$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
106 reviews
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014
Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Oversized rooms for the family less than two blocks from the beach

Aston Waikiki Sunset is a gem tucked away from Waikiki's main thoroughfares. The hotel provides at-home comfort at an affordable rate. High-tower rooms offer magnificent views of Waikiki, mountains, Diamond Head or the ocean. Rooms are generous in size with full kitchens and flat-screen HDTVs. The best stretch of Waikiki Beach can be found less than two blocks from the hotel, as well as dining and shopping opportunities. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, hospitality lounge, sauna, outdoor picnic area and tennis court.

Highlights
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Location

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is tucked away from main thoroughfares on the preferred end of Waikiki. The hotel is close to Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. Walk less than two blocks to the beach and numerous shopping and dining destinations.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the hotel are considered suites and offer a minimum of 560 square feet, accommodating up to five people. Choose a one- or two-bedroom suite with a fully-equipped kitchen. Rooms have been recently renovated with new appliances and furniture, soft island colors and 32-inch LCD HDTVs. Other amenities include private balcony, air conditioning and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Select rooms afford magnificent views.

Dining

Arrange for grocery delivery through the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service. A full supermarket can also be found a few blocks from the hotel. Honolulu's casual and finest restaurants are a short walk from the hotel.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool and sauna
  • Illuminated tennis court, picnic area and barbecue grills
  • Hospitality room with 52-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and PC workstations
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater
Policies and fees
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mevil
Santa Ana, California
May 18, 2012

Gateaway vacation with friend

We got there late night and the staff was very helpful, we requested a room at a higher floor and had no problem getting it. All amenities provider by the hotel were explained. The room was small but comfortable, with a great view. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Mai Tai
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Family Vacay

We loved this Hotel, we are a family of five, it accomodated us all. They were going through some renovations however it did not affect us at all. Very clean, spacious rooms. Newly upgraded kitchen and very clean. Service was great we asked for a extra blanket and they were there with another blanket within 5 minutes and very friendly. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pottsie
Business
Boone, IA 50036, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Great March Vacation

Everything from our check in to our check out was sensational. The staff was exceptional and the whole vacation was excellant. We were treated with respect an greedted everytime we went from one area to another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see and do everythin the staff at the Aston suggests because they knew what they were talking about. Evertthing they suggested was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lewien
Business
Perth WA, Australia
Mar 10, 2012

Aston sunset

Very helpful and friendly staff, location was set back a few blocks from the beach but everything was within walking distance. Our room viewed the hill side which we were disappointed at first about but at night the view was extraordinary. Overall experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
torb
Business
California, USA
Feb 20, 2012

noisy & stuffy

We stayed on the 32nd floor with an Ocean view. The room itself was nice and had everything we needed. The view is obstructed by other hotels. Our room was two down the hall from the elevator and you could here the ding everytime it opened on our floor. You could also hear the street noise at night including multiply sirens. In the early morning we awoke to the sound of monkeys & birds from the neighboring zoo. Due to construction during our visit we were unable to use our balcony or open any windows making the room very stuffy. The air conditioning smelled weird and made the room very dry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blissful
Business
Ohio, USA
Dec 31, 2011

hawaiian islands

we enjoyed our balcony view of diamond head from our two bedroom - kitchenette unit ! It was a wonderful choice. The bedroom was a tad small but we didn't care - the rest exceeded our expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sbisin
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Dec 28, 2011

Aston Hotel review

Comfortable accomodation. Beds (all) were horribly soft. not very clean but OK. lovely fully equipped kitchen. Had to request coffee for the morning.On checkout there was an error. The hotel tried to make me pay for someone else's parking for four days when it should have been one day. It took a long time and aggravation to convince them that the mistake was on their side and I was not chancing my arm. The hotel tour person that works for Pleasant Hawaiian who gives out information on the island was extremely helpful, patient and a great resouce. Next time I would try another hotel. We attended the orientation breakfast and bought two packages. The one to the cultural center was (I believe) overstated. "you will have reserved seats" implying "good seats". They were the very last row at the back. Very good show though. Thanks for asking and I hope this feedback helps someone else. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hawaii five o
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

good location

room was a bit noisy, it was right in front of the elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvmyoreos
Business
Burbank, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Paradise

This was our first time staying at the Aston Waikiki Sunset and it was exactly what we were looking for. It was clean, comfortable and the kitchen served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommend the hawaii trolley daily pass (all three lines, $30) to visit diamond head monument, downtown honolulu and other near by attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dale in Atlanta
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Hawaii vacation

Rooms are very cramped. Kitchen utensils are almost non-existent. Coffee which was supposed to be provided daily had to be requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeeNeo
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Great experience!

I just returned from a week stay at the Aston Waikiki Sunset and had a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at every turn. The hotel is located 3 blocks from the beach and we had a gorgeous mountain view. You could tell the rooms had recently been redone and were very clean. We loved the fact that our room came with a kitchenette area so we could cut expenses by eating a few meals in. This was a great choice for anyone who wants a clean room and great view. The room wasn't huge, but big enough for 3 women to spread out and not get in each other's way. What a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top