$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
105 reviews
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014
Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Oversized rooms for the family less than two blocks from the beach

Aston Waikiki Sunset is a gem tucked away from Waikiki's main thoroughfares. The hotel provides at-home comfort at an affordable rate. High-tower rooms offer magnificent views of Waikiki, mountains, Diamond Head or the ocean. Rooms are generous in size with full kitchens and flat-screen HDTVs. The best stretch of Waikiki Beach can be found less than two blocks from the hotel, as well as dining and shopping opportunities. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, hospitality lounge, sauna, outdoor picnic area and tennis court.

Highlights
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Location

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is tucked away from main thoroughfares on the preferred end of Waikiki. The hotel is close to Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. Walk less than two blocks to the beach and numerous shopping and dining destinations.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the hotel are considered suites and offer a minimum of 560 square feet, accommodating up to five people. Choose a one- or two-bedroom suite with a fully-equipped kitchen. Rooms have been recently renovated with new appliances and furniture, soft island colors and 32-inch LCD HDTVs. Other amenities include private balcony, air conditioning and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Select rooms afford magnificent views.

Dining

Arrange for grocery delivery through the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service. A full supermarket can also be found a few blocks from the hotel. Honolulu's casual and finest restaurants are a short walk from the hotel.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool and sauna
  • Illuminated tennis court, picnic area and barbecue grills
  • Hospitality room with 52-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and PC workstations
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater
Policies and fees
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.8204
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Walking distance to Waikiki Beach, Honolulu Zoo and Kapiolani Park. Near shopping, dining and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Dec 4, 2007

Good location but need renovations

Location was good, couple of blocks from beach. Had good experience with check-in etc. Hotel charged 11 $ per night for parking. Room size was ok but furniture and carpet conditions were poor. Especially, carpet was too sticky and dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to beach and honolulu zoo.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 22, 2007

great location

The location is really convenient to shopping, zoo, aquarium and most restaurant/ fast food. The room was cleaned daily however the furnitures were dusty. The bed was not comfortable (sagging). The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, we are satisfied with this hotel and may return next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are not renting a car, the bus system is good and easy. Ask the front office for bus guide.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2007

basic clean place to sleep

The Resortquest Waikiki Sunset is a reasonable hotel at a great price. It's a little older but fine for us because all we wanted was a clean place to shower and sleep. They won't allow you to check in early, but they will store your bags so you can shop or eat while you wait for 3:00 to roll around. The 4 elevators are inadequate for the hotel - they were often so full we would wait for the next one; and even on lower floors you can't take the stairs because the doors are locked on every level except the lobby - this is an understandable security precaution, but it would have been nice to be able take the stairs instead of waiting for the lift, especially going between the 5th and 6th floors where the convenience store and the pool / business center are located. The full-size kitchen was nice to have, altho we didn't use it much. The laundry room on our floor (7) had 2 washers and 2 dryers, the dryer ran very hot so pay attention to your clothes. The shower curtain was not up to the task, the bathroom floor was always wet after a shower. All in all, not great luxury but a clean place to sleep in Waikiki, definitely good if you are on a budget and would rather spend your money on activities than on a swanky hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take advantage of the coupon book that the hotel gives, also check out Oahu Gold book available free on street stands. The buses are a pretty good way to get around if you don't have a car, and many activities away from Waikiki include shuttle transportation.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 9, 2007

Good value for your money

You are getting a condo unit for the price of a hotal room. Very comfortable and adequate space, plus benfits of a kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk to the beach.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bunmi
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2007

family friendly

The Resort Quest was a decent enough stay. It's two blocks from the beach and the strip, so you are close to all the shops and resturaunts. The view from the hotel was beautiful and the condo rooms were nice enough. But you could tell that the hotel has not updated their rooms in some twenty years. The furniture was old and beat up and there were several things in our room that could use some fixing. But if I wanted to be completely satified with these things then I would have paid more money to stay at a four or five star hotel. For what the hotel cost and all that it offered, I was completely satisfied with my stay. I have only two real complaints. One: The elevators are extremely slow for the first half of the day. Even though there are four of them you could find yourself waiting for as long as then minutes for one to come. A real buzz kill sometimes. Two: There is no room service. The hotel has no kitchen so if you find yourself hunger in the morning and want an omelette or something, you're out of luck. But as I said, all in all one should be happy enough,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the grocery store so you can use the kitchen if you have a condo suite and will save money.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Aug 15, 2007

Family Friendly

Reviews that I read before my trip complained about the elevators. They were absolutely right as it always seemed we were waiting for an elevator to arrive....one day I waited 15 minutes. Parking is also very tight, i.e, narrow and I can see why people there are so good at reversing into the stalls. Remember that parking is additional cost per day. I got a standard room which could use some renovation. Convenience store in the hotel is very expensive and places to eat are at least a couple of blocks away. Hotel staff are very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is couple of blocks away as is the zoo and aquarium. Dining and shopping a couple of blocks as well. Hotel is at end of Waikiki so auto and tourist traffic not as congested.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 26, 2007

Very Nice!

Not the best hotel, but The Resortquest Waikiki Sunset is by far better than a lot of the others. Condo style rooms with seperate bedroom and a living room area with a pull-out queen sofabed plus a full-sized kitchen with kitchen range/oven and regular sized refrigerator, microwave oven, toaster and coffee maker. The balcony w/table and chairs(2)was nice as well. Ocean view was a bit obscured by other hotels but we could see Diamond Head one way and surfers out on Waikiki Beach the other way! Not great but not bad! This was good for us because we wanted to cook some of our meals(mostly breakfast)and two couples could have privacy as the rooms were seperate and not open like other hotels. Location was OK on the quiet side of Waikiki, unless you want to party down the main area of Waikiki where most of the shops and nightclubs are at. It's a bit of a walk though. There is a Starbucks, Burger King and Subway close by on Kalakaua,(the main strip down Waikiki)as there is no resturaunt in this hotel(why have one if you have a full kitchen to use? but there are places to dine down the road). There was dining specials all the time at the Ocean Resort Hotel nearby at their resturant/grill. Anyone can go there.. The staff here was good and very friendly and the room was always clean and we always had fresh, clean towels, soap, lotions, etc. everyday and our beds were made and sheets were changed if we requested it. It's 5 min to the beach and you have a bus stop on the corner of Kuhio to take you to either downtown Waikiki, or historical Honolulu where the Iolani Palace is, Chinatown, or the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the piers near Aloha Tower, etc.. or anywhere on the island such as Pearl Harbor, Haunauma Bay, etc... Oahu's transportation is second to none! Only $1 and a bus shows up every 5 or 10 min.. OR you can take the trolley for a more scenic view. Costs a little more but some are free to the Galleria and Hilo Hatties(shopping venues). If you have a car rental you can park in the garage for $9/day(that was a downer!) but there are worst rates in town to park. Very tight garage stalls so watch out! There is a pool, mainly for the kids and women to lay out and tan and there is a tennis court and a gas-grill cooking area. There is a mini-mart on the 5th floor for much needed items like sugar, coffee, band-aids, sunscreen, pop, snorkel masks and fins, etc.. and on the 6th floor near the pool is a computer room and wi-fi area for laptops. Overall, we liked it a lot and would recommend it! Not the fanciest but great for families or two couples as rooms could acccomodate up to 5 people. VERY GOOD STAY!!...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

..Advice: Don't need a car rental if going just in town. Just use the bus or trolley. Also, go to the ABC stores for simple items. Go to the Swap Meet for souvenirs to take back home(T-shirts, etc..) at Aloha Stadium on Wed, Sat or Sun. Going to the Arizona Memorial - Go early as possible, before 7am ! Aloha and have fun!

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 21, 2007

not worth for the money

ResortQuestSunset Waikiki was one of the worst hotel that we've stayed-in & taking it that it was our firttime ever to spend one week in a hotel. The room was so unclean, i even crashed a baby roach, that means, there are more cochroaches lurking around. Worst also, was their small appliances like their rice cooker, it was rusty and needs immediate replacement; their utensils like their non-stick spatula, as well needs immediate replacement as well as thier dish drainer, there are all rusty. what happened to building inspector in Hawaii, you don't get what you pay for. The glass windows are not clean at all. This is truly a very disgusting hotel. The room is so noisy, I couldn't get enough sleep, i have to turn on the radio to camouflage the noise, perhaps, the noise is from the airconditioning or something for their utility system. Actually, when I got home, I was having terrible headache---it could be from too much noise in that room. IT IS ABSOLUTELY GROTESQUE!!!!!! Afterall, we did not get what we paid for from staying in this hotel. Also, it was so stinky, we even to have to buy our own air freshner!!! Also, noteworthy, I went to this Internet Cafe and asked for Restroom keys and the attendant there was sooooo inconsiderate, he went to ask me if I have a business there. I said I just needed to use the restroom(I'm glad i didn't got an accident there in front of a lot of people), in short, he did not let me use the restroom. It is so frustrating that with this petty thing, it would ruin my vacation of a lifetime---in Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach is walking distance and there is a Catholic Church, too (St. Augustine Catholic Church)

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Geneva
Jul 12, 2007

Low Cost

While this hotel was a short walking distance to the beach, the immediately surrounding buildings were in disrepair. The view we had from our balcony was of both Diamond Head and the ocean because we were on the 18th floor and could see between and beyond other buildings - very nice! While the entire hotel could use a sprucing up, it was kept clean by a very friendly staff. And, while this wasn't luxurious, it provided a kitchenette, living room with pull-out couch, and a bedroom at a reasonable cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were within walking distance of the beach, zoo, park, and aquarium, as well as shopping and dining.

Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mai Trang
Springfield, IL
Jul 9, 2007

very family friendly

in general i was please w/ my stay at the hotel. i was shock to find so many bed bug bites on my kids and myself after 3 nites stay. i requested linen changes after my discovery. but i would come back on my next trip to hawaii

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

15 mins. walk to international market 15 min drive to swapmeet

Back to menu Return to top

Change search