$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3 stars
229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
106 reviews
Great place to stay

We didn't need to be on the beach, so this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The room was... See full review

  • Poet Baker
  • May 14, 2014
Family Fun

The place was located in a really good area for access purposes See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Oversized rooms for the family less than two blocks from the beach

Aston Waikiki Sunset is a gem tucked away from Waikiki's main thoroughfares. The hotel provides at-home comfort at an affordable rate. High-tower rooms offer magnificent views of Waikiki, mountains, Diamond Head or the ocean. Rooms are generous in size with full kitchens and flat-screen HDTVs. The best stretch of Waikiki Beach can be found less than two blocks from the hotel, as well as dining and shopping opportunities. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, hospitality lounge, sauna, outdoor picnic area and tennis court.

Highlights
  • Oversized suites accommodate up to five guests and feature full kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool and illuminated tennis court
  • Walk to Kuhio Beach, Waikiki Beach's best swimming area for kids


Location

The Aston Waikiki Sunset is tucked away from main thoroughfares on the preferred end of Waikiki. The hotel is close to Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. Walk less than two blocks to the beach and numerous shopping and dining destinations.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the hotel are considered suites and offer a minimum of 560 square feet, accommodating up to five people. Choose a one- or two-bedroom suite with a fully-equipped kitchen. Rooms have been recently renovated with new appliances and furniture, soft island colors and 32-inch LCD HDTVs. Other amenities include private balcony, air conditioning and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Select rooms afford magnificent views.

Dining

Arrange for grocery delivery through the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service. A full supermarket can also be found a few blocks from the hotel. Honolulu's casual and finest restaurants are a short walk from the hotel.

Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool and sauna
  • Illuminated tennis court, picnic area and barbecue grills
  • Hospitality room with 52-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and PC workstations
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater
Policies and fees
  • Parking is charged at $15.00 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Sunset Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
One Bedroom Suite
Standard suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Diamond Head Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Superior One Bedroom Suite
Superior suite with queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with a queen sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, and iron/board.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Deluxe two bedroom suite with double bed and 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.
Deluxe One Bedroom Mountain View Suite
Deluxe suite with king bed, queen bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area with sofa sleeper, central air conditioning, full kitchen, lanai, hair dryer, cable TV, dataport and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.1 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.9 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.3 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.5 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Makapuu Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference facility for a nominal fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZFamily878807
Business
California, USA
Nov 21, 2012

Roaches and Noisy

During our five night stay at the Aston Waikiki Sunset hotel, the service we experienced was extremely disappointing. We had several issues with the room, the service and the staff. We even had to wait over two hours for our room to be "finished" so that we could check in. The hotel and room were clean, but there was construction going on a week ahead of schedule. When we booked our room, we were not warned. We were also not warned when we checked in. Had we been informed we would not have stayed here. The noise from the construction was unbearable. It was so loud at times that we could not maintain a conversation. We were not in our room much, but when we were the noise was horrible. When I spoke with the front desk they were semi rude about the situation. The gentleman I spoke with asked me "what do you want me to do about it?" - Really?!?!? We also found a cockroach on our kitchen floor. When I called the desk about it, the gentleman said that they are common in Hawaii and there was nothing they could do. All of that on top of the fact that the walls are so thin, we could hear our "neighbor" cough and talk (normal volume, no yelling). The room was sub-standard for a three star hotel. there was no TV in the "master bedroom" but there was in the second room (2 bedroom suite). The "great location" is only a couple blocks from the beach, but there are on average 10 homeless people in that short distance. I do not mean to be judgmental, but they could do a better job of keeping these people away from the area. I was approached on multiple occasions being asked for money. I will never stay here again and I would recommend that people do not stay here. If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep (where you don't mind a horrible bed and lots of noise) then by all means. Other than that, I wouldn't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st Time to Waikiki
Business
Illinois
Nov 4, 2012

great value during construction

just a few blocks from waikiki beach. also less than 1 block from the bus station for buses # 9 & #20 (or #22?) which can take you to the airport in 30-40 minutes for $1.50. Not bad at all! we had the city view. the room itself included kitchen with cups, pans, water boiler. way more than we needed, but great addition. both the bed and the sofa bed in the living room were VERY comfortable. very clean. bathroom towels changed daily. we were not allowed to open window or go on the balcony due to exterior construction, but it was no big deal. didn't use the swimming pool since the beach was so close by!! there's a guide person in the lobby to help you book tours or give you general ideas for restaurants or things to do. he is SUPER NICE and VERY HELPFUL. the only annoying thing was the forced $30 fee that included a lot of amenities that we could have done without (daily newspaper??). also, the wireless password had to be re-entered each time internet loaded. this did not happen with my laptop, but did happen with cell phone wi-fi function. this was especially annoying because the password had a random combo of letters & numbers that were not easy to type in. overall, just small annoyances, but stay was definitely enjoyable. i think it was a little expensive for my taste, since i don't need a kitchen, but the value is good (had promotion while construction takes place).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

the restaurant "House without a Key" is a little expensive, and in a resort near the expensive end of Waikiki strip, but the food is really great, and a wonderful experience to dine by the ocean with live performances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike927
Business
high point
Oct 18, 2012

Great Family Vacation

The staff was great! The location was great and the view was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The steaks at Hoys are great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jimaha
Business
cincinnati ohio
Sep 25, 2012

great view

mtn,view was awesome, construction going on but we still had good time, very little problem with the construction. overall worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

buffet best value seafood buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ayeseattle
Business
Seattle
Sep 19, 2012

Fantastic

Everything very good (location, room comfort) but staff at. Counter not friendly. Housekeeping did not a good job ,not vacuum. Use the same blanket for us I know because I am housekeeping I use the pen marking on blanket . End of the day I back to hotel and check my blanket marking still on blanket .That's mean housekeeping not change anything she just make the bed and use old blanket for 3 night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed2012005
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 12, 2012

Not worth the money

Hotel was old, beds very uncomfortable, spent lots of time waiting on elevators. Free DVD and PS2 games were mostly scratched and didn't work. Pool and tennis courts very average and closed for construction during our stay. Main bright point is location. Very easy to walk to beach, dining, and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elyem
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 9, 2012

Great location!

This is a great hotel for a vacation to Hawaii. At this time they are remodeling some areas but I am sure that this will be a first-rate hotel when it is all done. The one bedroom suite was always kept clean. Great ocean views. Overall a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MAC 24/7 excellent food/service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mevil
Business
Santa Ana, California
May 18, 2012

Gateaway vacation with friend

We got there late night and the staff was very helpful, we requested a room at a higher floor and had no problem getting it. All amenities provider by the hotel were explained. The room was small but comfortable, with a great view. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sailorGr
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Would be nice had they not closed out our balcony due to remodel

We visited it in April 2012. The hotel is undergoing remodel. The entrance is surrounded by sky folding and does not look great. However, it’s quite nice inside the room with fairly new granite counter top and range oven. The living room and bedroom also nice and clean and fairly new. Now come the bad parts. There is a daily $10 fee and you get Internet, coffee pod, and DVD rental in the lobby. But you need to use cable to get online (hello, we are not in 90’s) but no wireless in the room. So all your devices won’t work. They also closed out the balcony, the quintessential tropical living space, due to remodeling. In two of the days they painted the balcony floor and the room/ hallway smelled really bad. I think they should refund part of the hotel charge because part of the living space is not usable at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

DVD rental in the lobby is good for keeping your kid occupied when you pack/ unpack

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ohana vac
Business
Firebaugh, CA
Apr 10, 2012

great family vacation

The hotel was nice. It was clean and housekeeping always came in to clean it. The staff was friendly and always willing to help us in anyway that they could. It was walking distance from the beach. It had a kitchen that we were able to take full advantage of. We would stay there again if we traveled back to hawaii

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of stores near the hotel that are just walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top