive is a clean, remodeled condo (ask for a remodeled room), outstanding customer service, and easy affordable parking. This is perfect for families on a budget, or just a smart traveler. We cannot wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFOFUN
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Newly Remodeled Condos

The rooms have just been remodeled. They did a nice job on the room. The lobby and the halls need to be redone. There was a lot of construction going on the other floors. Construction workers kept using the elevators so it would take a long time to get to floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family that loves to travel
Business
San Diego
Aug 27, 2009

Fantastic Family vacation

Hotel was in a great location, just a few blocks from the beach and a few blocks from International Marketplace. Easy to get to shopping areas and many food choices within walking distance. Zoo was less than 2 blocks away. Rooms were good size and we had a King Bed, which was nice and firm. Overall, the place was clean and well kept. However, Housekeeping, was not the best since they always seemed to come right as we were getting in to wind down with our kids, who are very young. They always seemed to come about 4-5 pm, rather than in the morning, when we were out and about Hawaii and out of the room. Getting anywhere in the elevators was also a mess since they were always packed with people. Most times we had to skip about 3-4 elevators and let them pass because they were just too full. But, the cost of the room and the location could not be beat. The rooms were clean and updated and the staff were very nice. Since this hotel was tucked back a bit from the beach, it was not noisy at all. The veranda was great and our kids loved eating breakfast there each morning. The pool was also great since it went as low as 2 ft. so my 1 1/2 year old could play in the shallow part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, IL (suburb of Chicago)
Aug 6, 2009

ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset

We were staying at the Waikiki Sunset primarily to help our daughter find an apartment who will be attending the University of Hawaii at Manoa this fall. What can I say ~ the convenience and helpful staff at the Waikiki Sunset was wonderful. First off, the parking for $11 per day (multiple exit/entry) in their enclosed adjacent parking lot was a god-send (and you can extend your parking for an additional $11 to accommodate for a late flight out); the hotel is located away from the Waikiki congestion, yet only a short 2 block walk from the hotel and 1/2 block from the bus stop ($1 for student and seniors, $2.25 for adults round trip). Most importantly, the apartment that we located for our daughter was just around the corner 1 block away! The convenience of moving her things from the hotel into the apartment was great (street parking's virtually nil). As to our hotel room? We had the mountain view on the 28th floor, so we had no obstruction from the buildings below - the view was breathtaking. We took a 10-day jaunt to Kauai and then returned to stay at Waikiki Sunset for an additional 4 nights - this time on the 8th floor (not yet renovated - actually, the room was less costly, comfortable and clean). While our balcony view was obstructed with another building, we had partial views of Diamond Head and the ocean. Not bad! Staff is really accommodating and service was promptly attended; only suggestion that I have is to ask the tour director downstairs if any of their tours have AAA or AARP discounts - didn't think to ask - but the guide should have mentioned it! A lovely trip/visit - Aloha and Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Only suggestion that I have is to ask the tour director downstairs if any of their tours have AAA or AARP discounts - didn't think to ask - but the guide should have mentioned it! A lovely trip/visit

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Aug 1, 2009

The good

OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 21, 2009

Great accommodations!

Free Wi-Fi is available only on the 6th floor, parking was $11 a day. Hotel is still undergoing renovations and to get one of the renovated suites, we upgraded through the hotel at $40 additional per night. Hotel provides free beach towels on the 4th floor and snorkel equipment rentals can be had on the 5th floor mini mart. It was a really great value and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, IL
Jul 21, 2009

Excellent courteous staff!

We were here for 10 days, primarily to get my daughter who is attending U of H established by looking for an apartment and found one just around the corner from the Aston Wakiki, Sunset. Excellent room overlooking the mountain (we were in one of the more recently renovated rooms on the 28th floor). Rooms were spotless, with kitchenet. Great place to stay - convenient location - two "short" blocks from Waikiki. Parking always available and easily accessible to lobby/elevators. Staff most accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

convenient bus service to all of waikiki just around the corner - great access!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, Ca
Jul 13, 2009

Wonderful Summer 2009!

I was at the Waikiki Sunset and I have a great time. The staffs are friendly. The room is big with a huge fully equipped kitchen. Every thing are clean. I would definitely rebook this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Honoluly Zoo.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Jul 11, 2009

Great location

The condo was within walking distance of the beach at Waikiki and had a beautiful view of Diamond Head. We were on the 10th floor so we had an obstructed view of the ocean but if staying on the 20 - 32nd floor, we would have had a great view of the beach too. The decor was dated but housekeeping kept in very clean. We liked having a kitchen so we didn't have to eat out all the time. There is also parking if you rent a car. We had a wonderful time and I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend booking trips online rather taking planned tours. It save us a lot of money by driving ourselves and already having tickets to attractions.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bjfdream
Business
Holland, PA.
Jul 5, 2009

Condo nice but not superior

The condo halls look like dormitory hall ways and the lobby is on the shabby side, the room however was very nice. Newly renovated, great for family and doing meals, view from 29th flr great but you overlooked hotel roof tops and A/C units. We wanted to be on the beach and this was our second choice. The beach however was very noisy and busy.It was a trade off and in the end we were very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took a day trip to Hawaii and around the island 260 miles by bus. We saw active volcano, water falls, desert areas, shore towns, rain forest. It was a great day and well worth the money and the time if you want to see different areas of Hawaii on a limited time schedule.

Back to menu Return to top