$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvmyoreos
Business
Burbank, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Paradise

This was our first time staying at the Aston Waikiki Sunset and it was exactly what we were looking for. It was clean, comfortable and the kitchen served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommend the hawaii trolley daily pass (all three lines, $30) to visit diamond head monument, downtown honolulu and other near by attractions.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dale in Atlanta
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Hawaii vacation

Rooms are very cramped. Kitchen utensils are almost non-existent. Coffee which was supposed to be provided daily had to be requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeeNeo
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Great experience!

I just returned from a week stay at the Aston Waikiki Sunset and had a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at every turn. The hotel is located 3 blocks from the beach and we had a gorgeous mountain view. You could tell the rooms had recently been redone and were very clean. We loved the fact that our room came with a kitchenette area so we could cut expenses by eating a few meals in. This was a great choice for anyone who wants a clean room and great view. The room wasn't huge, but big enough for 3 women to spread out and not get in each other's way. What a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nanofat
Business
Castro Valley, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great hotel, reasonable price

Really, there's nothing we could complain about Waikiki Sunset. The rooms and kitchen+utensils were clean, and the staff were very friendly. The only downside was that we had to pay a hotel amenity fee of $10/day. The parking was $11/day, quite cheap compared to other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nanofat
Business
Castro Valley, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great hotel, reasonable price

Really, there's nothing we could complain about Waikiki Sunset. The rooms and kitchen+utensils were clean, and the staff were very friendly. The only downside was that we had to pay a hotel amenity fee of $10/day. The parking was $11/day, quite cheap compared to other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ceres Ca
Jul 21, 2011

Nice spacies room, living room and kitch

I love my room and the way it was set up, glad it had all utinzels for cooking, didn't like the wait of the elevator or lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, CA
Jul 20, 2011

worth it for the extra space

Having the extra space with bedroom and living room/kitchen was worth it. A week with two kids in a single room would have been very cramped. Use of kitchen was also convenient and a time saver in the mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n/a
Jul 19, 2011

n/a

well organized thanks P.D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 24, 2011

Great for the price

The hotel is conveniently located in Waikiki where almost everything is in walking distance. The rooms were large and clean, and the staff friendly. There's convenient parking located on the facility ($11 per day, my assumption is that parking is about equal at the other hotels). My only complaints was that the elevator system didn't seem to communicate what each shaft was doing so instead of trying to figure out the best way to move people, each elevator moved independently of one another. It took 7 minutes one time to get an elevator on the 14th floor, so I can only image what the people on 37 waited. The stairs are barricaded around floor 5 so you can't get around using the elevators as well. [...] they don't even have kitchen facilities on site and thus no food of any kind outside of pre-packaged goods in their mini-mart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Top of Waikiki is a fantastic place to eat.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan
Jun 19, 2011

Condo

We upgraded to a 2 bedroom as we took our 13 yo and her best friend with us. For what the hotel was, it was a good value. It is NOT plush, so if that is what you are looking for, look for a hotel on the Marina side of Waikiki. We saved a ton of money by making our own meals in the room (breakfast everyday, lunch some days and dinner most days). A condo is def the way to go, the room was clean, the view we had was nice (although I wasn't a fan of the 'blocked in' balcony)....so, it did obstruct the view a bit. Parking was cheap compared to other hotels (only 11 per day). No free internet in the room, although wireless was available on the 6th floor. Laundry facilities on every other floor was nice. Only 2 blocks from the beach, so easy access to restaurants, shopping and swimming. The pool was very small, but we never used it. No workout room on the property....BUT, who needs a workout room when you can run along the beach or canal right?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Teddy's Bigger Burgers (just get the burger w/ a shake)....SUPER YUMMY!!!

Back to menu Return to top