$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
View map of 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st Time to Waikiki
Illinois
Nov 4, 2012

great value during construction

just a few blocks from waikiki beach. also less than 1 block from the bus station for buses # 9 & #20 (or #22?) which can take you to the airport in 30-40 minutes for $1.50. Not bad at all! we had the city view. the room itself included kitchen with cups, pans, water boiler. way more than we needed, but great addition. both the bed and the sofa bed in the living room were VERY comfortable. very clean. bathroom towels changed daily. we were not allowed to open window or go on the balcony due to exterior construction, but it was no big deal. didn't use the swimming pool since the beach was so close by!! there's a guide person in the lobby to help you book tours or give you general ideas for restaurants or things to do. he is SUPER NICE and VERY HELPFUL. the only annoying thing was the forced $30 fee that included a lot of amenities that we could have done without (daily newspaper??). also, the wireless password had to be re-entered each time internet loaded. this did not happen with my laptop, but did happen with cell phone wi-fi function. this was especially annoying because the password had a random combo of letters & numbers that were not easy to type in. overall, just small annoyances, but stay was definitely enjoyable. i think it was a little expensive for my taste, since i don't need a kitchen, but the value is good (had promotion while construction takes place).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

the restaurant "House without a Key" is a little expensive, and in a resort near the expensive end of Waikiki strip, but the food is really great, and a wonderful experience to dine by the ocean with live performances.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Apr 29, 2009

Had Fun

Good, clean, friendly staff, 4 blocks from beach (5min walk.) Minimart in hotel was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk the beach strip in the evenings-enjoy the sreet shows, tiki lights and atmosphere.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bassplayer and Ukulele Liz
Business
Boston.MA
Mar 15, 2009

We Loved It

The hotel is located in an area that at first seems weird if you arrive at night. But the room was beautiful! It was renovated and on the 36th fl. The full kitchen came in very handy and saved us money. We had a mountain view that was breath-taking. There was access to the lanai from both rooms and both had TVs. The bathroom was hugh and well stocked with great shampoo, condtioner, and soaps,not the usual cheapie ones. We went to Waikiki Beach every day, which was just a few blocks away. The hotel is located near the quieter end of the beach which we loved. We checked out the nearby Honolulu Zoo and loved it, especially the tiger cubs. If you go, Lulu's is located nearby and is a great place to eat, right across from the beach. Buy your food at the many ABC stores or find out where near the hotel they come to sell veggies/fruit on Wens and Fri and go to the International Marketplace for soveniers at a good price. I have no complaints about the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. There's a store on the 5th fl where you can get neccessties. I would have liked a continetal breakfast or coffee in the morning, but I guess that's where the full kitchen comes in. They give you enough coffee for one time as a kind of welcome, but there's a coffee maker so you can buy some. There's plenty of strong Hawaiian coffee sold nearby and if you're missing home a Starbucks up the street.(But no Dunkies)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Honolulu Zoo, rent a boggie board and body surf (hard for first timers like us but FUN!)

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bassplayer and Ukulele Liz
Business
Boston.MA
Mar 15, 2009

We Loved It

The hotel is located in an area that at first seems weird if you arrive at night. But the room was beautiful! It was renovated and on the 36th fl. The full kitchen came in very handy and saved us money. We had a mountain view that was breath-taking. There was access to the lanai from both rooms and both had TVs. The bathroom was hugh and well stocked with great shampoo, condtioner, and soaps,not the usual cheapie ones. We went to Waikiki Beach every day, which was just a few blocks away. The hotel is located near the quieter end of the beach which we loved. We checked out the nearby Honolulu Zoo and loved it, especially the tiger cubs. If you go, Lulu's is located nearby and is a great place to eat, right across from the beach. Buy your food at the many ABC stores or find out where near the hotel they come to sell veggies/fruit on Wens and Fri and go to the International Marketplace for soveniers at a good price. I have no complaints about the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. There's a store on the 5th fl where you can get neccessties. I would have liked a continetal breakfast or coffee in the morning, but I guess that's where the full kitchen comes in. They give you enough coffee for one time as a kind of welcome, but there's a coffee maker so you can buy some. There's plenty of strong Hawaiian coffee sold nearby and if you're missing home a Starbucks up the street.(But no Dunkies)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Honolulu Zoo, rent a boggie board and body surf (hard for first timers like us but FUN!)

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 3, 2009

ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset

Was overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Keo's Thai Restuarant...Yum!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 25, 2008

Very family friendly

We are a family of four, and we had a very nice stay at the ResortQuest Waikiki Sunset. Our room had an ocean/Diamond Head view, which you could enjoy from the balcony as well as from the large bedroom window. The hallway carpeting and doors are a very dated pea green, but the rooms were nice. The hotel was located very conveniently a couple of blocks from Waikiki beach, and the beach towels were provided by the hotel. Our suite had a twin and double bed in the bedroom, as well as a sofa sleeper in the living room area. The kitchen was fully equipped--all you have to do is provide the food. It saved us a lot of time and expense to be able to eat our meals in the room, especially breakfast. Our kids were to receive a free gift and a discount card for various places and venues when we checked in, but they forgot. When we asked the front desk about it the next day, they provided the items. We had a rental car which we parked at the hotel parking lot for an $11.00 daily fee. There was internet access for a fee on the 6th floor. The pool was also there, but we didn't get the chance to use it. All in all, I would stay there again, and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenacres
Sep 12, 2008

Excellent Value

The Waikiki Sunset is an excellent value for the money. Close to everything at a value price. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are large with a separate bedroom and living room. Full kitchen to prepare meals if you want to. We had an excellent view of Diamond Head with peek-a-boo views of the ocean from our balcony. This is an older property and it shows it age, but they were starting a major renovation during our visit. Parking is available for $11 a day which we found to be a great value as well. Nice pool and walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and the ala wai canal. We will definately return for another visit in the future,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping are all within walking distance. Bus stop close by as well.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 30, 2008

VERY FRIENDLY STAFF

WE HAD A GREAT STAY, THE ROOM WAS VERY COMFORTABLE AND VERY CLOSE TO THE BEACH. THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. I WOULD GO BACK AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THE BEACH WAS JUST A SHORT WALK ALONG WITH SHOPPING AND DINNING.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yucaipa, CA
Jul 20, 2008

Family Fun close to the beach/downtown

Our stay at the Resort Quest Sunset was very nice from check-in to check -out. With the beach just 3 blocks and food in town we could have stayed longer. The pool and facilities were great and the staff were very helpful. The elevators were just fine -remember you are on hawaii time! We would definitely stay again knowing we had the full kitchen condo. It felt like home for a week anyways! ALOHA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place was just 6 blocks but a pleasant walk anyways!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth
Jul 5, 2008

Good Value

The Waikiki Sunset offers a condimidium at hotel rates just blocks from the beach. Some rooms even have a Diamondhead view. There is a full kitchen with all needed cookware, grills on site and a lanai for relaxing with a cup of Kona coffee or cocktail. In addition to the king bed in the separate guest room, the couch converts to a double bed. We had to have the air conditioner adjusted as it operated on a motion sensor which would revert to 78 degrees unless it sensed motion in the room; too warm when we returned to the room after a day at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the beach and area shopping and dining.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saulsbury, TN
Jun 6, 2008

Home away from home,only this one is in paradise!!

Our bed was just like mine at home. Our children enjoyed the swimming pool as we watched them from the balcony. I'm happy to say at their ages of 9 and 12 we were able to give them a little free time to play without any problems. It was very hard to leave such a beautiful vacation. We are hoping to return very soon. This my way of celebrating my wife's birthday. It was a big success!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is one block away.

Back to menu Return to top