$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Voyagers
Business
Hillsboro, OR
Dec 2, 2012

Aston Waikiki

Great value and location. The kitchenette was very handy and well furnished; like a full kitchen. Saved $s by having healthy breakfasts when we liked. Safeway was a 5min drive, or short walk to ABC/Food Pantry. Ocean view from 29th floor was excellent. The beach was only two blocks away. A few complaints: Room AC poorly designed. Air vent was right over bed and loud. Temperature Controls gave only full blast or none. The "low fan" option just blasted sporadically; kicking in just as you started to fall asleep again. This time of year, got away with chilling room down and shutting it off, doubt that would work in summer. The bed definitely needed a new mattress: very soft with a pit in the middle. The daily Ammenities fee of $10 (over & above the added parking fees) has no value at all, as others have reported. The DVDs were nothing current, and we didn't come to Waikiki to watch movies anyways. Parking fee is the same scam in any big city hotel on the globe, so not much you can do there. Hotel did have visible security in the lobby and on the grounds (including the garage). Wireless internet in-room would have been nice in the 21st century, but they did provide a cable for kicking it old school. Otherwise just use your phone. Pool is on north side of hotel, too cool w/o sun in November, but mite be nice in summer. Location is on the quieter east of Waikiki strip. Stayed at Ohana East several years ago which is now ironically the more active part of the area. Overall, the Aston was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like Udon and Tempura, you must go to Marukame Udon on Kuhio St. Alway a line to get in, but worth the 15-20min wait for absolutely delicious Japanese cuisine. Also don't miss Nakamura Ramen on strip at Kalakaua Ave and Beachwalk, generous portions and very tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZFamily878807
Business
California, USA
Nov 21, 2012

Roaches and Noisy

During our five night stay at the Aston Waikiki Sunset hotel, the service we experienced was extremely disappointing. We had several issues with the room, the service and the staff. We even had to wait over two hours for our room to be "finished" so that we could check in. The hotel and room were clean, but there was construction going on a week ahead of schedule. When we booked our room, we were not warned. We were also not warned when we checked in. Had we been informed we would not have stayed here. The noise from the construction was unbearable. It was so loud at times that we could not maintain a conversation. We were not in our room much, but when we were the noise was horrible. When I spoke with the front desk they were semi rude about the situation. The gentleman I spoke with asked me "what do you want me to do about it?" - Really?!?!? We also found a cockroach on our kitchen floor. When I called the desk about it, the gentleman said that they are common in Hawaii and there was nothing they could do. All of that on top of the fact that the walls are so thin, we could hear our "neighbor" cough and talk (normal volume, no yelling). The room was sub-standard for a three star hotel. there was no TV in the "master bedroom" but there was in the second room (2 bedroom suite). The "great location" is only a couple blocks from the beach, but there are on average 10 homeless people in that short distance. I do not mean to be judgmental, but they could do a better job of keeping these people away from the area. I was approached on multiple occasions being asked for money. I will never stay here again and I would recommend that people do not stay here. If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep (where you don't mind a horrible bed and lots of noise) then by all means. Other than that, I wouldn't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st Time to Waikiki
Business
Illinois
Nov 4, 2012

great value during construction

just a few blocks from waikiki beach. also less than 1 block from the bus station for buses # 9 & #20 (or #22?) which can take you to the airport in 30-40 minutes for $1.50. Not bad at all! we had the city view. the room itself included kitchen with cups, pans, water boiler. way more than we needed, but great addition. both the bed and the sofa bed in the living room were VERY comfortable. very clean. bathroom towels changed daily. we were not allowed to open window or go on the balcony due to exterior construction, but it was no big deal. didn't use the swimming pool since the beach was so close by!! there's a guide person in the lobby to help you book tours or give you general ideas for restaurants or things to do. he is SUPER NICE and VERY HELPFUL. the only annoying thing was the forced $30 fee that included a lot of amenities that we could have done without (daily newspaper??). also, the wireless password had to be re-entered each time internet loaded. this did not happen with my laptop, but did happen with cell phone wi-fi function. this was especially annoying because the password had a random combo of letters & numbers that were not easy to type in. overall, just small annoyances, but stay was definitely enjoyable. i think it was a little expensive for my taste, since i don't need a kitchen, but the value is good (had promotion while construction takes place).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

the restaurant "House without a Key" is a little expensive, and in a resort near the expensive end of Waikiki strip, but the food is really great, and a wonderful experience to dine by the ocean with live performances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike927
Business
high point
Oct 18, 2012

Great Family Vacation

The staff was great! The location was great and the view was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The steaks at Hoys are great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jimaha
Business
cincinnati ohio
Sep 25, 2012

great view

mtn,view was awesome, construction going on but we still had good time, very little problem with the construction. overall worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

buffet best value seafood buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ayeseattle
Business
Seattle
Sep 19, 2012

Fantastic

Everything very good (location, room comfort) but staff at. Counter not friendly. Housekeeping did not a good job ,not vacuum. Use the same blanket for us I know because I am housekeeping I use the pen marking on blanket . End of the day I back to hotel and check my blanket marking still on blanket .That's mean housekeeping not change anything she just make the bed and use old blanket for 3 night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed2012005
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 12, 2012

Not worth the money

Hotel was old, beds very uncomfortable, spent lots of time waiting on elevators. Free DVD and PS2 games were mostly scratched and didn't work. Pool and tennis courts very average and closed for construction during our stay. Main bright point is location. Very easy to walk to beach, dining, and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elyem
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 9, 2012

Great location!

This is a great hotel for a vacation to Hawaii. At this time they are remodeling some areas but I am sure that this will be a first-rate hotel when it is all done. The one bedroom suite was always kept clean. Great ocean views. Overall a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MAC 24/7 excellent food/service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mevil
Business
Santa Ana, California
May 18, 2012

Gateaway vacation with friend

We got there late night and the staff was very helpful, we requested a room at a higher floor and had no problem getting it. All amenities provider by the hotel were explained. The room was small but comfortable, with a great view. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sailorGr
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Would be nice had they not closed out our balcony due to remodel

We visited it in April 2012. The hotel is undergoing remodel. The entrance is surrounded by sky folding and does not look great. However, it’s quite nice inside the room with fairly new granite counter top and range oven. The living room and bedroom also nice and clean and fairly new. Now come the bad parts. There is a daily $10 fee and you get Internet, coffee pod, and DVD rental in the lobby. But you need to use cable to get online (hello, we are not in 90’s) but no wireless in the room. So all your devices won’t work. They also closed out the balcony, the quintessential tropical living space, due to remodeling. In two of the days they painted the balcony floor and the room/ hallway smelled really bad. I think they should refund part of the hotel charge because part of the living space is not usable at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

DVD rental in the lobby is good for keeping your kid occupied when you pack/ unpack

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top