$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nanofat
Business
Castro Valley, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great hotel, reasonable price

Really, there's nothing we could complain about Waikiki Sunset. The rooms and kitchen+utensils were clean, and the staff were very friendly. The only downside was that we had to pay a hotel amenity fee of $10/day. The parking was $11/day, quite cheap compared to other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ceres Ca
Jul 21, 2011

Nice spacies room, living room and kitch

I love my room and the way it was set up, glad it had all utinzels for cooking, didn't like the wait of the elevator or lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, CA
Jul 20, 2011

worth it for the extra space

Having the extra space with bedroom and living room/kitchen was worth it. A week with two kids in a single room would have been very cramped. Use of kitchen was also convenient and a time saver in the mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n/a
Jul 19, 2011

n/a

well organized thanks P.D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 24, 2011

Great for the price

The hotel is conveniently located in Waikiki where almost everything is in walking distance. The rooms were large and clean, and the staff friendly. There's convenient parking located on the facility ($11 per day, my assumption is that parking is about equal at the other hotels). My only complaints was that the elevator system didn't seem to communicate what each shaft was doing so instead of trying to figure out the best way to move people, each elevator moved independently of one another. It took 7 minutes one time to get an elevator on the 14th floor, so I can only image what the people on 37 waited. The stairs are barricaded around floor 5 so you can't get around using the elevators as well. [...] they don't even have kitchen facilities on site and thus no food of any kind outside of pre-packaged goods in their mini-mart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Top of Waikiki is a fantastic place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan
Jun 19, 2011

Condo

We upgraded to a 2 bedroom as we took our 13 yo and her best friend with us. For what the hotel was, it was a good value. It is NOT plush, so if that is what you are looking for, look for a hotel on the Marina side of Waikiki. We saved a ton of money by making our own meals in the room (breakfast everyday, lunch some days and dinner most days). A condo is def the way to go, the room was clean, the view we had was nice (although I wasn't a fan of the 'blocked in' balcony)....so, it did obstruct the view a bit. Parking was cheap compared to other hotels (only 11 per day). No free internet in the room, although wireless was available on the 6th floor. Laundry facilities on every other floor was nice. Only 2 blocks from the beach, so easy access to restaurants, shopping and swimming. The pool was very small, but we never used it. No workout room on the property....BUT, who needs a workout room when you can run along the beach or canal right?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Teddy's Bigger Burgers (just get the burger w/ a shake)....SUPER YUMMY!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terre Haute Traveler
Business
Terre Haute, In.
Apr 29, 2011

Excellent Experience

If you are wanting to escape the hotel experience and are looking for a home away from home this is the place for you. A very relaxing place where you can brew a cup of coffee in the morning and not have to leave the room. Perfect for us as the wife is an early riser and could go into the other room and enjoy the morning and not disturb me......The staff was very helpful and friendly, everything the website said about the hotel was true..would highly recommend this place to anyone staying 7 days or more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Being able to cook basic meals and breakfast in the room was very cost effective.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west covina, ca
Apr 29, 2011

Great Trip

Great trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Haunuama Bay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
elmont ny
Apr 18, 2011

great pkg

loved having a efficiency room..didn't know till we got there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking on streets thereis none.Parking garages $7 to $11

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Apr 10, 2011

Enjoyed our stay, Nice view of Ocean

Room had everything we needed! Quick walk to beach and shopping. Housekeeping kept us with fresh linens everyday. No major problems to speak of. Will try and stay there again on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping withing walking distance. Several restaurants as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top